We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   770 Admiral Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #48 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! My main complaint with the hotel was not enough parking. The parking lot is not large enough to accommodate for the number of guests in the hotel. I came back late from a wedding reception and had to park across the street and walk in the dark carrying my infant son. The breakfast was alright. Would like to have had some bacon :) good location because it is easy to get on and off main highways and was close to everything we were there for, although the neighborhood is a little scary at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear. Jennakaye

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding our property. I understand your feelings on the parking situation. The ownership has honestly been doing everything in their power to try and make the parking more manageable. We purchased the lot on the corner to help with over flow. I am sorry that you had to walk across with an infant, we are working on getting more lighting put up over at the other lot, to try and make guests feel safer. Just like any change it will take time to get all the glitches figured out completely.

Have a great 4th of July
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    60
    26
    10
    16
See reviews for
30
45
10
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Expectations met but don't arrive hungry late at night because there are no places around for a quick bit to eat. We ended up ordering pizza at the suggestion of the hotel clerk and called Sarpinos (816.931.8600) and it was FANTASTICLY delicious and the frustration of driving around looking for a place to eat was quickly forgotten.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Lily P

Thank you for your review regarding Comfort Inn & Suites. Sapinos is def. a great place to eat. There are alot of places to eat near our hotel within a mile down the road, some closer. We are located near P&L and crown center where there is a variety of restaurants. As we also have delivery menus in our lobby. I hope that next time you come to KC you choose to stay with us as well, and possibly try some famous BBQ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is clean, rooms are nice, flat screen t.v., comfortable beds, although the pillows are too soft. The pool and hot tub are nice and the breakfast is one of the better ones with a big choice of foods to eat. But, the Internet connection was extremely slow. My biggest complaint is that we requested a late check out since their check out time is 11 am and our airplane wasn't leaving until 4:15. I asked for 1:30 check out and they refused and would only give us noon. I note that the cleaning women were still doing rooms way down the hall and I think they didn't have to chase us out so quickly. We really had nothing to do from noon until 2:30 when we had to return our rental car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Torontojudy

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor regarding Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown. We appreciate everyones feed back regarding our Facility. I am sorry about the inconvenience on the late check out and the WIFI signal. Unfortunately I am unable to look up your reservation, so I am unable to give a adequate reason on why you did not receive a late check out. I know on weekends especially on Saturdays we are almost always sold out, so we do have to give housekeepers plenty of time to get all rooms clean by 2p, one way to assure a late check out is by signing up for Choice Privileges. We do hope to see you again on your next trip to KC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Parking is a disaster!!! Very little parking available. NO SIGNS to direct us to another parking lot, which ended up being across the street and appears to be private parking for other buildings. There was no way to know that until you have already been driving around for 20 minutes in the dark and gave up to ask the staff who told us to park across the street when full. The dark parking lot across the street was a horrible and unsafe place to have to leave your car and drag your children through. Homeless men camped out in the lot as well. We ended up parking between two huge garbage freights. ALSO YOU MUST HAVE A PARKING TAG OR YOU WILL BE TOWED!!!! This place is disgusting. Beds were worn down and sunken into a thin lumpy U-shape. Floors are so dirty your feet turn black.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear KrystalH

I am sorry you were displeased with your stay, we pride our selves on guests having a great experience while staying with us. On our busier nights parking can be a issue, which is why we purchased the lot on the corner to help with overflow. There are signs located at entrance and at front counter, informing where to park if hotel is full. We want to make sure every guests has a area to leave their vehicle.The hotel has been going through alot of renovations, all new bathrooms being put in, we have had Cintas come in and shampoo carpets with construstion things do tend to get a little dirtier. I did send maintenance to the room that you and your family stayed in to check the mattresses. Thank you for leaving a response and we hope you can give us a chance to make this better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you can afford a better place to stay when coming to KC - please do! I was looking forward to being downtown and walking where I wanted to go - not from THIS place! The best part of the whole place - free parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear KcKansas

I am sorry you did not feel safe at our property. We do take people saftely very serious here. I myself since I have been here, there has not been anything dangerous. I have also spoken with members of the team that have been here years, and they have said the same. I hope there is something I can do to make this right to you. Please feel free to contact me directly

Cecily Lara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
420 reviews 420 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I love this hotel, it's always clean with nice folks working there and my business is always close to this location. My room was the best I've had there, a choice corner room with a window on each side. Right at the end of the hallway by the stairs, it was the perfect location for running out to get something to eat or running down for breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, it's a great one here: scrambled eggs, sausages, hard boiled eggs, waffles, packets of oatmeal; anything you'd want or need in the way of breakfast. I think they even had biscuits and gravy if a person wanted that for breakfast. Parking is semi-secure with a fence around the whole property, and there's a great pool and workout room inside for staying in shape on the road. This is my go-to hotel in Kansas City, there's not a thing I don't like about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Scottyg7777

Thank you so much for the review, we are always glad to see these comments on both Tripadvisor and through Choice. Hope to see you again soon!


Cecily Lara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, KS
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Anyone who travels at all knows what I'm talking about. It appears to me that it's happening at this hotel. It was warm out, mid 80's. The doors to the lobby were open and it was very warm in the lobby. The halls had no air conditioning on and were hot and stuffy. The a/c in the room didn't work well at all. Had it set on 62, probably never got to 72 and would quit running every so often. We had a gathering in their meeting room and it was hot it was uncomfortable. The vending machines were out of the selection that you wanted. Looks like the place is just barely keeping the doors open, I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Hotel Syndrome

I apologize about the experience you had at our Facility. The management property has purchased new AC units for the rooms. There is Ac in the lobby, but unfortunately with the hallway doors being closed it does not cool the stairways off like it should. I myself will mention that to the Management Company. I am deeply sorry you had a bad experience. I do not like having guests leave with a "sour taste" about our property. Please feel free to contact me directly, so I can make this right.

Cecily Lara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
Pets Allowed, M...
Show More
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Bar/Lounge, Roo...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#53 of 110 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Parking, I...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Hotel Savoy Bed and Breakfast
Hotel Savoy Bed and Breakfast
#55 of 110 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Fitness center...
Show More
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Address: 770 Admiral Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown Kansas City, Missouri, the Comfort Inn & Suites is a three diamond rated property located one half mile from the Sprint Center, Power & Light District, Convention Center, Kauffman Performing Arts, Midland Theater and the City River Market. Our spacious guestrooms come equipped with a micro-fridge, in-room coffee, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safes and voicemail. We provide a complimentary Full Hot Breakfast each morning, Free Parking, Free Local Calls, Free USA Today Newspapers and Free Wi-Fi. The Comfort Inn & Suites has 2 fitness centers, business center, guest laundry, in-door pool and meeting facilities.Our highly professional, multi-lingual staff prides themselves in making your stay with us a memorable experience. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Comfort Inn Kansas City
Comfort Inn Downtown
Kansas City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.