We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Ambassador is a lovely hotel. The decor was stunning, including the lobby/restaurant, hallways, and our king corner room on the 5th floor. My hotel ratings are always highly related to the bathroom and this one rates very high: it was large, lots of counter space, lighted makeup mirror and enormous shower with awesome showerhead! The room was very clean and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Refrigerator, coffee maker and free bottled water were nice features. Hotel location and (self) parking lot were very convenient. Short walk to Power and Light district and easy drive to museums, and country club plaza. You get so much more here for your $$$ compared with national chain hotels.
Only suggestions for improvement:
Wifi didnt work very well and there was no info in the room about the hotel or amenities available.

Room Tip: Definitley ask for a higher floor because it will be quieter. Corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for such a great review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and you highlighted many of our great amenities. As you mentioned we have a beautiful hotel in one of the best locations in Kansas City. Thank you again for taking time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    44
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
83
8
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A friend and I stayed one night in a king room, and had a great stay! The rooms are modern, but the hotel retains the charm of its old building. Every member of the staff was pleasant and helpful, and we loved the free shuttle service. We were two blocks from Power and Light, and loved not having to catch a cab at the end of the night - the walk back was short (3 minutes tops?) and safe (important for 2 females traveling alone).

Only complaint is that, while the Keurig in the room was a nice touch, the coffee at breakfast was $4. Really expensive for a plain cup of coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I am very happy you enjoyed your visit, we are always pleased when our guests have a wonderful experience. I will be sure to share your comments with our team and we hope you with visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Overall this hotel was modern and comfortable. We didn't interact too much with anyone there, but our minimal interactions with the staff were pleasant. The rooms are well appointed and were impeccably clean. The location is in the heart of downtown Kansas City and we thought it was easy to get around.

The only piece of advice I have to offer is that you should avoid the low floors of this hotel. Our room on the second floor was as dark as a cave and had a lovely view directly onto a parking lot. I asked to get something on a higher floor but was told they were fully booked. Perhaps I am a bit spoiled because I have status with other hotel chains, but it made me rethink staying here instead of at a larger national chain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent visit, we always appreciate our guests sharing their perspectives of the hotel. I am pleased you found the hotel clean and that your interactions with our team were pleasant. As you mentioned we have an excellent location downtown and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were nice - clean and modern. The hotel was attractive and appeared to be well maintained - no obvious maintenance issues. Our room was at the front so it was noisy with the street just outside. The proximity to Power & Light was great. No real perks other than they had Keurigs for the coffee.

My biggest complaint is the the vanity lights (outside the toilet/shower room) came on when using the restroom - bothersome for anyone trying to sleep in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for providing comments about your recent visit. I am pleased that you found the hotel clean and enjoyed our modern style. In addition to the Keurig coffee makers we also offer all of our guests complimentary bottled water, complimentary wifi and a complimentary shuttle service that can be used within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

From the minute we walked in I knew I had picked an amazing place to stay. It's a beautiful hotel and the staff is amazing. We had a king corner room and booked the romance package. The room was clean and loved the modern feel. It was also nice and quiet which is always a big deal to me. They have a great staff - can't say enough about their service. They even have a suburban that they use to take & pick up in a 5 mi radius. The chef is amazing in hotel restaurant. Had the most amazing breakfast - it's been a while since we have eaten such amazing food! If we ever make it back to KC we will def stay here! Thanks for such a fun stay!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for posting such a great review about your experience. I am very happy you were able to have breakfast in the restaurant, we do have an amazing culinary team as you mentioned. It is always very nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their visit and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great location, wonderful staff. In Room dining was excellent and a great value. I highly recommend this hotel for any traveler. We had a Parlor Suite that was spacious and comfortable. In addition we were traveling with our beagle and they were very accommodating in making sure she was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review about your experience. I am happy that we made the entire family feel welcome and we always hope our guests will stay with us again the next time they visit Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Ambassador Hotel was close enough to walk to the Power and Light District and the car service got us to everywhere else we wanted to go. All staff were nice and helpful with suggestions of where to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for posting you review, as you mentioned we have an excellent location near the Power & Light entertainment district as well as the Sprint Center. I am pleased that our team was able to assist you with suggestions on places to visit and I hope you will stay with us again the next time your plans bring to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City

Address: 1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic, independent boutique hotel. Built in 1920, the seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.