We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Save Saved
You added Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 North Ameristar Drive, Kansas City, MO 64161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great overall experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were passing through KS on our way to Branson and wanted to stay at a casino hotel. There are no craps tables in MN, so we were looking forward to the casino after dinner. We met friends that lived there and had dinner at the buffet that we really enjoyed. There were plenty of choices of places to eat, but that way we had lots of options in one spot.
Front desk was fast and friendly and valet was quick, except so quick they tipped over our cooler in the back of our vehicle, but helped us wipe up the water.
Room was clean and comfortable, only issue I had was the light in the bathroom area with the sink and mirror. It was too dark for me in the evening as I was getting ready. There is a little magnifying mirror on the wall with a dim light, but that did not help at all.
I was concerned after I read one reviewer mention no coffee pot in the room, but there is coffee pot, and the wifi was included and was easy to get onto and fast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us and for sharing your review. I'm glad you had a nice stay and enjoyed your dinner at Horizons Buffet. We really value your feedback and do hope we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    39
    14
    10
    11
See reviews for
24
60
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I still paid $99 too much with a rate or $99 for the night. The room was supposed to have a view, and I suppose it did if you consider parking lot view a "view." The bed was so very, very uncomfortable - springs in it poking us! and it was so unbelievably noisy. The hotel staff was understaffed when everyone was checking in, which made them horribly grouchy and snappy. Didn't get a smile out of anyone the whole process. There weren't any "trolly" things to assist with taking the bags to the room. The bottom of the bathtub was dirty. The showerhead trickled water. The biggest problem was the lounge chair and ottoman in the room -- they were filthy and stained. I've stayed in nicer rooms that cost half what this did. We've stayed in all of the casino hotels in KC now, and sadly this is right at the very very very bottom of the list and we really won't stay again unless it's totally free or a $49 at most rate. I was super disappointed. The final disappointment came when we called the front desk to find out about the evening entertainment in the hotel, the phone rang about 20 times before it was answered, then whomever answered had no idea... put on hold... wait.... wait... come back... "can I help you" .... it was a 15 minute ordeal that should have been a super fast question so we could get to the business of having a fun night. OH! And one last thing -- when we were leaving the next morning around 7:00 a.m. THERE WERE HOMELESS (I presume) sleeping on the lobby couches!!!!!!!! Just random people crashed out on the couches!!!! Seriously?!?!? And nobody behind the front desk to ask or tell about it but you'd think security would have noticed?! NOT cool. I have no problem with homeless needing a warm place to be but not in a hotel lobby folks. come on. FYI _ there isn't a fitness center and nobody offered to tell me where to find one so don't pack your running shoes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. Designated as the 2012 "Best Casino” by Ingram’s Magazine, we want all of our guests to receive the quality experience we are known for providing. Cleanliness is a top priority for us. We encourage guests to let us know if they are not completely satisfied with their room and we are more than happy to do whatever we can. We do have a 24/7 security and surveillance team to ensure a safe environment for our guests. We do not have a fitness center, but there are parks and gyms nearby, and our team members are happy to help you become familiar with the surrounding area. We appreciate your feedback and our management team is reaching out to follow up with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I've stayed at Ameristar quite a few times, and have never been disappointed. The valet and front desk staff get the visit off on the right foot with their friendly greeting and prompt service. Rooms have always been clean and well appointed. There are numerous high quality dinner options for a variety of budgets, and the in-house beers are excellent.

