We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The service was exceptional and the room was clean, modern, and comfortable. Our room service breakfast was great and it was really great having the complimentary car service. I highly recommend this hotel, especially for couples or business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
I am very happy that we were able to "exceed your expectations", we strive to ensure that every guest has the same type of experience when they chose to stay with us at the Ambassador Hotel. As you pointed out we have a complimentary car service that many of our guests are able to use during their stay. I will be sure to share your nice comments with our team and thank you for posting such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    50
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
122
10
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emporia, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved our spacious, beautifully appointed room. Very quiet, super cushy bed, enough rrom to dance!. Very friendly staff happy to answer any questions we had. This is everything we look for in a hotel. Complimentary transportation to nearby areas is a definite plus. Only down side - the view from the room isn't much, but everything else at this hotel is first rate. Breakfast in the restaurant was outstanding with great service. We look forward to trying dinner some time too.

Room Tip: We had a chance to peek in on the two story loft suites and they look beautiful, but even the standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for this great review. We greatly appreciate when our guests take time to tell us what a wonderful time they had during their visit. I am happy you enjoyed our outstanding restaurant as well, I will be sure to tell the Chef! We hope you will stay with again next time you are in Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The staff was second only to a staff at Disney. Each and every staff member went out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay.
When the bar didn't have a certain liquor they went out and bought it. When we had to stay an extra day because of a snow storm, the housekeeper put in extra towels and toiletries in case we had extra people in the room.
The lobby is inviting. Modern in decoration.
The room was nice and big. Bed was commfy. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a large walk-in shower. I would love to see the bathroom door moved so that just the shower and toilet were shut in and seperate from the sinks.
The food was good and it was one of the best cheeseburgers I ever had.
I will stay there again if ever backin the KC area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for posting this review about your experience at the Ambassador Kansas City. I am very happy that you had such a great visit, we are very proud of our staff and the service and attention to detail they provide. Our goal as a team is to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests each time they visit. We hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was in KC for business and stayed at the Ambassador 4 nights. Our group had the entire hotel and it couldn't have been better. The staff was very accommodating and super friendly. When we ran into the housekeeper in the hall and told her we might be stuck here an extra night due to the incoming snow storm she made sure we had ample toiletries and extra towels. The room is great. Very roomy and all the furnishings and decor are new and modern. Loved the huge walk in shower!!! The bar had great food and its rare to see the Executive Chef taking orders, cooking the food and running the bar but they step in and do what ever it takes to make sure your experience is enjoyable.

The only down fall is there is not a vending machine in the hall and there were times at night I would have loved a snack or diet coke.

However, I would definitely stay here again and have already told lots of people about this charming, ultra chic hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, we really enjoyed having your group stay with us last week. I will share your comments with the team, we are fortunate to have such a dedicated staff that as you said do what it take to make each guests stay enjoyable. I hope you will stay with us again next time you are in Kansas City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and had a pleasant stay. The room was spacious comfortable, and clean and the bathroom well appointed. Everything was new and in good condition, which was great. The mini fridge, in room safe and bathrobes were a very nice touch. The rate was more affordable than other 4 star hotels in the area, where I had previously stayed and was disappointed. The free transportation within a five mile radius was a huge perk. The staff was friendly and the food was decent, from what I had.

The walls here are very thin. I could hear the gentleman in the next room's conversation as well as the program he was watching on tv. The fact that soundproofing was pretty poor made me feel like I had little privacy. In fact, this is the only hotel where I have encountered such poor soundproofing.

Also I found the service at the front desk a bit lacking. I was irritated that they did not inform me that they were reserving $100/ night on my card for incidentals, which seems a bit excessive. There does not seem to be a lot of staff, for instance no bellhop to assist with bags etc and they do not inform you that they close the front doors in the evening and you have to walk upstairs to gain access.

I did enjoy my stay overall and would have rated it excellent where it not for the soundproofing issues and lack of professionalism at the front desk. By far my most pleasant stay at a KC 4star hotel, thus far.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for review, we always appreciate any feedback we receive from our guests. I have addresses your comments with our front desk team, I can assure you this is not a typical experience for our guests. Please let me know next time you are in Kansas City, I would be happy to ensure your next visit is without incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Pros: modern interior (think kimpton or w hotel), really big bathroom, good bar/restaurant, gated parking lot, free escalade shuttle, good service

Cons: slight smell in the lobby (didn't smell in rooms), mattress was really soft, bed was very shaky (I think there was a lose screw but too lazy/too late to call maintenance), slightly expensive room rate

this hotel reminds me a lot of a kimpton hotel. Pleasant surprise in KC. Can't comment on location since I was in town for one night. I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit. Please know I have shared your comments regarding the beds and the other issues you mentioned with my engineering and housekeeping teams. Thank you for your time and we hope you will return the next time you are in Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Here for 2 nights on business at the convention center. Smooth, friendly check-in, although would have appreciated a bit more detail on hotel amenities as a first-time guest. Large comfortable room (7th floor), was quiet and equipped with nice mini-fridge. Never did locate nearby vending but Cosentino's Grocery around the corner provided necessary supplies. WiFi reasonably fast and easy to connect with provided password, although you do have to click through waiver each sign-on. Very short walk to restaurants and bars. Lunch at hotel bar was reasonable with fair selection of bottled beer. HVAC in room was excellent with both heat and a/c very responsive to temperature setting. Bathroom well appointed with large granite shower. Overall, would highly recommend for either business or romance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate when our guests comments include recommending our hotel for both business and leisure. We do have an excellent location just a few blocks from the market and the Sprint Center as well. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you are able to return again someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
4.3 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips
Hotel Phillips
#28 of 110 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.3 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#23 of 110 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#9 of 110 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Address: 1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic, independent boutique hotel. Built in 1920, the seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.