We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
4601 Broadway Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #33 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average hotel, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I did an extended stay here. The pluses are significant: superb location, great dinner (although only 3 nights a week), friendly, helpful staff. Rooms, breakfast, bed, pool are average. Jacuzzi is poor (lukewarm, no bubbles), maintenance is poor. I stayed in multiple rooms and there were always 4-5 things wrong, and often they wouldn't get fixed the first time, or you'd just be moved to another room and I guess another guest deals with it. Toilet ran is just about every room, and in my coworkers, almost never fixed right the first or even second time. Elevator is so slow that's it's usually pointless to even try. I skimmed a few other reviews and it seems like maintenance is a common problem. Basically you're getting a cheap-quality studio apartment, which is a nice alternative to small hotel room but could get old fast.

Room Tip: Get one facing the Plaza for good sun and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    41
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
42
27
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I'm a documentary and reality filmmaker. I travel quite a bit and spend extended periods of time in hotels. My crew and I were staying at the Residence Inn closer to downtown Kansas City (still too far to walk though), so we submitted a request to the production office in Los Angeles to be moved somewhere closer to local attractions and decent food. After all, we were running around with crazy (in a good and brave sense) undercover cops and SWAT teams all day long. We thought we deserved it for what we were delivering to the production company. Well, they moved us to the Residence Inn in Country Club Plaza. First off, I should say that it's a fantastic area. I live in a great place near UCLA in Los Angeles and am quite spoiled by it. Apart from the perfect weather that Los Angeles delivers on an almost daily basis, Country Club Plaza in Kansas City is at least the equal of Westwood Village. About the hotel though, after spending nearly a month as a guest, I got to see pretty much everything that goes on there and got to experience everything that can go wrong at an extended stay hotel like this one. All in all, the service and courtesy of the front desk personnel was way above average. The entire staff was thoughtful, helpful, and considerate. The rooms were nicely appointed with gas fireplaces that could actually heat the room, and, while the mattress was not bad, it wasn't fantastic either. It was slightly better than average. If it hadn't been for the mattress and the air conditioner which continued to leak condensation into the carpet, creating a smelly mold problem that had to be dealt with every few days, this hotel would have rated "excellent" with me. The bathroom was great. The kitchen looked like it had been recently redone, and the color aesthetic of the room was on the verge of creating a feeling of opulence - just perfect for a hotel chain like the Residence Inn. Based on what the production company ended up paying for the rooms, I can't imagine there's a better deal for a similar room in this part of town, and, believe me, this is the area you want to stay in. Every other location is either too noisy, too congested, or too close to the hood.

Room Tip: Check around the building for any construction (road or building) before choosing a room. One of our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were presently surprised how great our hotel experience was. The hotel was very clean and updated. We had an inside 1 bedroom suite it was very clean and we liked all the room had to offer. My only complaint would have been the bed and pillows were not very comfortable. The staff was so nice and really wanted to make sure we had a good stay. We stayed Mon-Wen, so we got to enjoy the manager happy hour. It was a dinner, much to our surprise! The french dip was so devious, better than more restaurants!! We also enjoyed the free breakfast. It really helped us save money on food! Plus we loved the location, it was so close to country club plaza, crown center and union station. We used the pool twice and we always the only ones in there, which was nice since it was a bit small. But, our boys loved it! We have 2 boys with autism and traveling is always a bit stressful. This hotel made us feel at home and the boys have been asking when can we go back?! We will stay again, for sure!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a great two room suite and worked perfect for our family. With a new baby we couldn't have asked for more. Very clean room with tons of amenities. Bathroom in main bathroom needed caulking and had huge crack- not very inviting. Pool was awesome and we felt like VIPs since no one used it besides us the entire time. Staff was not very professionally dressed but totally nice. Parking was easy enough once you checked in. Would totally stay again, but it was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great, walking distance to shopping and great restaurants on the Plaza. The staff is very friendly and customer service oriented. I stayed in the internal rooms and was quite pleased, the room was very clean, large and had a gas fireplace. The extras included free breakfast in the morning with a lot of choices more than you would expect from a free breakfast at the hotel. Also, Mon-Wed they have a managers reception with a lot of homemade foods and the staff at night is wonderful that runs the happy hour. I have high praise for the Happy Hour staff and the food they provide you could eat dinner for free right there and no need to leave the hotel after a busy day. The parking is a little tight in the covered parking area but real no issues. I would stay here again on my next business trip to KC.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

You can't get any closer to the best restaurants and shops in the Plaza. The room was clean and spacious and check-in attendance very kind. Another perk is free covered parking. We considered staying in the "outside entry" room but selected the inside" and were happy we did. Outside can park right next to their door so for extended stay guests, they may work out better. Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Selected this location for proximity to the CC area to have a quick family meetup, while still having the option for cooking capabilities and a more family-like setting. It also was "dog friendly", although we ended up boarding ours. Finally, the ability to drive in front of our room and enter without going through lobbies and elevators was appealing for privacy concerns with my daughter's medical condition.

At best, this got an overall mixed reviews. I had rented a 1 BR suite and had Marriott Platinum status.

The Positives: Great condition of lobby areas, nice breakfast service area, location great and free parking at the hotel (vs. going to the public garages adjacent to other hotels in the area). Could park in front of room ("east wing" - older apartments). Turns out the hallways and stairwells were in such good conditions that it would be comfortable accessing rooms without elevator use. Workout and pool area was very modern and clean, even though typically small. Front desk friendly and helpful.

NotSoMuch: As highlighted elsewhere, these are older apartments; not clear from pictures, but it seems like the "west wing" or tower rooms may be furnished more nicely. Toilet leaked. Bathroom terribly small - difficult to sit on the john and get door closed. East wing rooms (with a little research) were 100 sqft smaller and lacked adequate space to place a rollaway if you are also using the pullout couch. Pullout couch cushions were completely flat and uncomfortable to sit on. Rollaway quality was so poor (noisy) went to Wal-mart and bought an air-mattress. Exterior door was so poorly maintained that cold air poured right in. Kitchen was barely equipped with glass/silverware for 4, but only a 1-qt sauce pan (nothing bigger, no fry pan, no baking sheets). Reported to front desk, "lots of people take them" (really?? - for these rates u can't replace them?). Linens - particularly those supplied for the rollaway and couch - were threadbare, worn, and poor quality, particularly compared to the Marriott I just stayed at or any SPG property. There literally was a six-inch gash one of the blankets supplied. Gas grill was caked with grime.

Bottom line; you can make this work, and this location is fabulous if you'd like to have a family gathering in the country club area. To do so, strongly suggest you bring your own comforters/linens, air mattress, cooking utensils and food (the SunFresh market nearby is dreadful and highly expensive). Obviously, practical only if you're driving.

Me, I'm going to continue looking for the ideal place in the area; going to try the Intercontinental next time.

Room Tip: East Wing has outside access. West wing likely better condition. Avoid 3rd floor in West as noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve N, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. As an extended stay hotel we do a high volume of long term stays which makes it difficult to access occupied rooms for repairs. Programs are in place now that we are in slower times to access and perform maintenance and inventories to bring the east wing which houses a majority of our long term stay up to par. Dealing with a historic building is a challenge but we are focused on upkeep. Daily inspections are done by the managers and items are addressed as quickly as possible with enthusiasm. Its a challenge and we are all up for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4601 Broadway Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.