We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grunauer

Grunauer
101 W 22nd St, Ste 200, Kansas City, MO 64108-1954
816-283-3234
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grunauer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,214 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Baltimore
Fairmont, Nebraska
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went there with another couple, and we were all impressed. I had the Pork Scalapini and shared 3 different sausages as an appetizer with the table. The sauerkraut and mustard that came with the sausages was amazing. Best I've ever had. My main dish was excellent as well. I could have maybe used a little more meat, but, nothing to complain about.

The others had NY Strip, Pot Roast, and Pork Shank. Everyone liked their dishes quite a bit, but, my wife said the pot roast lacked flavor. Overall, great experience, something out of the ordinary, and we will definitely try it again in the future.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    38
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So good I keep going back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The resturant has a great atmosphere, coming from someone who lived in Germany for 9 years this was like going home for a few house. The beers are so wonderful and a fabulous selection. The food is delicious. I have not had ome thing on this menu that wasn't good. The espresso and cream pure heaven. The desserts definitely heaven sent. You can tell the menu items are made from scratch. This is more of a Bavaria style of food. Rich gravies and tender meats. My favorite restaurant in Kansas City. The best german restaurant by far here in this area. The servers are well educated on the menu and seem to speak Deutsch. However they are not super friendly, nice, but not what most of us are used to.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great German food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Absolutely the best Weiner Schnitzel that I have eaten outside of Vienna, Austria! Great place for special occasions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Authentic Germanic Cuisine, Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Apparently the owner of this restaurant previously owned four-star restaurants in New York City. He understands what it takes to set a restaurant a step above the rest, and it really shows at Grunauer. The food is delicious, and the generous portion sizes make it a good bang for the buck. Selections are inspired by authentic Austrian and German recipes, and include dishes such as sausages, schnitzels, gulasch, and other Viennese classics. And the service....just wow....my server was one of the most polite, efficient, and knowledgeable individuals I've ever had the pleasure to be served by in any restaurant that I've ever visited.

Grunauer has a great location too. It's right downtown in the Freight House, between Jack Stack and Lidia's. Parking is convenient, and it's right across the pedestrian bridge behind Union Station. The atmosphere of the Freight House, built in 1887, serves as an effective substitute for an old world Europe experience. And it's an experience that shouldn't be missed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great menu, great food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

German restaurant with a great menu that ranged from a sausage to salads to wienerschnitzel, to mussels. The food -- including steak -- was outstanding. The beer list was long, authentic and our choice was also outstanding. Our waiter was wonderful, offering help and opinions and making sure we were taken care of. We were in a large dining room but it was not overly noisy. If it's a weekend, make a reservation. That goes for any mid- to upscale restaurant in the Crown Center area.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grunauer also viewed

 

Been to Grunauer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grunauer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.