We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A friend and I stayed one night in a king room, and had a great stay! The rooms are modern, but the hotel retains the charm of its old building. Every member of the staff was pleasant and helpful, and we loved the free shuttle service. We were two blocks from Power and Light, and loved not having to catch a cab at the end of the night - the walk back was short (3 minutes tops?) and safe (important for 2 females traveling alone).

Only complaint is that, while the Keurig in the room was a nice touch, the coffee at breakfast was $4. Really expensive for a plain cup of coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley6106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I am very happy you enjoyed your visit, we are always pleased when our guests have a wonderful experience. I will be sure to share your comments with our team and we hope you with visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Overall this hotel was modern and comfortable. We didn't interact too much with anyone there, but our minimal interactions with the staff were pleasant. The rooms are well appointed and were impeccably clean. The location is in the heart of downtown Kansas City and we thought it was easy to get around.

The only piece of advice I have to offer is that you should avoid the low floors of this hotel. Our room on the second floor was as dark as a cave and had a lovely view directly onto a parking lot. I asked to get something on a higher floor but was told they were fully booked. Perhaps I am a bit spoiled because I have status with other hotel chains, but it made me rethink staying here instead of at a larger national chain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZachC215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent visit, we always appreciate our guests sharing their perspectives of the hotel. I am pleased you found the hotel clean and that your interactions with our team were pleasant. As you mentioned we have an excellent location downtown and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The rooms were nice - clean and modern. The hotel was attractive and appeared to be well maintained - no obvious maintenance issues. Our room was at the front so it was noisy with the street just outside. The proximity to Power & Light was great. No real perks other than they had Keurigs for the coffee.

My biggest complaint is the the vanity lights (outside the toilet/shower room) came on when using the restroom - bothersome for anyone trying to sleep in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3girlsoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for providing comments about your recent visit. I am pleased that you found the hotel clean and enjoyed our modern style. In addition to the Keurig coffee makers we also offer all of our guests complimentary bottled water, complimentary wifi and a complimentary shuttle service that can be used within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

From the minute we walked in I knew I had picked an amazing place to stay. It's a beautiful hotel and the staff is amazing. We had a king corner room and booked the romance package. The room was clean and loved the modern feel. It was also nice and quiet which is always a big deal to me. They have a great staff - can't say enough about their service. They even have a suburban that they use to take & pick up in a 5 mi radius. The chef is amazing in hotel restaurant. Had the most amazing breakfast - it's been a while since we have eaten such amazing food! If we ever make it back to KC we will def stay here! Thanks for such a fun stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for posting such a great review about your experience. I am very happy you were able to have breakfast in the restaurant, we do have an amazing culinary team as you mentioned. It is always very nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their visit and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great location, wonderful staff. In Room dining was excellent and a great value. I highly recommend this hotel for any traveler. We had a Parlor Suite that was spacious and comfortable. In addition we were traveling with our beagle and they were very accommodating in making sure she was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review about your experience. I am happy that we made the entire family feel welcome and we always hope our guests will stay with us again the next time they visit Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Ambassador Hotel was close enough to walk to the Power and Light District and the car service got us to everywhere else we wanted to go. All staff were nice and helpful with suggestions of where to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for posting you review, as you mentioned we have an excellent location near the Power & Light entertainment district as well as the Sprint Center. I am pleased that our team was able to assist you with suggestions on places to visit and I hope you will stay with us again the next time your plans bring to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We made reservations here to celebrate our 16th anniversary. It could not have been a more enjoyable trip. From the moment we walked in and were greeted by Shuk and Maria it was top notch customer service. We had purchased the breakfast in bed package and were immediately upgraded to the romance package when they realized it was our anniversary.

We loved the room and our entire stay there.

Mostly though, we loved the service we received from every single employee we encountered. In fact, we had dinner reservations at 801 Chophouse, which we alerted the concierge to when we checked in. The driver had taken a group down to the plaza and had not returned. It was getting close to our reservation time - and we could have driven ourselves as it was very close by - but Shuk pulled his personal vehicle around and drove us to dinner himself. Definitely above and beyond service as it was understood the transportation is on a first come first serve basis.

Thank you for making our anniversary a lovely one!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. I am very happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed your experience. We hope you had a happy 16th anniversary and that we will see you again to celebrate your 17th, if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
4.3 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
4.3 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips
Hotel Phillips
#36 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#29 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
1.2 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#15 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Address: 1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic, independent boutique hotel. Built in 1920, the seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing