We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with Scott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponak's Mexican Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ponak's Mexican Kitchen
2856 Southwest Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64108-3613
816-753-0775
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 1,214 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian
Restaurant details
Dellwood, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lunch with Scott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Great Tacos!! Bartender was great, from England! Worth every penny. Ton of hamburger. Salsa was rock star. Love visiting the place when in KC.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Tex-Mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The food is always great. It's a friendly, easy atmosphere and the BEST margaritas on the PLANET!
Great to sit and munch chips and queso dip on a Friday night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Margaritas in the World”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been going to Ponaks for going on 12 years now and after having tried practically all their competitions margaritas in that time, I can without any reservation say that Ponak's margaritas are the very very best I have ever had in my life. Made fresh every day, with no mix involved, and a secret recipe that involves 4 basic ingredients, tequilla, lime juice, triple sec and sprite, and that's it. The food options down here are about what you'd expect from your typical mexican place. I do have to say that they've increased the offerings in the last few years and the prices are well on the budget side of mexican fair in KC. If they ever fix their substandard salsa, which is really not very good, to go alone with their amazing cheese dip and guac, they will then excel to a place few have gone before. Try the mole enchiladas, the beef fajittas, the Burrito Papas or the Taca Sonora. some of my favorites!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite Mexican restaurant in K.C.!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This is our absolute favorite place to go! The atmosphere is fun, staff is very friendly and never try to rush you. Chips and salsa are awesome, but the guacamole is even better! I have yet to have anything there that I would not order again. I'm not a margarita fan, but seeing how many pitchers are served, they have to be pretty good as well. Trust me, the bartenders know how to make a good drink!! There is usually a long wait if you go Saturday evening, but there is a reason. To us, it's just an all around awesome place to go.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nothing Extraordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I don't understand why this restaurant is so often recommended. I find the food is good, but never above average. I could have made better tacos at home. I found the margaritas to be too strong with no flavor. I would go back with a group of friends because the atmosphere is fun. However with all the great Mexican restaurants in Kansas City this would not be on my list to recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponak's Mexican Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Ponak's Mexican Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponak's Mexican Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.