We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epitome of Style and Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 West 48th Place, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Nights | 3rd Free
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Epitome of Style and Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I have been to this beauty for a couple different occasions now; a friend's birthday celebration, drinks on a night out, and a business meeting. The staff is extremely accommodating and beyond gracious. Finally a sexy place that feels like an escape in the middle of my hometown. My experiences have been nothing but satisfying, with an accommodating front desk manager Mona who, always seems to go above and beyond. I am definitely looking for an opportunity to return to the hotel and recommending it to, not only people, who are coming in from out of town, but locals who are looking to mix it up! The food is delicious as well, and don't get me started on the Nespresso machine in the suites, what an absolute treat!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Rae G,
It's great to have you as a local guest! One of the focuses for Valencia Group hotels is to create something that is a return to the day when hotels were the center of the community. A unique place with style and energy that is more than just a place to rest your head. All the great events happened at hotels from birthdays to weddings to the Heisman trophy ceremony! We are honored to bring something so distinct to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    76
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
52
171
8
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

They are still new so I'm sure the issues with rude staff(red head woman at check in desk mostly) and room cleaning will get ironed out soon. The perks are there but once the newness wares off, people will see that it's just a place to sleep at night.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hotelhotmama,
Your experience does not sound like the typical experience other guests have had. We do apologize for not being "on point" with you and your stay and promise that we will look into your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We made a very fast 1 night trip to KC for my husband's 50th. Hotel Sorella was the perfect choice. New construction hotel amidst older, quaint apartment buildings on the western edge of Country Club Plaza. Valet met us at the entrance quickly and we turned the car over for the night. Check in was friendly and fast. I had let the hotel know we were there for a special occasion and the desk agent handed my husband a card for a complimentary drink in the bar! They seemed to be fully booked for the weekend but we were given an upgrade to a junior suite on the top floor!

There are only a handful of guest rooms on the 7th floor due to the restaurant and bar being on that floor. The rooms are quite separate from the public spaces and were very quiet. We never saw or heard another guest. The room was huge, with a nice contemporary design. There was a seating area that contained a small sectional, a separate upholstered chair with an ottoman and a desk with office chair next to the flat screen tv.

Another nice touch to help us celebrate the occasion, a chilled bottle of prosecco and a birthday card for my husband were already in the room, as well as a plate of chocolate covered strawberries.

The bed was very comfortable and we slept like babies. Along one wall was a wet bar area with a long counter top that was handy for purchases from the Plaza. Also in that area was a small fridge we used to keep some bottled water and leftovers from the restaurant; nice touch. On the opposite wall, a wall of windows. The curtains did the job in the morning keeping the sunlight at bay.

On to the bathroom. It was very large. A double vanity AND a double shower. One end of the shower had a rain shower head and on the other side a more standard shower head, both lovely. The WC was big as well (fortunately NOT double!). The bathroom doors slid open and closed rather than having "normal" doors.

We had pre-dinner drinks at Bar Rosso, at the bar. Great bartender, great cocktails, great experience. The room was fairly full and overflowed into the outdoors pool area. Then dinner at Rosso. I had not set my expectations too high but I should have. We were seated immediately by the window and had a fabulous server. Also had a complimentary glass of sparkling wine to commemorate hubby's big day. We had a very relaxed dinner, sharing antipasti for two and splitting a bibb lettuce salad. I had a chicken dish, hubby had a sea bass dish, both very good. The cool thing about service was the good options for wine by the glass. As we had already had a cocktail and a glass of bubbly, we decided to do glasses rather than a bottle of wine. Being undecided on a couple of wines, our server let us try a couple before making a decision. Great feature to be able to "try before you buy". Got to try several wines we hadn't had before. We didn't try dessert but had a coffee and an after dinner drink to take back to the room.

Breakfast was a bit chaotic and crowded. That was the least satisfactory part of our stay.

Upon our quick checkout, our car was retrieved very quickly from valet parking.

All in all a perfect micro get away. We will definitely want to return to Hotel Sorella asap!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
clkc86,
We appreciate the detailed narrative of your stay. Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we are happy just to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Please do make time to join us again. Happy Birthday to your husband!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANSAS CITY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I live in Kansas City, MO and wanted to try this hotel to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. My quick review and thoughts are, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I do however have an issue I wish they'd address. While I very much appreciate people not being able to wear hats/ball caps while INSIDE the hotel restaurant, I have a problem when my husband asked to remove a Royals' baseball cap while we sat OUTSIDE for apps and drinks. There were no umbrellas or shade, and being a bald guy......sitting in the direct sun causes some issues for him. Yes, we could have gone inside; but it was such a wonderful day in KC, and given the fact that we were paying customers for the night, I think having to remove a ballcap is absurd and rude.

This was my only complaint staying at this hotel. Management: Please re-consider allowing your paying customers that are dressed in a proper, respectful and decent manner....to enjoy their drinks on your patio and be able to wear hats/ballcaps. You wouldn't ask a lady to remove a fashionable hat - men should be allowed the same courtesy while having to sit directly in the sun. Thank you.

Natalie Siegman

Room Tip: Choose the 6th floor for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza is exactly what the Plaza needed. It is a fantastic hotel that has a very boutique feel. Mona, front desk/manager, was absolutely incredible! We were on a trip for our anniversary and she worked with my husband to make the stay perfect. There were flowers and wine upon our arrival in the room, she set up a couples massage in the hotel, had two complimentary glasses of champagne at our dinner (this was at an off site restaurant, now that is service!). The restaurant and bar on the 7th floor offer amazing views of the city and are very trendy and lively. The complimentary breakfast is also great. We will stay here every time we come back to Kansas City. Thank you for such a great experience, this hotel is all about customer service!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite and it was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Great rooms, helpful and friendly staff especially Mona Brummett who went above and beyond to help me get a gift for my wife - thank you!
The hotel is excellently located for business or pleasure I will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Newly constructed and opened Fall 2013, this is a rare gem in the downtown area. Seeking hotels that are pet free and new due to allergies, this was an unusual find in MO. Location could not be better as it is in the heart of the downtown area with abundant shopping and dining. A very warm and welcoming staff at all hours of the day. The free breakfast was EXCEPTIONAL with fresh meats, fruits and baked goods being replenished rapidly during the morning hours. Hotel gyms are a deal breaker for me, and this one passes although it is small, it is has the basic machines and free weights in a cool, clean environment.

We stayed twice because we enjoyed our stay so much and will return again. First time, a simple King, not overly spacious but sufficient and a pleasant, modern decor. Second time, we were fortunate to stay in a King Suite and it was outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza

Address: 901 West 48th Place, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and sophisticated, a boutique hotel in Country Club Plaza. The newest hotel by Valencia Group blends timeless elements of classic design with Mediterranean influences. Hotel Sorella is a premier luxury hotel in Kansas City near shopping, dining, museums and events. Your rate includes complimentary, streaming quality, internet access, and a complimentary European breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.