We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One little thing....the temperature!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9550 NW Polo Drive, Intersection I-29 Tiffany Springs Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Killeen, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One little thing....the temperature!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Ok, I am partial to HIE/IC hotel brands so when I saw this reasonably priced hotel in KC along with the good ratings, we selected this location. YES, as previous guests mentioned, the hotel's decor is georgeous and has a very unique style/design that I have not seen at any other location. I especially liked the modern room decor. That being said, I am going to move past the "pretty" part of the review. This is a new hotel so as you would expect, it is very clean.

PROS-nice decor, new hotel, very clean, near airport (if you need that), quiet location, ac works well, comfy bed, cool Priority Club members wheel, reasonable price.

CONS-Big paragraph below...

I really only have one negative thing to say about this hotel and it is more for management about the design of the air conditioner location but might affect traveler's opinions if air blowing on you while you sleep is a problem. In a typical hotel room you either have a central air setup or some type of window unit, this room had central air...but the vent placement was awkward and quite frankly gave us a miserable night's sleep. The vent is higher up on the wall and aimed at the window. So when the fan (heat or ac) is on, it causes the curtains to blow around. Not a big deal, but a HUGE chunk of the air blows directly on the person's pillow who sleeps on the left side of the bed!! We prefer to keep our room cool at night (70ish) so the ac was running for quite awhile to cool the room down. During these few hours I was sitting on the bed and could not handle that crazy strong cold air blowing on me....and I love a cold room! I decided to shut off the ac to avoid the problem, but the room grew warm quickly. So, the options to keep the room at 70 degrees was to have cold air blow on my face when I was in bed, or keep the room at a higher temperature we might not have been comfortable sleeping at. Whoever thought up the placement of that vent apparently didn't think the logistics out too well. It didn't help there are metal covers over the fan area on the wall that rattled a bit when every time the fan came on (new hotel issue maybe?). I guess what I am trying to say is if you don't want cold air blowing on your face and you sleep on the left side of the bed, then you might want to rethink this as the vents are not adjustable to rotate the air direction. I tried to sleep with the covers over my face from getting that artic ac blast but you shouldn't have to sleep like that you know? Never seen this before at a HIE, but then again, everything about this location was a bit unique. I would give this hotel 5 stars otherwise, but I can't pretend that wasn't a big issue for us getting a great night's rest there.

About location-If you are going to KC to sightsee and go to some tourist things downtown, or south of downtown, this is probably not the location for you. If you are needing a location close to the airport, then it would be ideal....but 15-2 minutes out of the way for our sightseeing things in town. We didn't know enough about the layout of KC when we arrived so this was our error in booking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear DownhereinTX,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your concerns about the hotel. We appreciate you telling us about yoru thoughts about the ac in your room. We are very sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. Guest feedback is very important to us. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    23
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
8
1
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was the nicest Holiday Inn Express I've ever stayed at! The decorating was great (halls, lobby, rooms). It was very very clean, and the staff was great at giving directions for restaurants, etc. They have a shuttle to the airport. I had to leave before the breakfast buffet was set out, so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Roadtripper 10,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate all guest feedback.. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass all of your comments on to the staff. They will appreciate hearing they are doing a good job. Thank you for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

