We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, words do it no justice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National World War I Museum

National World War I Museum
100 West 26th Street, Kansas City, MO 64108
816-888-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 176 things to do in Kansas City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National World War I Museum at Liberty Memorial is the only American museum solely dedicated to preserving the objects, history and personal experiences of a war whose impact still echoes today. With one of the greatest collections of World War I artifacts anywhere in the world, the new state-of-the-art complex uses highly-interactive technology to bring history to life. The Museum is located in downtown Kansas City, Missouri, at the corner of Pershing and Main.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing, words do it no justice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Has to be one of the top 3 Military History Museums ever and I have been from the Royal Military Museum to the ones in Normandy, Caen, Bayeux, Brussels and this one is a must see. My only regret is I only had 90 minutes but plan on returning and spending half a day touring it. The WW1 trench interaction is bone chilling and really depicts the atrocious conditions of that era. Do yourself a favor and plan on spending at least 2-3 hours there and take in all the movies and interaction pieces. Do a guided tour first and go back and see the things you want to......Its BIG

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,461
    217
    24
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Among the best museums we've visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We love history and experiencing it through great museums. But many if not most museums can be tedious or, even worse, disjointed. They try to make a statement and instead lose me in grand displays or stories that don't seem to connect. The National WWI museum doesn't just promise - it delivers. The displays are so well done - they draw you into the storyline of the war almost as though you're living during that era. The stories intersect, and rather than dragging, time flies by while experiencing the events leading up to WWI and the trauma of living through it. This one's a can't-miss for any with an interest in this topic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent - very well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Had to drag my husband to this, but thought he would enjoy it. He loved it and thanked me for getting him to go. We both enjoyed it and were very impressed with the quality. Highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Takes you back in time, A must visit. It's the only one of it's kind in the entire nation. Expect at least to spend a few hours, to really look at everything. Food in the little caferteria is pretty good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Really Good Historic Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This museum is really well done. And this year (2014) is the centennial. They have several special events planned. Really great thing to do with out of town guests.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National World War I Museum also viewed

 

Been to National World War I Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National World War I Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.