We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing venue to enjoy a rock concert (Ian Anderson)!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts

Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts
1601 Broadway, Kansas City, MO 64108
816 994-7200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 82 Attractions in Kansas City
Attraction details
Leavenworth, Kansas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“What an amazing venue to enjoy a rock concert (Ian Anderson)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Took my son to see Ian Anderson's Thick as a Brick Parts 1 and 2 this past Saturday night at the Kauffman Center. What an amazing and incredible place to enjoy a rock concert! The staff are so friendly and informative, to include the bar staff. The seats are comfortable, the views are clear from almost every seat in the house, and sound is simply fantastic!! And during intermission, to be able to stand on the balconies and enjoy the wonderful views of southern downtown Kansas City really completes the experience. I look forward to more great concerts -- of any music genre -- at the Kauffman Center!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    38
    9
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Impressive New Addition in KC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I took a group of sixth grade students to see a special, educational-focused, orchestral performance this fall. We all really enjoyed the experience. The architecture is impressive both inside and out and it was built for the best sound experience possible. I hope to return with my family sometime soon! A new must-see in Kansas City!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Building!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The Kauffman Center is an absolutely beautiful building that has added so much character to the KC skyline. I have been to the ballet and the symphony in this building and there is no such thing as a bad seat and the acoustics are wonderful. Parking had always been easy and convenient and it is close to several great hotels and restaurants in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Oh my, am I really in Kansas City, MO???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I've been around the world and have seen fine arts events on several continents...this venue is in the top 4.

Hard to believe, but I've had the pleasue to speak with some world class performers and they are amazed at this place. One asked me, "Did I really see cow on final airplane approach?" Not bad for a "cowtown."

Find a performance that you enjoy at the Performing Arts Center and....
ENJOY!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Kansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stunning architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts is fantastic, starting on the outside with the beauty of the building. The theatre is small enough to feel intimate, but still can hold quite a crowd.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.