We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Ameristar in Kansas City treats you like family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 5 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 North Ameristar Drive, Kansas City, MO 64161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 111 hotels in Kansas City
1 review
“Wow Ameristar in Kansas City treats you like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancé came to Kansas City to get married we stay two nights at Ameristar and had the best time of our lives. We We love staying in the rooms like playing the action games on the floor and was crazy about all the food choices that was offered us at Ameristar in Kansas City Missouri thank you Ameristar for showing us a great time and being so nice to us. If I could I would tell everyone to come to Kansas City Ameristar don't even try the other casinos you get a better deal at Ameristar

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I'm glad you had such a great stay with us! We really appreciate your review and thank you so much for being our guest. We hope you can visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    39
    14
    10
    11
See reviews for
24
60
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Me and my husband decided to stay their for our one year wedding anniversary, May 14th 2012. When we went to check in, we told the lady at the desk that it was our anniversary. When we were done checking in before we left the counter, she said she left us a gift in our room. Well we started walking down the hallway and it didn't seem right, because we turned the corner to where our room was and there was only 3 doors i believe. We put the key in the door and opened it, and WOW! My eyes got huge and the jaw dropped! We were expecting a regular room but the girls at the desk upgraded our room to a king suite with whirlpool tub! LOVED IT!! She asked us if we wanted a later check out time but we never caught on to that. We will be staying there again in the very near future! Love Love Love it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I'm so glad you had a great wedding anniversary, Brenda! Thanks for choosing to celebrate it with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humansville, Missouri, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a top Casino and Holel in the Las Vegas type experience. It is well maintained and has very friendly staff. All the places to eat are exceptional and worth the price. Many choices. The rooms are all well decorated and clean. I have to have a handicapped assessable room and they are alway large and roomy with roll in showers. The Casino is large and has many slots that are changed monthly. Does not have a pool or fitness center.

Room Tip: Be sure to make reservations, this place fills up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for sharing your review, Richard! I'm glad you had a nice experience. Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had Family come in from out of town and they were all starving,so I said Ameristar has the best Buffet in town for the cost.So I took them there and they had a wonderful dinner and they decided to stay there a couple of nights.They enjoyed it so much and thought the staff there were great and took great care to make there stay outstanding.So now when ever they come they want to visit Ameristar all the time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
What a great story; thanks for sharing, Dennis! I'm glad your family enjoys visiting and we hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Took some friends from Florida & Missouri metro. Had a great time eating & drinking & playing the slots. The hotel was very comfortable, clean and very secured. The choices of restuarants during the weekend were exzcellent but some of them are not open during the week for breakfast or lunch, need to confirm before you head out there. Nice and clean Casino/Hotel and fun for kids if you will allow them to go to the Movie Theater with over 20 screens. If you don't want to drive to downtown, you can catch the 173 bus for $3.00 all day pass, and will drive you as far as Crown Center, Crossroads, Downtown to the Power and LIght District, even close drop off to the Sprint Center all for $3.00 pass on the metro 173. Schedule located outside the movie theatre but the hotel should have the schedules avaialbe to customers. I think all busineses located at this casino should have these schedules for folks who don't want to take a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for sharing your review and for visiting us! We value your feedback and I'll be sure to pass it along to our team members. The Falcon Bakery is now open every day for breakfast and lunch, so there are always food options available for every meal. We hope you can visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here from March 22 to 24, 2013 with a girlfriend for a girls weekend. We both flew in from different parts of the country. The hotel is 22 miles from the airport but was easy to get to. I just put the address into my GPS and away we went.

We pulled up to valet and a nice guy named Jason took care of us. He didn't take the bags out of the car or get us a cart for the bags but he was at least nice. Valet is free for hotel guests. I tipped him $5.

The hotel lobby is really nice but the lighting is so low. We noticed that all over the hotel. The lighting is low. There was no one waiting at check in so we walked right up. We had a pre paid reservation so all we needed was a credit card for incidentals and away we went. Janelle was the desk person and very sweet.

Down the hall to the elevators and up we went to the 11th floor room 1108. It's the room at the end of the hall near the stairs. The room was nice. See my pictures for details. Two queen beds, table with two chairs, big dresser with drawers, big flat screen TV, refrigerator, nice size closet. It was a nice room.

The bed was very comfortable. There were three pillows. Nice crisp white sheets. There was a phone between the beds and a phone in the bathroom. Not sure why there was a phone in the bathroom but there was. There was a clock radio with Ipod docking station but the docking station didn't work. The cable TV was adequate but there was a snowstorm in the area and it went out a few times. We had a view of the back parking lot and the train tracks. Trains came by often and if it was quiet, you could hear them but we used the white noise app on our phones to drown out any noise. The fridge was a good size. Plenty of counter space in the bathroom. The lighting was not very good though. The lights in the vanity area were good for mood but terrible for seeing yourself getting ready in the morning. There was a dimmer on one of the lights that was good for a night light. Internet was free. There was a coffee maker and those useless little packets of weak coffee and too few creamers and sugar packets. When will hotels wise up that people want better coffee?

We went to the Horizons Buffet for lunch on the day we left. It was really good and the price was right. $12.99 a person for brunch.

We stayed two nights and it was a nice and the price wasn't bad. I'd stay here again if in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for something facing the front of the hotel so you don't hear the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for visiting! We really appreciate your review and pictures; the details will really help us to improve for the future. Thanks for your patience during the snow storm. I'm glad you had two comfortable nights with us and enjoyed your meal at Horizons Buffet. We hope you can be our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were passing through KS on our way to Branson and wanted to stay at a casino hotel. There are no craps tables in MN, so we were looking forward to the casino after dinner. We met friends that lived there and had dinner at the buffet that we really enjoyed. There were plenty of choices of places to eat, but that way we had lots of options in one spot.
Front desk was fast and friendly and valet was quick, except so quick they tipped over our cooler in the back of our vehicle, but helped us wipe up the water.
Room was clean and comfortable, only issue I had was the light in the bathroom area with the sink and mirror. It was too dark for me in the evening as I was getting ready. There is a little magnifying mirror on the wall with a dim light, but that did not help at all.
I was concerned after I read one reviewer mention no coffee pot in the room, but there is coffee pot, and the wifi was included and was easy to get onto and fast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us and for sharing your review. I'm glad you had a nice stay and enjoyed your dinner at Horizons Buffet. We really value your feedback and do hope we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Kansas City
Ameristar Hotel
Ameristar Casino Kansas City Mo
Ameristar Kansas City
Address: 3200 North Ameristar Drive, Kansas City, MO 64161
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#20 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City is a luxury hotel with 184 guestrooms. With 3,000 slot and video poker machines and 60 table games, this Kansas City casino is one of the biggest in the country. After exciting gaming action you may choose from nine appetizing dining options at this Kansas City hotel. The restaurants in Kansas City at Ameristar range from a sports-infused brew-pub to fine dining in an Old West inspired atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City to your Saves list