We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gon't understand the hype........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue

Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue
101 West 22nd Street, Freight House, Kansas City, MO 64108
(816) 472-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 1,242 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“gon't understand the hype........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed in a hotel downtown and of wanted to try some Kansas city BBQ. Everyone directed us to Jack Stack. Waited at least an hour for seating so I was expecting some flavorful, smokey, greatness. Long point short, tasted like something I could have grilled myself. While the baked beans were WONDERFUL, the rest of the meal was average. Famous burnt ends were dry, tasteless, and not even luke warm. Cheesy potatoes, were rick, thick and sticky, and the brisket was just tasteless. hoestly I think had a little more care been put into the meal (and seasoning) it would have been good. This place seems to be overwheled by the crowd and dont focus on putting out quality meals.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    354
    118
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“KC Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Go here for great BBQ and menu, fantastic atmosphere, and gorgeous facility. I've been several times and never had anything that I'd qualify as less than delicious.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I visited the Kansas City area over Easter Weekend so you can imagine how busy the restaurants were. We were able to get into this place twice. At dinner one night we had to eat at the bar because it was so busy but we got a spot right away. I had pulled pork plater and my wife had a BBQ sandwich. IT was so much food but it was very good. The next time we want all I got was the grilled (not fried) Cajun wings appetizer and they were the best I have ever had. We discovered that they will ship there meat anywhere so we are going to order some.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great bbq. Excellent cheesy corn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed. Great waitress! Going to a bon jovi concert and looked this place up through trip advisor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Jack Stack for the tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Yes, if you are in Kansas City do stop at Jacks Stacks it is an experience. I wouldn't rate it high but a good average place for bar B Q . Most people get the Sampler. The two small ribs were very tasty. The Polish Sausage was over Cooked and dry but spicey. They start you off with a small bowl of cole slaw which is drown in mayonnaise . It has a slight fishy taste. The baked beans are drenched in a molasses sauce. It taste more like candy than beans. The burnt ends are just over cooked pieces of steak with not much taste. The meal was served in seven minutes after ordering. The ambiance is too dark. Nice bar area and the workers are extremely friendly and polite. It has a very large dining area inside, booths, couches and large out door dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.