We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best barbecue in Kansas City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue

Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue
13441 Holmes, Kansas City, MO 64145
(816) 942-9141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,141 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best barbecue in Kansas City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our daughter introduced us to this restaurant on a visit. Absolutely superb food and service. If you like barbecue, I guarantee you will make a return visit once you've tasted their food. Ate there 2 days ago and can't wait for our return visit for another round.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    86
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic KC BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by when traveling in the area on business and was not disappointed. Ordered burnt ends- 1/2 beef & 1/2 pork. Large serving of meat, delicious cole slaw and baked potato. Probably the best BBQ I have ever eaten. Be sure to order the fried mushrooms and onion ring appetizer. Mushroom caps are the size of mini donuts and delicious. Highly recommend this restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Upscale bbq restaurant - food is worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I visited KC in mid July and had an extended family dinner at the Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbeque. This place is always busy, upscale in ambiance, and the food rarely disappoints!

As this was a weekend visit, there was an hour+ wait for a table in the main dining room. However we agreed to sit outside (weather was quite warm but not unpleasantly so) and were seated within 10 minutes of walking in the door.

We began with an appetizer of fried mushrooms and a big stack of the onion rings.
Each of the appetizers were served hot and the portions were generous. Hot and mild barbeque sauces are available on request and each come with a mildly tangy horseradish sauce.

The beginning of the meal was very good, but the entrees stole the show!

The menu is large and offer quite a selection of sandwiches, bbq platters, and sides. There are also fresh salad offerings and a kids menu.

Each of the adults in our party made varied selections, and I chose a combo platter with beef brisket and the sausage. The sides were a cheesy corn bake and hickory pit baked beans.

The meats were very tender, lean and flavorful, and while the sauces were good, it ALMOST seemed a shame to put sauce on them. The side items were excellent and the beans were saucy and featured chunks of meat.

Others in our party had a (very large) grilled salmon salad, another had the pork spare ribs, and the folks shared a pork sandwich that was easily large enough for them to share.

Each of us sampled every entreee served, and there were no "bad" options. All were very lean, flavorful, served in large portions.

The kids are finicky, but had a good time eating the ribs offered on the kids menu, and actually finished them!

There are many top notch bbq places in KC, but Fiorellas Jack Stack is a great place to settle in for a great meal with family friends

Pros:
The food is exceptional and the portions are generous!
Large and varied menu.
Great restaurant atmosphere (and the place smells WONDERFUL)
A full service bar featuring local Boulevard beer products,
A separate kids menu.
Excellent service and knowledgeable staff.

Cons:
The wait for a table can be quite long.

Though my dining experience at Jack Stack occurred only a few days ago, I cannot wait to return again next time I am in KC!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Brisket Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Every time I visit Kansas City, I always make a trip (sometimes two!) to Jack Stack. I cannot even begin to describe the level of deliciousness of the brisket and sauce. The Jumbo sandwich is very lean brisket (you can get two kinds of meat if you like), on a soft egg bread bun. You will be stuffed if you eat the entire thing! You also get a side choice. The coleslaw is a delicious accompaniment--I'm not sure what's in it but most likely buttermilk because it's too yummy not to be bad for you. The service is always friendly and the place is always packed. Hands down, this is the BEST bbq in KC!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

More upscale than most BBQ restaurants which was a nice change of pace. However, a little more pricey than most. I really liked the side dishes. My burnt ends were a little fatty and not true burnt ends. My ribs were also good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.