We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite KC barbecue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue

Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue
101 West 22nd Street, Freight House, Kansas City, MO 64108
(816) 472-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,141 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Arkansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Our favorite KC barbecue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

There supposedly is a ongoing debate about the best KC barbecue restaurant: Oklahoma Joe's, Gates or Arthur Bryant's.

Granted we've only tried one out of those three (Bryant's), but feel we can safely say: skip 'em all and eat at Jack Stacks!

Who could pass up the burnt ends, hickory smoked beans and cheesy corn bake? I even tried a new side dish this round (as I'm trying to watch my waistline), the fire-roasted veggies. They were great.

Our silly kids ordered chicken tenders and grilled cheese. Both were fine, but came with some really thick French Fries that were great in ketchup. I had to resist the urge to eat off my kids' plates.

If you're going to KC, stop at Jack Stacks. And have some burnt ends for me!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    355
    118
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“More Great KC BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

In another review I mentioned that if you ask people what the best BBQ in KC is they will tell you to flip a three-sided coin. I mentioned that the other was my hands-down favorite, but the is is a close second place and is number 1 when it comes to a dining experience as well as delicious BBQ.

Had a long wait and wish the bar were a little bigger and more accommodating, but it's a nice place with great food and good service. You will definitely enjoy the food here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“If you are looking for good BBQ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you love BBQ and a very clean and friendly staff, you will be very pleased with this location. Patio nice, inside eating area dark and cozy, the staff very energetic and friendly. And most of all the food, large portions, HOT and very delicious! The only concern was the wait to be seated was close to over an hour, but as a non local not knowing this area, it may have been because there was a National School convention going on during my stay. So if you are looking for good BBQ, you may want to give this a try. Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lamb ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Was in town for work and how can you visit KC without having some BBQ? Jack Stack is the place to go if you want a nice sit down meal, don't want to wait in a long line or don't want to trek far.

This place had everything and I decided to try the beef ribs (the dinosaur style bones) and the brisket. The beef ribs were awesome, the brisket was ok at best (Oklahoma Joe's was the best for that). Came back again and had the burnt ends (a local speciality) and bbq lamb ribs. Let me say that the lamb ribs were amazing, not too gamey, smokey and moist. Not many places have it, so if you're in the neighborhood, try it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Big & Tasty Food - Great Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

First night's dinner in KC had me sharing Jack's Best with a friend. Each item was outstanding. The beans were the best I'd ever had. The Cheesy Corn Cake was the other recommended side, and although good, I thought the beans far surpassed the corn cake in taste. Servers were friendly and helpful. The server-recommended carrot cake was, by far, the best I have ever had. Moist, not heavily laden with oil; and of course, the warm topping was devilishly yummy. Do not miss the carrot cake - enough for the family. Will definately return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.