We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Outback Steakhouse
7006 NW Barry Rd, Kansas City, MO 64153
(816) 741-8900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #443 of 1,201 restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a good place. I LOVE the blooming onion! It is amazing I defietly suggest it. Goood food. Good service, pretty fast

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    7
    11
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Russell, Kansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yummy steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Is the service at this Outback Steakhouse--or any restaurant--perfect? No. That said, however, more often than not, the food has been outstanding and well worth paying for.

There have been times where I have been upset with the quality of my food, namely the steak being overdone, but whenever I said something afterward, they would do their best to make up for it, providing a voucher for a discount on my next bill or a free bloomin' onion. A lot of restaurants would not take that step to satisfy their customers.

I would recommend any of the cuts of steak, but especially the T-bone and the filet. Don't order more cooked than medium rare. Good steak loses its taste whenever you cook it took long.

Try the seafood dishes if you're not into steak. The lobster tails are first-rate whether grilled or steamed, and the salmon is tasty.

Also, this is one of the best options if you're staying near KCI. Otherwise, it's either fight the traffic into downtown or drive 35 minutes to St. Joseph.

If I have to choose one chain restaurant to eat at, I'm going to choose Outback whenever I can. I know what I'm getting, and it's good food, good food which fills me up. I don't understand the dissatisfaction.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Sigh....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

And that's not a good sigh. Their Bloomin Onion is awesome, and usually the high point of my meals here. Been here several times and have to send my steak back every single time. Yeah, I like it a little more done than most people, but cook it like it's ordered. Our last visit - over a year ago - I sent it back three times. Everyone else had finished by the time I got mine the way I wanted. Haven't been back since. The steaks have a great flavor, they just need to cook them correctly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“average but still good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We made a trip to Outback after being on the hiway for 3 hrs, went in around 4:45pm on a friday night, nice atmosphere and very clean. The service was very good, mixed drinks not the best, must have been a rookie bartender..Steaks were not as I had before at different Outbacks, but were still very tasty other than they make their steaks with alot of different seasonings, which made them a bit too spicy for wife and I.We also had coconut shrimp,they were fantastic and big shrimp..wow..the best part of this meal.The steaks were still very good, but depends on your taste. I had some mushrooms on the side which were tasteless and terrible. Overall bill not bad with drinks and all...around $55-62...I didn't think that was too bad, I know Outback is a bit more pricey than other steak houses, Ive had their steaks before and they were the best.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Why bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a national chain that has gone from bad to worse. Not worth the money or calories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.