We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a trip to the Plaza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
4601 Broadway Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #31 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a trip to the Plaza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

You can't get any closer to the best restaurants and shops in the Plaza. The room was clean and spacious and check-in attendance very kind. Another perk is free covered parking. We considered staying in the "outside entry" room but selected the inside" and were happy we did. Outside can park right next to their door so for extended stay guests, they may work out better. Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    46
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
43
29
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Selected this location for proximity to the CC area to have a quick family meetup, while still having the option for cooking capabilities and a more family-like setting. It also was "dog friendly", although we ended up boarding ours. Finally, the ability to drive in front of our room and enter without going through lobbies and elevators was appealing for privacy concerns with my daughter's medical condition.

At best, this got an overall mixed reviews. I had rented a 1 BR suite and had Marriott Platinum status.

The Positives: Great condition of lobby areas, nice breakfast service area, location great and free parking at the hotel (vs. going to the public garages adjacent to other hotels in the area). Could park in front of room ("east wing" - older apartments). Turns out the hallways and stairwells were in such good conditions that it would be comfortable accessing rooms without elevator use. Workout and pool area was very modern and clean, even though typically small. Front desk friendly and helpful.

NotSoMuch: As highlighted elsewhere, these are older apartments; not clear from pictures, but it seems like the "west wing" or tower rooms may be furnished more nicely. Toilet leaked. Bathroom terribly small - difficult to sit on the john and get door closed. East wing rooms (with a little research) were 100 sqft smaller and lacked adequate space to place a rollaway if you are also using the pullout couch. Pullout couch cushions were completely flat and uncomfortable to sit on. Rollaway quality was so poor (noisy) went to Wal-mart and bought an air-mattress. Exterior door was so poorly maintained that cold air poured right in. Kitchen was barely equipped with glass/silverware for 4, but only a 1-qt sauce pan (nothing bigger, no fry pan, no baking sheets). Reported to front desk, "lots of people take them" (really?? - for these rates u can't replace them?). Linens - particularly those supplied for the rollaway and couch - were threadbare, worn, and poor quality, particularly compared to the Marriott I just stayed at or any SPG property. There literally was a six-inch gash one of the blankets supplied. Gas grill was caked with grime.

Bottom line; you can make this work, and this location is fabulous if you'd like to have a family gathering in the country club area. To do so, strongly suggest you bring your own comforters/linens, air mattress, cooking utensils and food (the SunFresh market nearby is dreadful and highly expensive). Obviously, practical only if you're driving.

Me, I'm going to continue looking for the ideal place in the area; going to try the Intercontinental next time.

Room Tip: East Wing has outside access. West wing likely better condition. Avoid 3rd floor in West as noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve N, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. As an extended stay hotel we do a high volume of long term stays which makes it difficult to access occupied rooms for repairs. Programs are in place now that we are in slower times to access and perform maintenance and inventories to bring the east wing which houses a majority of our long term stay up to par. Dealing with a historic building is a challenge but we are focused on upkeep. Daily inspections are done by the managers and items are addressed as quickly as possible with enthusiasm. Its a challenge and we are all up for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As part of our Christmas, our family decided to book a room at the Residence Inn on the plaza. We enjoy staying at Residence Inn hotels and have always had good experiences and enjoyed the stay. The lobby and main tower building are attractive buildings and appeared well kept. When I made the reservation online, I noticed we had an outside entrance. What I wasn't aware of, was that we would be in an adjacaent building that had been renovated from a previous apartment building. For starters, the key had to be scanned multiple times before the door opened. Once the door was open, a staircase led us up to two rooms. Our room was on the left and another tenant was to the right. We have an 18 month old so we packed her and all our luggage up those stairs.....no elevator. We had requested a crib (pack n play) and once we were inside a young man brought it to our room. My husband started putting the pack in play together and it was broke. We didn't request another because when checking in they weren't sure they even had any left but thought there might be "one". We had requested a crib when making our reservation but understand they are not guaranteed. Other issues with the room included a vent in the bathroom hanging down by 1 screw, doors on bedroom closet were not on tracks, a drawer in the desk was hanging and I think the only thing holding it up was the chair pushed underneath, the furniture was quite worn and as far as the mattress goes....well it was worn out.. My daughter was wearing new white socks and in no time at all they were no longer white from crawling around on the floor. Not long after we arrived to our room I tried calling guest services as well as the front desk....no one answered our calls. We went ahead and left the room to visit the plaza which is within walking distance. This was the best thing about the hotel. When we came back to our room, I called the front desk again and asked about room change. My husband did not want to change rooms but I did. I did not want to stay in this room. I didn't have to coax my husband in to moving as the young lady told us she did not have any rooms to move us to. Perhaps the icing on the cake was the next morning when my husband was washing up our daughters cups in the sink and it would not drain. We complained to management when checking out. He was apologetic and gave us a discount on the room. Unfortunately, the money isn't the issue. We as most families lead busy lives and had adjusted our schedules to get away for a couple of days as a family. The time you don't get back. We will NEVER stay here again. The manager asked about switching rooms and told us he didn't know why we weren't switched because there were other rooms available....which was not what we were told when we contacted front desk.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the adjacent apartment building that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve N, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
The room you occupied was recently inspected, however the issues you noted were not reported to the engineering department as is policy. The East wing rooms are frequently requested due to the size of the rooms and the easy access. Not having an elevator does create a hardship, especially for those with a lot of luggage. Scott reported the incident to me and dealt with the issues immediately after your departure. As you noted, the staff here isvery concerned about our guests, but some things fall through the cracks. We welcome you back and feel free to contact Scott or myself if we may be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We checked into this hotel after immediately checking out of another hotel with similar rating...highly recommend this one! Very clean and we got a two bedroom suite with a full kitchen, living room, two bathrooms, and fireplace! This was great for a family! Staff was very pleasant and breakfast buffet was very good. Highly recommend!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

