We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“docd” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Save Saved
You added Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 North Ameristar Drive, Kansas City, MO 64161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
raymore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“docd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Wife and I spent the evening . Had a very nice clean room with twin beds. Had an excellent dinner at the buffet. Hotel staff was very friendly and courteous. Upon our arrivel at the room my wife observed that there was no complimentary decaff coffee. Notified the front desk and within 5 minutes said coffee was delivered. Would strongly recommend this establishment for future visits.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I'm so glad you had a nice evening with your wife. Thank you for your recommendation and for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    42
    17
    13
    13
See reviews for
29
63
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edwards Mo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was the most fun night we have had in a long time.Totally enjoyed our selves except losing way to much. The restaurants are wonderful and the people are all friendly and make you feel good.The beds were very comfortable and we slept wonderful. You should really stay at least two nights.We plan on coming back often

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We're so glad you had a great time! Thanks for visiting and for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Made reservation for 2 rooms, free valet parking is nice. While checking in, found out that they decided to move one of my rooms, that I prepaid for. Then she informed me that all they had left was handicap rooms, smoking rooms or I could upgrade for a fee. I was told my reservations only get me a room maybe not the one I wanted. So, last minute change, I could not change hotels because everyone else was full. So, I had no choice but to PAY for a upgrade so I would be put into a smoking room! Got my car out of the free valet, and guess what? My GPS mount was on the floor broken into 2 pieces. When I left the car, it was suck on my windshield, now broken. They had no ideal how that happen! Now, my room, nice at first. After a few minutes, I smell smoke! This is a non smoking room, right. Is the smoke coming from below us? It could be. Then my neighbor, decided to play the TV until 1am. The doors that connect rooms don't do the job in keeping sound out. So, my experience at Ameristar is, you can't trust them, they break your stuff, rooms smell like smoke, you hear your neighbor, and they use "bait and switch" to get more out of you. And she made a comment about me using a 3rd party service to get my 2 rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit to our property. Guest service is extremely important to us and we apologize for your experience. We would like the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your stay with us. Please feel free to send your contact information and any details of your visit to AtYourServiceKC@ameristar.com and we will get in touch with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in May 2013. A few miles outside Kansas City but easy access I to the city. Valet parking or self park options. I prefer to self park and this was only 50 yards from the front door. Quick professional service at the desk. Stayed In a King Suite which was great. Large room with good bathroom space and second toilet as well as jacuzzi tub. Personally I found the bed was too soft, but that aside no complaint. Found the room clean and in in good condition. Casino was not that busy so no surprise that restaurants had hours that seemed limited, but still more than enough options. If you want a good room for decent value in the KC area this is worth a visit.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Their price is based on location, location, location. Other than that, they don't have much to offer. Service was sub par, had to wait numerous times at the bag check. Room smelled like the people the night before smoked marijuana all night long. And no fitness facility. I have a hard time staying at a '4 star' place playing almost $200/night and they don't offer a fitness facility.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Staff is always fun, friendly and helpful. I enjoy the hotel the food and always look forward to staying at the Kansas City Ameristar! I have stayed at other casino hotels in the KC area, but really prefer to stay at the Ameristar. We all wish to win when we gamble, but it doesn't
always happen, but that is why it is called "gambling"

Room Tip: Let the staff know what you are looking for in a room and they will do their best to get you what yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We appreciate your review, Marilyn! I'm so happy we're your favorite casino and that you look forward to visiting us. Thanks for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I received a coupon in the mail to redeem for a free night stay at the Ameristar Casino Hotel. Very easy to make the reservation and the check in process was quick and easy.

I was assigned to a standard room with 2 beds on the fifth floor. The fifth floor is not high enough to see over the casino building directly in front of the window, therefore there was nothing interesting to see outside the window. Can't complain much because the room was free. The bathroom was small but appeared to be very clean. The bedroom was unremarkable. The furniture looks in need of replacement, lots of scratches and blemishes. Mattress was comfortable and the flat screen television provided ample channel selections.

The casino experience was less than satisfactory. Several areas of the casino floor were closed in order to update some sort of system. Not really sure what was going on. The slot machines were extremely tight and I did not win anything the entire time I played. Not much fun playing the slots at Ameristar on this visit. Not much else to do here. No swimming pool or hot tub to relax in and no gym to get in a quick workout.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for sharing your review and for staying with us. We are currently finishing a casino floor system upgrade which will provide a more reliable and faster transfer of data using fiber optics. During the upgrade, some games are placed out of service, however the upgrade should be complete by next week and all games once again up for play.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Address: 3200 North Ameristar Drive, Kansas City, MO 64161
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#40 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City is a luxury hotel with 184 guestrooms. With 3,000 slot and video poker machines and 60 table games, this Kansas City casino is one of the biggest in the country. After exciting gaming action you may choose from nine appetizing dining options at this Kansas City hotel. The restaurants in Kansas City at Ameristar range from a sports-infused brew-pub to fine dining in an Old West inspired atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Kansas City
Ameristar Casino Kansas City Mo
Ameristar Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.