We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No adults allowed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LEGOLAND Discovery Center

LEGOLAND Discovery Center
2475 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64108
816-471-4386
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 82 Attractions in Kansas City
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No adults allowed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

On a weekend getaway without our three year old. Wanted to go to legoland to test drive the experience and buy souvenirs. You cannot get into legoland without a child. As a parent, I understand, but we made a special trip. Thankfully, we were able to buy souvenirs in the store.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    72
    75
    30
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth a Trip for Young Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to visit Legoland on a Saturday, so we were nervous about how busy it would be. We purchased tickets online for entry between 2-3 pm and we arrived around 2:45 pm. There were only a few people in line ahead of us - we waited in line less than 5 minutes. The tickets were pricey - they were nearly $100 for our family of 6. Though the employees were nice, there seemed to be some disorganization to getting people through the exhibits. Despite it being a Saturday, it was not terribly busy. By around 5, it was getting fairly quiet. Our kids had a good time - something that was enhanced by the quietness of the afternoon and they were allowed to ride the rides multiple times. My oldest child, who is 9 and did not have much prior experience with Legos, was even inspired by the master class to build at home. This definitely is more oriented to children 10 and under. Legoland is not likely a place that we will visit repeatedly, but we did have fun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I took my 6 yr old son and 13 yr old daughter here and they both enjoyed it. I was unsure if my daughter would find it interesting at all but she enjoys building so building a car to race was the best part for her. My son enjoyed the 2 rides that are inside. The area is small but laid out well. My 6 yr old had a blast and we spent around 5 hours taking advantage of every station it had to offer. Worth the money and the trip!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mini-cation made marvelous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We planned a mini-cation for our 4 year old son and 3 year old nephew to spend an overnighter in KC and Legoland was the real purpose for the trip. We went on a holiday so it was busy, but not so much so that we couldn't enjoy it. It was awesome, they've done a fabulous job making this attraction work for "kids" of all ages (Lego fanatic Daddies included, lol). We're already planning a time to return with all 3 of our kids (ages 15, 13 &4). Ticket prices weren't bad, we did miss out on their value pricing due to going on a holiday, but $60 for all 4 of us to enjoy a full day of play, it was a good value. (We spent alot more than that in the gift shop! lol) If you're undecided about adding this to your travel plans; 1 word: GO!

PS...buy tickets in advance online. They are discounted AND you get priority entrance to the attraction. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Happiest place on earth (not really), but certainly the loudest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We accompanied my nephew and nieces there (age 10ish). While the concept is neat, the line to get in was long, the noise level once inside unbearable (for the kids too), and many of the exhibits did not function. The lego KC exhibit was the highlight, but many portions of it were out of order. It would have been cheaper and much more enjoyable to buy the kid a hundred dollars worth of lego at Walmart and let them play with it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LEGOLAND Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to LEGOLAND Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LEGOLAND Discovery Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.