We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, patio with fire pit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff to your Saves list
Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 North Mulberry Dr, Kansas City, MO 64116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great view, patio with fire pit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a new building (September), still with some construction going on. In most ways, this is a typical new style Courtyard, with a bistro and lots of communal lobby seating. While the room was pretty typical and comfortable, there were many small problems that lead to a less than stellar stay. Two rows of parking in front of the hotel are marked for energy efficient cars and carpools. I want to join the carpool that stays at a hotel! Our typical Courtyard room is a king bed with a couch. In this hotel, king beds are charged at a premium, so we stayed in a two bed room with a chair. We travel on business, and often have to wait for the other to complete the day's meetings. At most Marriotts, a late check out is usually 2, sometimes 3 (we are Rewards members). An unhelpful desk clerk allowed us an ungenerous extension of 1:00, and then didn't record it, so we got calls the next day. To get to our room, we had to navigate contractor's extension cords laying unsupervised in front of the elevator. It seems that every door in the place is extremely heavy, hard to open, and have a quirk that pops out the dead bolt so the door doesn't fully close when you enter your room. Certainly a security problem. All public areas require you to swipe your key card, I understand the pool, but to get back inside from the patio? Are they afraid someone is going to hijack the lobby? There is a little food/convenience store, but prices are only listed on a sheet on a high shelf, lit by a light that shines right in your eyes as you are trying to see. Internet seems usually OK , but has oddly timed very slow periods. I had to spend some time in the lobby waiting to leave, but the loud music prevented me from doing much work. The hotel is in the typical Courtyard sterile setting, in an office park, a long uninteresting walk to a small "upscale" shopping center with a few restaurants and a small natural foods grocery. The pool, spa, and workout room are above average, with the same great views as the patio overlooking downtown Kansas City and the sunset. Unfortunately, you must cross the entire lobby and eating area to get to the pool, not fun in a dripping wet swimsuit. It appears that planning and management for this hotel is well below average. Enough griping. And I'm usually prett easy to please.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
8
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in February for a family wedding. This was our first outing with our baby at a hotel and are a little upset with how the staff handled our reservation. We called 3 weeks before the wedding to reserve a room in the block of rooms that was held for the wedding. We were told that all we had to do was give our name and the room would be available. We also asked for a crib or pack n play, as this would be the first time traveling with our newborn at a hotel and were told all nice hotels had them. The girl that took our name, held her hand over the phone to ask someone if the hotel had them, then came back with a small giggle and said, no they didn't. On the day of the wedding we arrived to check in and the lady at the front, said that they may not have a room available! After we called 3 weeks ago to reserve the room, this was VERY frustrating. Eventually they found ONE room left. REALLY?? If they hadn't we would have been very upset. The wedding was very nice, although the atrium where the ceremony was held was sauna like, the staff for the wedding was very friendly. Our night stay in the room was good. Room was clean and new. The next day when we checked out we told them about some of our issues and were told that the hotel does in fact have cribs for little ones. Overall this was a very nice hotel, but we have had MUCH better service by booking on Priceline at half the price. And probably wont be staying in this hotel again. If booking here I would make sure that the staff has been well trained and all reservation issues have been resolved.

Room Tip: If booking here I would make sure that the staff has been well trained and all reservation issues ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Courtyard (by Marriott) in North Kansas City is a convenient location if you have business that will take you either North on I-29/I-71 toward the KC international airport, and/or North on I-169. You are only a couple miles south of these major interchanges. The hotel is just north of the Missouri River and all of the industrial businesses associated with North Kansas City (train yard, shipping etc). The Courtyard is newly built and appears to be a part of the same Briarcliff shopping development that has upscale shopping and dining. The surrounding neighborhood consists mostly of nice homes perched on a cliff that overlook Kansas City to the south. The view is mostly of the river and industry (not exactly beautiful in the daytime, but at night the lights are lovely).

The hotel itself is new, modern, stylish, comfortable and clean. Some of the guest conveniences are: both an indoor and outdoor pool; a mini-convenience corner in the lobby selling commonly forgotten items (razors/tylenol), candy bars, drinks and microwavable meals; a smallish cafe/grill where you can purchase breakfast, lunch, and dinner items; an adequate fitness center with ellipticals, treadmills, stationary bikes, and hand weights, and a guest coin laundry.

Our room was a large double queen, tall ceilings, desk, wardrobe, a tiny coffee-bar nook with a mini-fridge underneath (empty so that you can store you own items), ipod/iphone 4s and below compatible clock radio (does not have the new iphone 5 charging port, but you could use a converter). Free wifi Internet. No problems connecting. Fast service.

The one complaint we had was that the temperature of the shower/bath water was lukewarm. The water that came from the sink faucet was perfectly hot, but the shower water was almost cold. If they have installed temperature controls on the shower, they will need to adjust them so that guests can get hotter water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We're former residents of Kansas City who moved away a few years back. We've bounced around trying different hotels whenever we are back in town, and we've decided to try this hotel as soon as it opened. Its in a great location for visiting friends allover town and the rooms have great views of downtown KC. The sheets were over starched, but otherwise great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the nicest Courtyards I have stayed in and I stayed 170 nights in them last year. Great people. Friendly and helpful. If the wifi wasn't slower than dial up it would have been perfect. HDTV to switch off and use cell for data.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Center, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in many Courtyards during our travels, and the Briarcliff Courtyard is the nicest of any by far. It felt more like a boutique hotel than a Courtyard. The room was great and still had the "new" smell. Amanda at the front desk was very friendly, efficient, and helpful with arranging transportation for us. The hotel uses a car service instead of cabs. It was fantastic; much nicer than a cab for the same price. The hotel is a quick drive just north of downtown Kansas City. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is brand new. It sits atop a hill and has panoramic views of the city. I travel to Riverside for business and this is definitely a better option than the Argosy. The hotel is in the North Kansas City area and all parts of KC are easily accessible. However, I would strictly use this hotel for business. I found the fitness center, pool/jacuzzi, and bistro to be above average for a Courtyard. The rooms and furnishings were adequate for a business stay. I usually don't notice towels, but I thought the towels were on the cheap for such a nice place. I was also surprised at the amount of plumbing noise that you hear in this hotel considering it is newly designed. This location definitely met my needs for a business hotel and a long awaited option from staying at the Argosy. I will return and I would recommend for travellers with business in this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff

Address: 4000 North Mulberry Dr, Kansas City, MO 64116
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.