When traveling we usually stay at either Homewood Suites, or HIX properties. Stayed at the Homewood suites across the way 2 weeks ago, and hated it, didn't know this HIX existed until we got to the area, because it is new. So when I saw it, I had to check it out on our next visit to KC. We stayed here for 2 nights, and absolutely loved it. Everything was clean, and fresh. The decor is that of an upscale hotel, so you don't feel like you're staying at a HIX. The staff was very friendly, and welcoming, and helpful when needed. We will definitely be staying here again, we have found our go to hotel in KC!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear vacationNiki,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you during your business trip. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We appreciate all guest feedback. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this HIX for the Nascar race weekend. It's easy to get on the highway and get to the track but yet you don't pay the premium price for race weekend. We were excited to stay here because it is brand new. First impression of the lobby, "cool". Very neat, upscale decor, didn't feel like a HIX. We arrived around 8:30 p.m., checked in, dropped off our bags and went to dinner. When we got our keys, he said put the key in the slot when you open the door, that will control your lights. OK. So we put the key in the slot, checked everything out and then I took the key out and put it in my pocket. In a few moments we were in the dark, lights out! Oops, I guess we are supposed to leave the key in the slot while we're in the room:) We learned.
There was no refrigerator in our room although it looked like it should have had one and usually the rooms do.
We noticed that when we crawled into bed, the bed didn't seem like the typical HIX bed. It wasn't as thick and cushy as normal. A little disappointed in that.
And the room was not sound proof. I had asked for a top floor room and we were on the 3rd floor of 4. Could hear people upstairs and just in general in the hall. Almost like they forgot to put the insulation in the walls:)
Breakfast is advertised to start at 7 a.m. Well, when you attend a Nascar race you get up and get going early to get to the track. Saturday wasn't a problem because we headed out later but Sunday you like to get out early. I called and asked if they would have food out before 7 for the race people. He didn't know but said that there should be somethings out. Well, he was right, breakfast was on before 7 a.m. Thank you! Something to keep in mind for the future but I would think you should standardize your times with other HIX hotels. 6 a.m. is the usual I believe.
We didn't use the pool so I can't comment on that but the exercise room looked nice.
Overall, it was good quality for the money. It's ultra modern decor made it seem like a more expensive hotel. A few disappointments but overall good. Probably will stay there again but will make sure I'm on the 4th floor!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room if you want to sleep. Rooms tend to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Missylu6,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate your very detailed review about the hotel. Thank you for all of your feedback. We are deeply sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused. We apreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronado
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The words "cool" and "unique" generally don't pair with HIX and airport hotels. HIX gives great value for money, but they are generally plain. This one is plain on the outside but WOW ! on the inside. Think IKEA meets Asian Fusion. The lobby and breakfast room showcase unique furniture, flooring and wall materials, light fixtures and lamps, books, paintings, mirrors, objets d'art, framed photography, yikes ! Colors and shine--chartreuse, sparkle, silver, patterns, blues. Fresh flowers in cool vases. The rooms are equally unique and stylish, with attention to detail--pillowcases embroidered with "soft" and "firm." A huge blue ottoman with a silver alligator top, and a comfy chair with a laptop holder. A lot of hotels have large screen TVs with lousy reception, but the picture on this one was gorgeous. Supermod light fixtures in the room and bathroom, great colors on the walls--blue, chartreuse, mustard, it all works. Toto toilets !!!! Details. TWO soap holders in the bath/shower unit, one for the shower and one for the bath. Smoke detector and sprinkler placed where they don't glare or flash at you when you are in bed.

Free parking, free wi-fi in the rooms, free breakfast, a very helpful and nice staff.


Plus, there is a free shuttle to take guests to the nearby Zona Rosa for shopping and restaurants, in addition to the usual airport shuttle.

Room Tip: Although this is a new building with good windows it is not entirely soundproof, so we did get some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear CoronadoCarol,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We are so happy that you were impressed with the hotel. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you enjoyed your visit to the area. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is just a month old and they seem to have done everything right. The rooms are clean and very modern; the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is located just a few miles from Kansas City Airport (MCI) and they provide shuttle service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear schmackdaddy_1,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We are so glad we could accommodate you during your business trip. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We appreciate all of your feedback. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Their pool is great, the lobby is upscale, the work out room has good equipment and very well kept. Most of all, the service was impeccable. Every staff member made you feel special from the shuttle driver to the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear ValerieS33,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are glad that we could accommodate you, and your family. We hope you enjoyed your time in Kansas City. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Address: 9550 NW Polo Drive, Intersection I-29 Tiffany Springs Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.