We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
lincoln,ne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is very modern and chic, but not large like the chains. We really liked that the parking lot was right next to the door (its about $15 a day) and we used the free Escalade service a number of times. We had a great corner room and I never heard any of our neighbors and I was surprised at how quiet it was, even on a Friday night. The rooms look exactly as pictured, ours was much larger than expected. The bartender our first night was fun and we enjoyed the $6 happy hour drinks (try the daquiri!), the second night we were the only ones there and definitely got forgotten about and had to wait quite some time for our check. It was disappointing because it was probably the only time that the staff wasn't outstanding. The staff is very youthful and helpful, every time you walk in or out SOMEONE will tell you to enjoy your day or have a good night.
The only draw back we experienced was a film crew filming in the hotel during our stay. This was not explained to us at check in and we instead returned from a day of shopping to find a notice posted that by entering the hotel we were agreeing to be filmed. Needless to say, this is not how you wish to find out this type of information. The film crew unfortunately tied up BOTH elevators on multiple occasions and they were generally just a little awkward and disruptive, crowding the entry way or monopolizing the front entrance. We made a mention of it to the front desk who acknowleged it and said she would speak to them but a manager never reached out and apologized for the inconvenience, which I found really odd in a hotel with such great service. I would have appreciated a token offering of free parking or breakfast due to having to take the stairs.
I will certainly consider staying here again when I'm in the area...but I'll definitely ask whether there are any 'special events' happening in the hotel first.

Room Tip: Pay a little more to upgrade from the standard. You get a LARGE corner room with no neighbors! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for all of your nice comments, I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. I will be certain to share your review with the team! Please contact me personally next time you plan to visit so we can make up the inconvenience you experienced during this visit. I look forward to speaking with you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    45
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
97
8
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The plains
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were in KC for the NCAA tournament. The Ambassador is just two blocks away so it's very convenient. We had a king bedroom with a separate sitting area. There was a half bath in addition to full bath which made it very useful for guests. The decor is contemporary and the furnishings were very nice. They provided plush robes and they felt wonderful. So much so that my husband bought one for me!!! We had room service. Both the food and service were good. We wanted to shop at the Plaza one day and their shuttle took us there which was a nice surprise. The staff was very accommodating. We will definitely stay at the Ambassador again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I am so pleased that you plan to stay with us again when you visit Kansas City. We really enjoyed our first year of being open during all the March basketball! Our location is perfect for any event being held at the Sprint Center. We hope all is well in Wichita and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Booked through hotels.com, all went smoothly. Beautiful property with great location. Rooms are very spacious, bathroom is 150 sf alone with two separate vanities. nice boutique property. Staff is super friendly and The Reserve restaurant in the lobby is fabulous. Good happy hour specials.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our double queen rooms do have double vanities and the bathrooms are very large, perfect for two people or a family. I will be sure to share your comments about our great restaurant with the chef! We hope you will stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was a great hotel for a couple looking to get away for some city fun and relaxation. Some highlights:

- The staff were courteous and helpful (they recommended a fantastic steakhouse that had delightful live jazz that night).
- The room was modern, well-decorated, and well-stocked.
- The bed was comfortable, with plenty of pillows.
- The free wireless internet was very fast for complementary wifi (5 Mbps down/7 Mbps up)
- The TV was nice (46" LCD) and featured ample audio/video inputs
- The location is great; a block away from Power and Light district, next door to a great "quick" breakfast spot (Silver Spoon), next door to a US bank with a 24-hour ATM, and very close to the interstate.

All-in-all, this was a great stay at a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for this great review, I will be happy to share your comments with our team. As you mentioned we are the perfect location for an in town get away. Our free wifi, beautiful rooms and lobby and our super comfortable beds are just part of what we hope all of guests experience but what we are most proud of, as you pointed out, is our wonderful staff. I hope you will stay with us again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The service was exceptional and the room was clean, modern, and comfortable. Our room service breakfast was great and it was really great having the complimentary car service. I highly recommend this hotel, especially for couples or business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
I am very happy that we were able to "exceed your expectations", we strive to ensure that every guest has the same type of experience when they chose to stay with us at the Ambassador Hotel. As you pointed out we have a complimentary car service that many of our guests are able to use during their stay. I will be sure to share your nice comments with our team and thank you for posting such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved our spacious, beautifully appointed room. Very quiet, super cushy bed, enough rrom to dance!. Very friendly staff happy to answer any questions we had. This is everything we look for in a hotel. Complimentary transportation to nearby areas is a definite plus. Only down side - the view from the room isn't much, but everything else at this hotel is first rate. Breakfast in the restaurant was outstanding with great service. We look forward to trying dinner some time too.

Room Tip: We had a chance to peek in on the two story loft suites and they look beautiful, but even the standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for this great review. We greatly appreciate when our guests take time to tell us what a wonderful time they had during their visit. I am happy you enjoyed our outstanding restaurant as well, I will be sure to tell the Chef! We hope you will stay with again next time you are in Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The staff was second only to a staff at Disney. Each and every staff member went out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay.
When the bar didn't have a certain liquor they went out and bought it. When we had to stay an extra day because of a snow storm, the housekeeper put in extra towels and toiletries in case we had extra people in the room.
The lobby is inviting. Modern in decoration.
The room was nice and big. Bed was commfy. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a large walk-in shower. I would love to see the bathroom door moved so that just the shower and toilet were shut in and seperate from the sinks.
The food was good and it was one of the best cheeseburgers I ever had.
I will stay there again if ever backin the KC area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for posting this review about your experience at the Ambassador Kansas City. I am very happy that you had such a great visit, we are very proud of our staff and the service and attention to detail they provide. Our goal as a team is to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests each time they visit. We hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Address: 1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic, independent boutique hotel. Built in 1920, the seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.