We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great date night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Webster House Antiques

Webster House Antiques
1644 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64108-1224
816-221-4713
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Webster House Antiques is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 1,213 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 17th
Transit: Accessible to the main thoroughfares between Broadway and Main Streets.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great date night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I went here when we purchased a Groupon. The location is great. Right next to the Kauffman center. But the real story here is the decor at the restaurant. It's an old home in the heart of Kansas City. The developers have done a great job of keeping the original architecture.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    18
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The chef is fabulous and the atmosphere is wonderful. After a fabulous lunch, stroll around the antiques for sale. YUM and FUN!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fresh Food in an Unusual, Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This restaurant is in a meticulously restored old school building (built in 1800s). The restaurant and bar are upstairs. The building is also a retail establishment for antiques, home decor and gifts. Although much of the retail is not my personal taste, the choices are beautiful, high-end pieces and tastefully arranged.

Had dinner at the restaurant with two colleagues. Service was as good as it gets - attentive but never intrusive. We all had beef entrees; all were perfectly prepared. The vegetables on my plate were a bit "over-produced" (lots of busy flavors) but were fresh and not over-cooked. The house salad was fresh and a perfect size - not huge, not tiny - for a first course. Good wine list. Desserts were not as stellar as the entrees, but no major disappointments.

Ambiance is what you'd expect in a restored 150-year old building of this size: seating is comfortable; dark paneling; great bars; huge windows.

On the expensive side, but in line with restaurants of this caliber. I'd go back anytime.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We ate at the Webster House on a Saturday night. There were no specials added to the menu, but the waiter said that the fresh organic produce was extremely good right now. We spent 100 before tip for three people. My husband split their melon salad with his mother and I ordered a wedge salad. They were good and we were looking forward to our entrees. I ordered the chicken and it was just okay. Nothing amazing. I could tell the waiter was very proud of the presentation because had came and turned the plate after it was set before me. My husband ordered the scallops. They were good, but came with three scallops and three very small pieces of sausage. No vegetables were served. This was quite interesting because the waiter had told us that the vegetables were good We decided to go elsewhere for dessert and we were very under-whelmed. The price was very high for what we received. The atmosphere is beautiful so go enjoy the shop downstairs and skip the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch at Webster house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Always something new and exciting on the menu. Great space and awesome building

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Webster House Antiques also viewed

 

Been to Webster House Antiques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Webster House Antiques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.