We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best destinations in Kansas City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National World War I Museum

National World War I Museum
100 West 26th Street, Kansas City, MO 64108
816-888-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 82 Attractions in Kansas City
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National World War I Museum at Liberty Memorial is the only American museum solely dedicated to preserving the objects, history and personal experiences of a war whose impact still echoes today. With one of the greatest collections of World War I artifacts anywhere in the world, the new state-of-the-art complex uses highly-interactive technology to bring history to life. The Museum is located in downtown Kansas City, Missouri, at the corner of Pershing and Main.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of the best destinations in Kansas City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This museum has so much to see! It is full of artifacts from every aspect of WWI. Large scale timelines make it easy to see what happened when, and there is something for everyone. The exhibit is very well put together. Plan for at least all day, or spread it out over 2 days. A ticket includes admission for 2 days so you can go for a while, take a break and come back the next day if you want. This place is truly fantastic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,283
    195
    19
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Liberty Memorial”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Maybe they want you to call it something else, but we've always called it the Liberty Memorial. I would not call it interactive for little ones, but slightly grown ones who are interested in history, sure. Great views and awesome place for a picnic, if you are so inclined.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Such an awesome and educational museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A must see while you are in the Kansas City area. This Museum would make a wonderful school trip . The tour guides are very interesting to listen to their own stories as they take you around the Museum. They are ever so helpful with answering questions for you too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good for KC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

As per my understanding inly less than 20% of the museum's property is on show. The tour guide I had was very knowledgeable and friendly. The place is nicely arranged and formed temporally in a way that you can follow the events. Cool museum for two hours time spending and very informative.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Must if your are a war history fan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great museum on World War 1. If you love history or looking at old guns this is the place for you. Very well done. On par with the Museums in Washington.

Ticket for an adult was $14. Children under 6 are free I believe .

Good view of Kansas City if nothing else!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National World War I Museum also viewed

 

Been to National World War I Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National World War I Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.