We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice...very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City to your Saves list
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 North Ameristar Drive, Kansas City, MO 64161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yukon, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice...very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

We found the hotel itself a very nice and enjoyable experience. They were remodeling the front desk so it was a bit cramped at the temporary desk, but the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was immaculate and the bed sooooo comfortable. The only negative was perhaps the air conditioning had a litte trouble keeping up with the 100+ temps outside. The casino is another story....skip it.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    56
    26
    14
    15
See reviews for
36
74
14
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2005

My boyfriend and I came here with his parents to celebrate our 21st birthdays. We were originally planning to stay at Harrah's, but they lost our reservation. Ameristar was very accomidating to this. I had never been to a casino in the US before (I have been to a couple in the Caribbean), so I didn't really have much to compare it to, but we had a great time! I was constantly asked for my ID in the casino, which is okay because I know I look young, but it would have been better if they had some kind of set-up where they only check it once. Drinks were very cheap inside the casino. I thought the hotel was very nice, and I liked the big TV in our room. The only complaint is that a maintanence man repeatedly came to our door in the morning and knocked very loudly despite a do not disturb sign on the door. Apparently, an air conditioner had broken in a room nearby, but he didn't need to continue to come back. In the casinos I had been to before a dress code was enforced, but not here. We ate at a restaurant there, and it was very good, although pricey. I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield,mo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2005

We stayed at the Ameristar for the Chiefs Season Opener game. Actually we had first reserved at Harrah's, but since they "overbooked" (still not sure how you overbook 200 rooms, when you know you have 200 rooms) and were extremely rude, we took our business to the Ameristar and dont regret the choice. Jeff, at the front desk, was extremely kind, and took care of us, even giving us free valet parking. Our room was beautiful, and everything I expected and more for the price we paid. They have been doing alot of renovations to the place we were told, and it looked brand new. Rooms were very clean, and the guys had a blast with the dealers in the casino. We will deffinately stay there again, and I deffinately do not suggest Harrah's for anything more then the casino part. The way Harrah's handles business is a shame. Save the pain that Harrahs will deal to you, and indulge in the Ameristar, you wont regret it!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2004

As a frequent player at this casino, Most dealers are ok. But the other staff members are rude and unwilling to help you whe you need it. As an example I had just exited the casino room, when I realized I left my players card in a machine lesss than 100 feet away. Not only did they not let me go back to get it, they also REFUSED to get it for me. Keep in mind thier were FIVE staff members standing and talking and not do anything else. Thier response was to go and get another card, well the line of people in line was about fifty. I again politley asked to go and get my card with an escort, THEY AGAIN REFUSED. The next day I put in a phone call to help resolve this matter and the operator said ALL Mangers and security heads were busy. So she put me into thier voice mail. I left a message and have yet to recieve a return phone call.....I'M SURE HARRRAH'S AND THE ARGOSY WILL APPREIATE MY FUTURE BUISNESS!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2004

This hotel is way too expensive for what you get. My husband and I stayed just looking to spend a nice weekend away from home. The rooms have 70's decor and, while spacious, it is not worth what you pay. I've stayed at hotels for 25% of the cost that have been better decorated. We paid for a King mini suite and it was way over-priced. I would stay in a regular room but it would have to be less than half of the $242 I paid for the suite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2004

This was our first stay in a Hotel/Casino outside of Las Vegas, and I suppose my expectations were a little bit high going in. Our room was spacious enough but it absolutely REEKED of cat urine. We went down to the front desk to complain and we got nothing but poor service and snobby explanations. The girl at the front desk told us that it was impossible for the room to smell of cat urine because the don't allow pets. When we asked her if she considered that someone might have snuck a cat in, she didn't bother to answer and just sharply retorted, "Well, we have nothing else available for you". The next morning, we complained again to the Front Desk supervisor and she did apologize but was also rather snotty. On the upside, the Casino has a lot to offer. They have a variety of restaraunts ranging from fast food to upscale dining. They have a "Kid's Quest" activitiy center which offers hourly child care services so parents can gamble. My kids did have a WONDERFUL time. I recommend the Casino as long as you stay in a different motel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2004

i live far from the casino and like to stay there and gamble but the hotel room are very expensive for what you get.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Address: 3200 North Ameristar Drive, Kansas City, MO 64161
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#26 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City is a luxury hotel with 184 guestrooms. With 3,000 slot and video poker machines and 60 table games, this Kansas City casino is one of the biggest in the country. After exciting gaming action you may choose from nine appetizing dining options at this Kansas City hotel. The restaurants in Kansas City at Ameristar range from a sports-infused brew-pub to fine dining in an Old West inspired atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Kansas City
Ameristar Casino Kansas City Mo
Ameristar Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.