We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for an event.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Californos

Californos
4124 Pennsylvania Ave, Kansas City, MO 64111-3003
816-531-7878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #220 of 1,213 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: American, European, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Stilwell, Kansas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
“Great for an event.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food and service are always very good at this long time Westport favorite. What makes them is unique is the banquet and meeting spaces. This is a great place for a wedding, reunion or event.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I recently helped as a hostess at the wedding reception of a friend's daughter. We found the accommodations wonderful, the food was exceptional, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Anything we needed, or asked about, was provided quickly and efficiently. It made a perfect ending of a special day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We visited in a party of 4. The waitress came to our table and brought us water. She visited a little later to take our order. We waited an hour for our food. The waitress did not even come back by our table. We were getting up to walk out and she ran over, said it should be ready, duh, and went and got it. It was warm but 2 of the 4 orders were wrong. We had to ask for a couple of items, and got them from a runner after we were done eating. We had to go to the bar to get our bills, told the bartender about the lousy service. 90 minutes, 4 visits from the waitress, and two wrong orders. Bartender apologized, waitress came over and started arguing with us that she had given us great service. Never been thru anything like it. After we got outside the manager ran out after us. He apologized and gave us his card. No offer of a discount or anything. I said thanks and told him I would right a review. He begged me not to, said his dad would be upset. Too bad, here it is.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Not overpriced. Good Berry Salad; waitress seemed new, but was fine. Did the trick.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dinner Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Went to a mystery train event and the food was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Californos also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Californos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Californos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.