We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compliment for Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9550 NW Polo Drive, Intersection I-29 Tiffany Springs Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Peachtree City, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Compliment for Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for a week due to business. What a great staff starting with the General Manager-Daniel Fulani and Muktar Ahmed. Both employees were very friendly, professional and accommodating! The hotel is located not too far from a couple of shopping centers for shopping, dining, and/or taking in a movie. The shuttle drivers are friendly and will take you to some of these locations.

The hotel was clean and fresh! It was a great place to stay and I would stay there again when I visit MCI!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    32
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
13
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We often spend the night near the airport when we have an early flight, and have experimented with a number of different brands. There are many more expensive, but few much nicer than this hotel. I know it's not a Ritz Carlton, but it also isn't pretending to be one. It's just a good value place with large, comfortable rooms, and a pretty decent breakfast. They also charge not that much extra to let you park there for a week, and to take and pick you up at the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for the compliments!

There are many hotels to choose from around the Kansas City Airport; we are glad that you allowed us the opportunity to serve you.

We do hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Security and staff at the Kansas City location dull the Holiday Inn Express brand name. Yes, it has contemporary decor, it is clean, and the location isn't bad, especially for thieves. Our car and 5 others were broken into during our first night's stay. Bad things happen, but here it happens more often. The next week, same night, 11 more cars are broken into. No apologies from the staff, no warnings to incoming guests. The staff is inattentive. Worst of all they took no measures to prevent it. When the hotel is full, there is not enough parking spaces for all of the vehicles. I have more personal opinions of how this happened, but won't express them here.

The management does not take security of their guests seriously. Our first room's manual locking mechanism didn't work. Another guest I spoke to said he had to lift up on his door handle in order to make his lock work (second hand information). The hotel is trendy and accessible to the airport, but guests beware.

Less important, there were two days we didn't get the room cleaned and/or fresh towels. Finally, I am surprised that nobody commented on the noise level from the rooms above. I am sure we were just as loud as the people "running" and dropping things on the floor between 11 and 1 o'clock in the morning above us.

Room Tip: You can pay more for a suite, but all you really get is more sitting room with a trendy plastic couc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello Matthew,

We would like to apologize about the situations that transpired during your stay with us.

Unfortunately we were not the only hotel targeted during this same time; however we have now taken a proactive approach by having security in place to deter situations like this from happening in the future.

Thank you for your honest feedback, we do apologize for not being able to meet your expectations during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

This property is excellent! Very clean and well maintained. One of the best motel I have visited. The breakfast area is also large and very clean. The breakfast was fresh and had something for the whole family to eat. The staff was very pleasant and eager to accommodate any request. I have to say this is a must stay hotel if you are traveling thru or visiting KC Missouri...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Shawn,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Kansas City. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My experience didn't start well. After calling the hotel for a pickup at the airport by their shuttle, I had to wait more than 35 minutes and make 3 phone calls, when the hotel is less than 10 minutes away ! Excuses of traffic, technical problems, other drop off's, all seemed to be provided after having been promised it should be about 15 minutes.

Check in was reasonably efficient.

It was 9.30pm and there was no restaurants near by, within walking distance, for dinner. I asked at reception for a list of places that delivered and was advised there would be one in the room. There was NOT !

The wifi is much slower than 'normal'. I was using it late at night and early in the morning, so I don't believe it was a case of many people being online, it was just slow.

Also, be prepared for one of the most exhaustive list of taxes to be added to your bill. I know this is not the hotels fault but after adding; Convention & Tourism tax, Platte County Transient Tax, Arena Fee, Energy Surcharge & Sales tax, my 123.99 rate became a bill of close to $150 !!! Taxes greater than 20% !!!!!

The room is the highlight. Clean, very comfortable bed, good TV service/quality/channels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Brit,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip.

We would like to apologize for the lack of service provided to you, both during your pickup from the airport, as well as when you made an inquiry for dinner options.

We will use all this information to help better train our staff.

We do hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here for 4th of july to visit daughter and family. Very comfortable room and bed. Love green energy feature!

I stay at ihg hotels mostly for work. This one is tops for price. Would stay here again.

Thanks!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This property is excellent! Very clean (like new), and modern. One of the, if not the, best Holiday Inn Express' we've stayed at by comparison. The breakfast area is also large and accommodating. Easy access off the highway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Address: 9550 NW Polo Drive, Intersection I-29 Tiffany Springs Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.