We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stop in Kansas City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airline History Museum

Airline History Museum
201 NW Lou Holland Drive, Kansas City, MO 64116
816-421-3401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 82 Attractions in Kansas City
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Airline history museum at Kansas City airport devoted to saving and preserving old aircraft, including "connies".
Weston, MO
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worth a stop in Kansas City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

"Museum" is a little grandiose for this labor of love by local airline history buffs. If the L-1011 is open for touring that's worth the stop by itself, but it isn't always available - call first. The static displays can occupy 15 to 30 minutes of nostalgia. Probably not the best for youngsters as there are no buttons to push or games to play.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“This place deserves funding- private an public.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011 via mobile

Dain knows his planes. To get a tour of this facility from this knowledgable guy is a treat. He brings it to life.

The facility needs more investment than it can probably raise and everything they can raise is being put back into re facility which is wonderful to see. So get over the fact that they don't have the latest display technology and marvel at the artefacts, the history, the story of how airtravel use to be and ultimately the world of TWA.

Put some dollars in the tip jar and help these guys and gals get some amazing wings back in the air.

I'd say 1 to 2 hours probably. Great parking and yes it is along the road that feels like you shodnt be driving on it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A must see if interested in progression of flight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

My friends daughter had her wedding reception here. The KC sky line at night is amazing from here. The museum is amazing. It is small but packed with a lot of memorbilia .it is very intresting. You also can go inside several planes. All is inside a large airplane hanger at the downtown airport. Is fun and different. A must see.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Worth a look..especially if you like Disney (see below)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is a nice plabe to spend a couple of hours looking at classic TWA stuff. They have several nice planes you can tour and a nice gift shop. The hanger isn't air conditioned and it was really hot when we went. In my opinion, the hightlight of the museum is the red and white rocket in the hanger. This rocket was built by Howard Huges when he owned TWA. It is a scaled down copy of the one that was in front of the Mission to the Moon ride at Disneyland (sponsored by TWA years ago). This copy was built for the TWA headquarters builing in downtown Kansas City. After TWA ended their sponsorship of the ride at Disneyland, they sold the rocket to an RV park on I-70 where it sat rusting until a St Louis Attorney (and huge Disney fan) bought it and had it restored around 2000. The old TWA headquarters was been converted to condos but the new owners had a smaller rocket built to replace this one. For more information on the rocket, just Google it.

Visited August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must for airline history buffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011 via mobile

There is a wonderful collection of TWA memorabilia in the museum, and I took my time looking at it all because, as a former airline employee, I was tremendously interested in it all. My fun was tempered by my would-be guide who checked on me a couple times. He didn't understand why a woman would be interested, I guess, and said they don't get many single women coming through there. No one was there then. After the hangar tour, I stopped in their small gift shop for a few minutes but left when I noticed someone checking on me again. Did they want to make sure I wouldn't steal anything? I heartily recommend the museum but hope someone from there sees this because their employee didn't make me feel very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airline History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Airline History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airline History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.