We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if this hotel was a crayon, it would be royal purple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package!
Ranked #3 of 111 hotels in Kansas City
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“if this hotel was a crayon, it would be royal purple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

love love the colors and textures!! matte black carpet, white leather, cow print pillows, marble floors, natural light from large window, chartreuse lit bar. eye candy. overnight parking available ($16), but no temp parking for registering. housekeeping was very friendly and helpful (more than concierge, who were lukewarm). cons: no bath tub just shower. rain shower head but low water pressure. i would give it five stars, but they have minimal amenities, just a bar & restaurant. remote was out of batteries, so it was a national geo marathon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Ambassador Hotel. I appreciate your feedback and wish to apologize for the water pressure and the remote. I have discussed these comments with our maintenance team and the issues have been resolved. We look forward to you returning the next time you visit KC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    34
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
58
5
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel had wonderful service,, the room design && decor simply amazing! I will definitely be sure to stay here on my next trip down! I enjoyed my stay! The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful when needed. The room setup..... wow! Love the colors and everything about it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review of the Ambassador Kansas City. We are always very pleased when we hear comments like yours and especially that you plan to return the next time you visit KC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My fiance and I chose this hotel based on actually the tripadvisor reviews! So glad we did. The pictures are 100% accurate. This is a SMALL BOUTIQUE hotel, it has 43 rooms a restaurant/bar lounge and fitness center. It was nice staying in a small quaint and classy boutique. For being a small boutiqe hotel it sure does deliver big shoes and fills them! As you walk in you are greeting by a gorgeous Christmas tree - then there is a beautiful path to the bar.restaurant and lounge - on your right is check in - and then to the check in desk right is a cute little nook with a sitting area and offering cider coffe and cookies. The restaurant is very chic with great food. This hotel also has room service. As we got in the elevator the elevator is so cute and modern - We had a corner suite and it was a good size! Had a kuerig coffee maker - complimentarybottled water a refrigerator - Gilchrist and Somes toilietries (my fav) - the bed was nice and comfy and the lay out was wonderful - They have complimentary escalade - However, we chose to use Moses - who has a lovely lincoln town car. He drove us around for the weekend. He really took care of us. He is so sweet. We really enjoyed him taking care of us. So if you are looking for a driver book MOSES! He books up pretty quick so I would recommend booking him ahead of time. We had breakfast room service every morning and it was great and fresh. We ate at Jack Stack both at Plaza and by the hotel - We also ate at the Reserve which is the hotel restaurant. Very great. Nice chic atmosphere - The decor and architecture through out the hotel were so beautiful and I loved the marble through out the hotel. After the end of our days we ended each night hanging out the bar hanging out with the bartender Cody, Tony, and Geoff. It was lovely. The cheese platter is great - I felt everyone was accomadating. We will definately use this hotel as our place each year to enjoy our long weekend holiday vacay! Thanks Ambassador for giving us an amazing weekend to remember!

As for the other negative comments I read and looked out for what they said when at the hotel. This is my opinion.

The hotel is hurting financially - I think that is a very messed up and very inaccurate statement - I won't even comment on that comment further. EWW who writes that?!

The menu is bad -Absolutely NOT - Yes - there are few menu options but this is a SMALL boutique hotel. The options are yummy and if you request something they can make it. Could they add another item or two? sure - but I found the menu fine and accomadating.

The 5th floor is a party floor. UM WHAT?! First of all there are 43 rooms all together - we stayed on the 5th floor the whole weekend. There aren't many rooms on that floor at all. The rooms are so big you cant hear. Friday night - there was some partying going on and music but at like midnight you couldn't hear anything. I do not want people to think that the guest here are sloppy because every guest we encountered were classy affluent friendly people. We came for the game as did others. I was just confused on that comment because the hotel is so small. I am sure if you had a problem Michael would have fixed your room right away.

Ambassador is a classy hotel. Try it! Email me for questions about this hotel and things to do.

Room Tip: corner king you only have one room next to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay, we are always so pleased when our guests are able to experience all the great things our hotel and Kansas City have to offer. I was sure to share all of your wonderful comments with the team, it gives us all great satisfaction to read such a nice review. Please let me know next time you plan to visit the Ambassador Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I visited this hotel for the first time and found it very clean, comfortable, and friendly. All of the staff are welcoming and pleasant. However, in my 13 years of 100% weekly travel and in the past 7 years some occassional business trips, I have never had service like Joe at the front desk provided on my first night. My two co-workers and I arrived very late and nothing was open for dinner. Joe provided menu's, hotel address for delivery, and contact information for a pizza place. The pizza place wasn't answering at 2 AM during the week even know they were supposed to be open until 3. Joe said, "Let me go back in the kitchen and make you guys some sandwiches; What would you like?" He had absolutely no obligation to do this. He really helped us out as we were starving and there was literally nothing open (believe me, we searched ourselves first). Joe is the kind of employee that makes the hotel. Beside being completed committed to his job, you can tell he just geniunely cares about people. Thanks Joe! When I'm back in KC, Ambassador is my place now.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we are very proud of our team and the outstanding guest service they provide. Joe is one of our great team members and I very pleased he was able to make such an outstanding impression. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Tastefuly decorated in an historic building in downtown. I had a typically large room, bed and linens were excellent. Plenty of light streams into the room through large windows with both shears and blackout drapes. Just 2 blocks from the sprint center and the power and light district with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Easy access to freeways in case you're family or business is not downtown. There is a restaurant and bar right off the lobby. Excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team we hope to see you again soon and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenport, ia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Beautifully decorated rooms, lobby, bar, and even the hallways were usable and comfortable. I had high hopes when I booked this room back in August, thinking it was too good to be true, but it exceeded my expectations in every way. The staff was friendly and helpful. The maid on our floor gave us the complete history of the building and its' renovation, taking the time to show us all the other options for different room styles. All were modern without being too cold--just perfect. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spacious and well-supplied, and the seating area was open and inviting. We were in town one night for a Springsteen concert and the Ambassador's location was ideal for the Sprint center and the Power and Light district. We parked when we arrived and didn't need to move the car until we left. Even if we did need powered vehicles, nearby parking lots had electric scooters, Segways, and electric cars for rent -- way cool and convenient. I've got to find one negative, and it was lack of a particular alcohol at the bar --a very small negative. Other than that, I wish I'd been able to stay longer. Our next trip to KC will require a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We wish you could have stayed longer too! We enjoyed having all of the Springsteen fans with us, what a devoted crowd! I am happy you enjoyed your visit and as you mentioned our location is perfect for attending concerts or events at the Sprint Center as well as going to the Power and Light District. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our car service as well and we hope you will stay with us again when you visit Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ambassador the night we attended Aerosmith at the Sprint Center. We found the hotel spotless, not even finger smudges on the elevator doors. The beds were comfy. Even my husband commented on them. The robes provided were cozy and bath towels plush. The whole room was very relaxed and inviting.

After the concert we were pleased to find the bar still open so we were able to enjoy a nightcap. We were greeted by the desk clerk each time we came in or went out. The driver was eager to take us anywhere we wanted to go. We did not need to use his services since the whole reason for staying here was to be able to walk where ever we wanted to go. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for this nice review, I am so glad you enjoyed staying at the hotel for the concert. We have the best location in Kansas City if you are attending a concert or event at the Sprint Center. I am pleased that the bar was still open for you when you returned from the concert. I hope you will consider staying with us again next time you visit Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City

Address: 1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic, independent boutique hotel. Built in 1920, the seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.