On December 6, my husband and I stayed at this Residence Inn and we were very disappointed. We had stayed there a couple of years before and had a really nice room, so I was looking forward to visiting again. However, I was really disappointed. It seems Marriott bought some old apartment buildings in the surrounding neighborhood to convert to Residence Inn rooms. The building we were in had six "apartments" that had been converted to rooms. The first problem was when we walked in, there was a horrible odor, and the carpet was gross. Then, because our room was on the third floor, we had to carry our luggage up all the stairs to get there. (There were no ramps or elevators.) When we opened the door to our room, we flipped the light switch but nothing happened. It turns out you had to fumble your way around in the dark until you found a lamp to turn on because the light switches at the door and the bedroom don't seem to control anything.

We had trouble locating trash cans. There were two--one under the sink in the bathroom and one under the sink in the kitchen. Not a huge deal, but it seems like they are easier to find in other Marriotts we've stayed at before. Also, the bathroom was TINY. You practically had to step in the tub to close the door to the area where the shower and toilet were, and only one person at a time could get ready at the sink area. It was even difficult for two people to try to stand there. Oh--and there was mold or mildew or something on the caulk in the bathtub. Gross.

In the bedroom, one of the closet doors was off its track. Looked tacky and made it hard to use.

We are part of the Marriott rewards program, so we have stayed at quite a few Marriott properties around the world. This is only the second bad one we've had. The worst was a really dirty Fairfield Inn in Gainesville, Florida. Almost any other Marriott we've ever stayed in has been really, really nice. Rarely are either of us this disappointed. And the service at all Marriott properties (including this one) has always been outstanding. They have great employees. However, because of the condition of this property, we will think twice when we have the option of staying at this one again.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in before was in a building to the west of the lobby and it was nicer. Avoid room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve N, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
I agree that the rooms in the East wing are rather unique, however it is historical building and many people prefer those rooms and request them often. I am glad the staff was accomodating and wish that your stay was as pleasant as before. On you next visit I suggest you request a room in the tower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Probably would have given it a better rating if A: you didnt have to have your shower in by 8:30 a.m. in order to have hot water and B: the room would have been cleaner. Called about the water heater he said it would take about 15 minutes to recover. We opened the top drawer of the dresser and found a sanitary napkin in it. NOT the way we wanted to start are stay. Found a housekeeper in the hallway and he removed it for us. Breakfast was typical for a hotel hot breakfast. Location was perfect for Country Club Plaza shoping and parking was free. Granted it was a very busy weekend for the area. Did not utilize the pool area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The location and rooms of this hotel are ideal for taking a family to KC. It is in walking distance to the Plaza and the Art Museum (which also has a big scuplture park and lots to explore for small kids). And the suites have seperate bedrooms and gallary kitchens. The layout is a little different if you are acustomed to Residence inns, but I liked it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4601 Broadway Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64112
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.