Now if I can just crack the code on how to win inside the casino I'll have it made!! We all know that's not going to happen, but it's still entertainment done right. In all my stays the only "bump in the road" I've ever experienced was a shower that wouldn't drain. It all worked out - I was done showering before anything got out of hand. Overall it's one of the best places for a total dining/drinking/gambling experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
It's great to hear you always enjoy your stays with us, Chris! I apologize about the shower; we encourage our guests to let us know about anything they are not completely satisfied with as we do our best to continuously improve. Thanks for sharing your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Recently stayed at hotel, was not impressed. In fact, Harrah's K.C. has much nicer rooms in our opinion. Ameristar does not have coffee pots in room, nor do they furnish more than two glasses - people do need more glasses, especially when you have dentures! Also, no mirrors whatsoever in the main room. The only mirror was in the bathroom. The casino is very pretty, but terribly tight machines and what a long, long walk from room to casino. Don't plan on staying at Ameristar again. We get coupons from both casinos & both agree other hotel/casino is the best choice for all around quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear this, Sharlene. We do provide a coffee pot with coffee, creamer, sugar and glasses. If you are ever not completely satisfied with your room, we encourage our guests to let the front desk staff know and we’ll be more than happy to do what we can to accommodate you. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you continue to be our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Isle if capri no hotel not even in the ranks.hollywood nice casino but no hotel not in the ranks. Agosy casino nice but small hotel not in the ranks. Ok now harrahs terrible! Hotel nice size but rooms smell like pets and no microwave and they want you to pay for internet for 24 hours. Crazy. Not in the ranks. AMERISTAR! now were talking 5 star casino THE BIG BOSS of all the casinos ,big hotel, the best service, rooms are nice and clean and direct tv, microwaves and free internet. AMERISTAR IS TRULY THE 5 STAR CASINO OF KC! Thanks for being the best! Thanks yours truly Jamar Nelson

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My friends and Me went to smoke a cigarett e on the casino floor. While our husbands were gambling spending at least 500+ dollars. We were rudely interrupted by woman named Lisa who told me I was to intoxicated to enter the floor after
One drink (you can look at the survailence camera) I was not intoxicated at all and rudely kicked out!. As long as this woman is employed I will never return and will tell My friends to never go there!!! This lady was so rude Ans even cursed at us. I will not be treated like this and i don't want mY friends to experience this! Tell your security not to act like from the Jersey shore! Immature. Vegas should shut you down a disgrace!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your experience. We want all of our guests to be treated with respect and have a quality experience when visiting our property. We must also follow Missouri Gaming laws and ensure that no one is intoxicated while on the casino floor. We appreciate your feedback and would like to follow up with you. Please feel free to send your contact information and details of your experience to AtYourServiceKC@ameristar.com and we are more than happy to follow up with you. Thank you for visiting and we do hope you reconsider and continue to be our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I booked a room to celebrate our 11 year anniversary on Saturday, 2/2. We checked in and enjoyed how clean and quiet it was in our suite. We played video poker all night, didn't do too well, but enjoyed our stay. Breakfast at the buffet was good!

Once we got home we discovered that my mother had called the hotel, ordered champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to be delivered to our room, had to run around to find a fax machine to fax her credit card beforehand, and her card was charged. We were never notified, and no strawberries or champagne ever made their way to our room. My mom must have thought we were rude, as we never thanked her. Today she finally asked if we ever received, and upon finding out we had no idea what she did, called the hotel. She was told that there is no manager on the property on a Monday, and the only manager will not be present until midnight. What a ridiculous response!

Stay at this hotel if you have absolutely NO special requests. Do not trust them to fulfill any long distance special favors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks so much for celebrating your anniversary with us and for sharing your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast buffet. I apologize about the mix-up regarding your champagne and strawberries. We work hard to accommodate special requests and I’m so sorry we fell short this time. We are in contact with your mother with every intention of making things right. Thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Kansas City
Ameristar Hotel
Ameristar Casino Kansas City Mo
Ameristar Kansas City
Address: 3200 North Ameristar Drive, Kansas City, MO 64161
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#20 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City is a luxury hotel with 184 guestrooms. With 3,000 slot and video poker machines and 60 table games, this Kansas City casino is one of the biggest in the country. After exciting gaming action you may choose from nine appetizing dining options at this Kansas City hotel. The restaurants in Kansas City at Ameristar range from a sports-infused brew-pub to fine dining in an Old West inspired atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.