We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely appointed rooms...and a casino!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Save Saved
You added Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 North Ameristar Drive, Kansas City, MO 64161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nicely appointed rooms...and a casino!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed at Ameristar numerous times and always enjoy their nice rooms and comfortable beds. Lately we have been staying at a competitor more often because Ameristar seems to have become...hmmm...well stingier with their comped rooms. When traveling to Kansas City about every other month we will book where we can get a comped room, and of course play there as well.

However, as of late, Ameristar casino seems to have a better payout in their casino and we love their variety and up-to-date slots. Every time we come there are new slot machines to play.

The attached arcade and movie theater are a bonus and their large buffet is always a nice treat as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    42
    17
    13
    13
See reviews for
29
63
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Do not eat at DeliLux on the casino floor, everyone was beset with stomach cramps and diarreah after eating there on Tue 10/9. Service was slow and food was grossly grease infused.

As for the hotel stay, it was just average. Room was a double queen and was missing the normal complement of pillows, 2 missing per bed. Room would not cool below 70 degrees even though it was only in the mid 60s outside. Sewage smell came out of sink drain. Curtains had stains and tv made a metallic whirring sound. Phone on table didn't work, didn't even have a cord attached. Bed was comfortable though, and the room was fairly quiet. Overall probably an average or slightly below rating.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I'm so sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your recent experience with us. We do try our best to maintain a certain standard of quality and I’m sorry if we fell short. We appreciate your feedback and would like to follow up with you. Feel free to send your contact information and details about your experience to AtYourServiceKC@ameristar.com and we would be happy to discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Let me start with the positive--
The room was Awesome! Very clean and tidy and updated. Impressed with the king bed was very comfortable. Lighting was great and lots of it, plenty of space in the room , liked the sofa so you could relax without being on the bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for sharing your review and for staying with us! We hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcmo
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The rooms are beautifully and always very clean. The beds are comfortable. I highly recommend it to friends and family. The restaurants have great food and the staff at both the casino and hotel are always friendly and helpful each time I visit. I have stayed in a variety of casino /hotels around the country and this is my favorite. I love the location..not far from places I like to go. "The best thing I love is the deli on the casino floor. The workers Darrell,Everette, & the african american lady that works with them at night (apologize for not remembering her name but she is extra nice & friendly ) and they all are so fast & courteous when fixing my food. Never had a complaint about my food it is always fixed with love."..the least thing I don't care for is I would like to have a room on the main floor always as the front desk (with no smoking). I can't handle getting on a elevator...and I don't smoke so I prefer this floor with a room that does not smell like smoke.Thank you.

Room Tip: Main floor as the front desk is my preference. and of course closer to the front desk is my prefere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks, Darla, for staying with us and for posting your review. We really value your feedback. I'm so glad u enjoy the deli and our staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I've stayed at Ameristar many times and have always had an exceptionally clean room and wonderful service. And they now have a refrigerator in the rooms which is very convenient. The staff is cheerful and helpful -- everyone from the valet staff to the housekeepers. I have stayed in a number of casino hotels around the country and this is my favorite. The casino itself is heaven for penny slot players -- and very pretty. The restaurants are good but several are only open on weekends.

PS -- Tip your housekeepers.

Room Tip: It's a bit of a walk to the casino so asking for a room near an elevator cuts the walk to a mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for visiting us! I'm glad you enjoy our rooms, staff and penny slots. We appreciate your feedback and hope you can stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a large property with some nice restuarants, a small movie theater, a video arcade for the kids, no pool or fitness center, basically it is all about the casino within. The casino has black jack, roulete, crap tables and a couple of poker rooms. The cashier section can get you cash from your checking or credit accounts so be carefull with your cards. It is a smoking friendly casino with a few non smoking areas. As far as slots, there are very many of them but not a single one of them will give you any money. I've played their slots on many occaisions and never once got up on any machine and the quarter machines won't even give you a simple credit. The property is located in a rather remote part of KC and there is nothing within walking distance. Worlds of fun is the nearest attraction (seasonal), otherwise you have to drive for several miles. This casino is all about taking your money, so stay out unless you want to empty your bank account, there are far better places to stay in downtown kc like the plaza area.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up with a view to the west or south, at least you can look at KC. Their website ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Whenever we are in Kansas City, we stay at the Ameristar. It is a gorgeous casino hotel. The rooms are beautifully appointed and always very clean. The beds are comfortable and the towels fluffy and nice. The casino is beautifully done with a wonderful western feel to it. All the restaurants have great food and the staff at both the casino and hotel are always friendly and helpful. The players also tend to be friendly so the experience is always great, win or lose. What can I say. I will stay there again and highly recommend it to friends and family. Great place!

Room Tip: Book a month in advance to be sure to get a room. The hotel is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks for the recommendation! I'm glad you have a great experience each time you visit us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
Casino, Pool, F...
Show More
3.4 mi away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#3 of 4 in North Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Spa, Casino, Fr...
Show More
7.4 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel and Spa
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
9.5 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
6.5 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#20 of 110 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Northeast
Candlewood Suites Northeast
#29 of 110 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Boutique, Pool...
Show More
9.7 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Address: 3200 North Ameristar Drive, Kansas City, MO 64161
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#41 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City is a luxury hotel with 184 guestrooms. With 3,000 slot and video poker machines and 60 table games, this Kansas City casino is one of the biggest in the country. After exciting gaming action you may choose from nine appetizing dining options at this Kansas City hotel. The restaurants in Kansas City at Ameristar range from a sports-infused brew-pub to fine dining in an Old West inspired atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Kansas City
Ameristar Casino Kansas City Mo
Ameristar Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.