We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restoration of this building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kansas City Public Library

Kansas City Public Library
14 West 10th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
816.701.3400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 176 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic restoration of this building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Come for the architecture, the events, and of course, the collection! Try to catch one of the movies on the rooftop in their summer series. Get on their mailing list for great events and expand your knowledge and thinking!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    17
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Neat Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I didn't have time to do all I hoped on my last visit and one thing I missed was this library. But I passed it a couple of times and was pleased by a couple of features. For one thing some of the steps are in the shape of the spines of books. Nice touch. Also there was a Civil War exhibit on display with the cleverest title ever...Guerillas in Our Midst.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Star gazing Exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

If you are downtown Kansas City, this is a place to visit. It is free and there are some very interesting exhibits. The Stargazing exhibit was interesting. I don't have the name of the exhibit but it was about Missouri, before during and after the civil war. Very interesting. Couldn't find it listed so perhaps the exhibit ended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very cool location and building was neat. The people inside were from all walks of life. Quite a strange atmosphere inside but again worth a stop especially if you like books!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, Bucks, England
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Look at the outside of the Library's Multi-storey Car Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We came to this part of Doentown - not to see the library itself - but the outside of the neighbouring multi storey car park ... a block of books... great way to disguise an other wise ugly building.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kansas City Public Library also viewed

 

Been to Kansas City Public Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kansas City Public Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.