We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless & Comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spotless & Comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ambassador the night we attended Aerosmith at the Sprint Center. We found the hotel spotless, not even finger smudges on the elevator doors. The beds were comfy. Even my husband commented on them. The robes provided were cozy and bath towels plush. The whole room was very relaxed and inviting.

After the concert we were pleased to find the bar still open so we were able to enjoy a nightcap. We were greeted by the desk clerk each time we came in or went out. The driver was eager to take us anywhere we wanted to go. We did not need to use his services since the whole reason for staying here was to be able to walk where ever we wanted to go. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for this nice review, I am so glad you enjoyed staying at the hotel for the concert. We have the best location in Kansas City if you are attending a concert or event at the Sprint Center. I am pleased that the bar was still open for you when you returned from the concert. I hope you will consider staying with us again next time you visit Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    39
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
66
6
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel the night of the Madonna concert. Since I live in KC, this was a treat. our suite was beyond belief.....modern furniture, great lighting, comfortable bed and bedding, wonderful amenities. The staff was excellent, especially Andrew, who was available for our every need and exceeding friendly and helpful. Kudos to the bar staff, who put up with a bunch of rowdy party people , who were still having fun after the concert. The hotel is a great addition to the Kansas City downtown scene. The location is ideal for the events at the Sprint Center and Power and Light district. I highly recommend this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to a suite. You will be delightfully surprised at its elegance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for such a great review. I am happy you enjoyed staying with us for the concert, we have a great location just steps from the Sprint Center. I am very pleased to know that Andrew and the bar staff exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I can't stop talking about how great this hotel was. I was there for one night on business. The basic King room was gorgeous and HUGE, everything is new, and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed, giant shower, giant desk. My room service salad was surprisingly good. Lovely bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write this nice review. I am glad you enjoyed our great rooms and our wonderful food. I hope you will stay with us again next time you are in Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We live in KC but needed a night away from our little one and were anxious to try the newest hotel in downtown. It was gorgeous inside and the service was excellent. Walking distance to anything in Power and Light and they have a car service that will take you anywhere else you'd like to go. The bed was very comfy and it was a wonderful getaway. Would recommend this to locals and visitors alike!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for this great review. I am delighted you were able to "stay-cation" with us, we offer a great get away for people in the Kansas City area. We hope you return again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful room. Very comfortable king size bed with ample selection of pillows. Coffee maker, iron and ironing board in the room. The layout for all the light switches could be improved a bit, especially near the bed. The headrest is in the way when trying to reach the switch. This minor issue is well compensated by how comfortable the bed is. Overall, a very pleasant stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and very pleased that you would return again. Thank you for the feedback you provided about the room, you are right our beds are very comfortable. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hi, this is the 1st time I have bothered to write a review. 4 lads visiting Kansas City for a week from England. Exellent Hotel, Excellent staff, Excellent rooms and great hotel bar. Everyone was very helpful and gave us great advice on what to do and where to go. The car that was available was driven by great guys who helped a lot. Thanks Ambassador Hotel for making our holiday so good. Kind regards, Andy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for writing this great review. We really enjoyed having you and your friends stay with us during your visit to Kansas City. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the car service and that you enjoyed the bar. We hope to welcome you back to the Ambassador very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I am from KC but moved away recently, so I was excited to try this new downtown hotel. The location is great! It is beautiful! There is no valet, no bellman, no concierge, and the bar, again while very beautiful, had limited ingredients for drinks and was under staffed. Now none of these things are a huge deal, of course, but the services in this hotel do not come close to matching its high end prices.

The cost of parking is more than Crown Center Hotels, and it's an uncovered lot with public access South of the building from which guests haul their own bags. I only saw a couple people working in the hotel during my stay. That, and being told in the bar they have to improvise by mixing drinks using whatever they have gave me the impression as a guest that this new business may not be able to afford to keep up with comparable hotels. If that's true, that's too bad bc The Ambassador has wonderful potential. If there are not financial concerns, make sure to give your guests the impression that all is well, Ambassador!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
I appreciate your constructive feedback regarding your recent visit. On behalf of my entire team I would like to apologize for the lapse in service you experienced. Please know that these types of comments are taken seriously and we have addressed all the concerns you mentioned. Please feel free to contact me next time you come to Kansas City, I would like the opportunity for you to experience the wonderful service we pride ourselves on delivering.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City

Address: 1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic, independent boutique hotel. Built in 1920, the seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Downtown Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.