We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   770 Admiral Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #51 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
452 reviews 452 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I love this hotel, it's always clean with nice folks working there and my business is always close to this location. My room was the best I've had there, a choice corner room with a window on each side. Right at the end of the hallway by the stairs, it was the perfect location for running out to get something to eat or running down for breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, it's a great one here: scrambled eggs, sausages, hard boiled eggs, waffles, packets of oatmeal; anything you'd want or need in the way of breakfast. I think they even had biscuits and gravy if a person wanted that for breakfast. Parking is semi-secure with a fence around the whole property, and there's a great pool and workout room inside for staying in shape on the road. This is my go-to hotel in Kansas City, there's not a thing I don't like about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Scottyg7777

Thank you so much for the review, we are always glad to see these comments on both Tripadvisor and through Choice. Hope to see you again soon!


Cecily Lara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    61
    27
    10
    17
See reviews for
31
45
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, KS
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Anyone who travels at all knows what I'm talking about. It appears to me that it's happening at this hotel. It was warm out, mid 80's. The doors to the lobby were open and it was very warm in the lobby. The halls had no air conditioning on and were hot and stuffy. The a/c in the room didn't work well at all. Had it set on 62, probably never got to 72 and would quit running every so often. We had a gathering in their meeting room and it was hot it was uncomfortable. The vending machines were out of the selection that you wanted. Looks like the place is just barely keeping the doors open, I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Hotel Syndrome

I apologize about the experience you had at our Facility. The management property has purchased new AC units for the rooms. There is Ac in the lobby, but unfortunately with the hallway doors being closed it does not cool the stairways off like it should. I myself will mention that to the Management Company. I am deeply sorry you had a bad experience. I do not like having guests leave with a "sour taste" about our property. Please feel free to contact me directly, so I can make this right.

Cecily Lara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is THE place to stay if you are planning to party at the Power and Light District (we weren't). We were in town to visit our daughter who lives in the area. Picked this hotel due to location. Lots of bachelor/bachelorette parties. Taxis lined up to take people to and from the Power and Light. Heard the party goers when they returned at closing time, 3 AM. Thankfully, the rooms on either side of ours were on the quiet side.
Room was clean but a bit on the worn side. Outlet by the sink was loose and didn't work. Bed comfortable. Room temperature difficult to control. Breakfast below average. Parking was free but hard to come by

Room Tip: Better ask for a room on the top floor or you'll hear the people above you walking around the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for tellling us about your stay. We are definitely sorry you had problems with the noise during your stay. Unfortunately, there was a concert in town and we had alot of late night guests.

I hope you will return in the future so we can make your stay with us more enjoyable.

Blessings,

Vicki Whitford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stay this past weekend while in town to watch our niece bowl in the State Championship tournament. We got a great deal with our AAA discount and stayed in a jacuzzi suite. The suite was shockingly large and had two flat screens, the jacuzzi was bigger than we have seen at other hotels, and the bed was very comfortable, and the room was very clean. The staff was very friendly, and were able to accommodate all our needs and answer all our questions. We had breakfast 1 morning and it was pretty good. It had all your standard cereals and pastries, as well as waffle makers, eggs, sausage, and biscuits and gravy. The only draw back is the small parking lot. They ran out of parking and some people had to park on the street. It is on their website that they have FREE parking. Will definitely stay again when we are in town. This location is great if you want to be in downtown. You are minutes away from everthing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
My goodness we certainly appreciate your kind words about your recent stay here at the Comfort Inn & Suites! And we definitely are happy that you will stay with us again and look forward to your return!

Thank you,

Vicki Whitford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Madison, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for the NCAA tournament weekend. The rooms are clean and good size. Even with the challenge a major snow storm, the staff remained calm under the challenge. Would definitely stay again.
About a 20 minute walk to the Power and Light District.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I hope your team won during the Big 12 Competition! We do so much appreciate the kind words you have given us and hope you will return in the future. We are presently updating all of our bathrooms with new tile, tub and granite tub enclosures. Also new this year will be an updated bedding package which we hope everyone enjoys.

Thank You Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I found the hotel to be clean and the staff very friendly. The rooms were average size. Just be aware that there is not much else around this area of town. Can not comment on the breakfast, because it was not ready at the time that I had to check out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear CBR0107,

Hello there! Thank you for your review of our hotel and the cleanliness of your room. We pride ourselves in our guests comments and appreciate any words you have for us to improve.

I am sorry you were not here to enjoy our Hot Breakfast! There are many items to choose from including eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, muffins, bagels and cream cheese, yogurt and many other items.

I hope you will have a return in the future! Thank you for staying with us.

Best Regards,

Vicki Whiford
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised at this experience. We booked a room here the day before a trip to KC on short notice. A standard room ran $110, but from the website we used, we got a room for $90 (plus tax the total came to about $105). We knew this was a chain budget hotel, and that was all we needed or wanted – a clean bed and quiet place to stay for a night.

The location was excellent and easy to find. It is on the northeast fringe of downtown KC, a little far to walk (maybe 20 minutes?), but still doable. A 5 minute drive will take you into the heart of downtown or to the nearby farmer’s river market on the weekends.

I would note that there didn’t seem to be any restaurants or convenience stores nearby. Again, maybe a 15-20 minute walk would find you some nearby amenities.

The room was basic, but spotlessly clean. There was a little wear and tear, but nothing noticeable. Free wifi, free basic breakfast (the usual – fruit, cereal, waffles, etc), free parking. The bathroom was very clean.

I would definitely recommend this place for future stays. The quality of the experience was as good as any other major budget chain (Holiday Inn Express, Hampton Inn, etc), but the close location to downtown, at budget prices, make it a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWhitford, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear TLAM99,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your recent stay with us! We truly appreciate your comments.

I wanted to make you aware of a couple things for a future visit. There is a convenience store very close to us by the name of Grand Slam which is located on the street directly behind us and is within walking distance. Also available for the closest restaurant is a neighborhood Italian favorite by the name of Anthonys. This also is just around the corner from us and a great restaurant.

I hope you will stay with us again in the future! We are presently updating our bathrooms with new tile, tubs and granite enclosures. They look beautiful!

Sincerely,

Vicki Whitford
DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Address: 770 Admiral Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#36 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of downtown Kansas City, Missouri, the Comfort Inn & Suites is a three diamond rated property located one half mile from the Sprint Center, Power & Light District, Convention Center, Kauffman Performing Arts, Midland Theater and the City River Market. Our spacious guestrooms come equipped with a micro-fridge, in-room coffee, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safes and voicemail. We provide a complimentary Full Hot Breakfast each morning, Free Parking, Free Local Calls, Free USA Today Newspapers and Free Wi-Fi. The Comfort Inn & Suites has 2 fitness centers, business center, guest laundry, in-door pool and meeting facilities.Our highly professional, multi-lingual staff prides themselves in making your stay with us a memorable experience. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Kansas City
Comfort Inn Downtown
Kansas City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.