We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations in a superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations in a superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

The Hampton is located on the edge of the Country Club Plaza around the corner and up the hill (Summit Road) from the Sheraton. It is a pleasant, short walk to the heart of the Plaza's shops and restaurants. A great place to be if you like toney shops and all the glitz. This is a high-end Hampton; no complaints at all. Parking is free and convenient in the basement garage. Beds are extremely comfortable. If you need to get to downtown KC, it's easy access via Madison Avenue which dumps into the Southwest Freeway and then I-35.

  • Liked — Excellent amenities; great location; professional staff
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    155
    40
    21
    7
See reviews for
128
103
21
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
HHI
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed at this property the weekend of May 10 and thouroughly enjoyed it. It is clean, new, comfortable. The Country Club Plaza area is excellent with any shop or restaurant you could possibly want or need and its all within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again. Also the complimentary breakfast spread at the hotel each morning was perfect.

  • Liked — CLEAN, BIG SHOWER
  • Disliked — ON A HILL
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2007

We stayed several weeknights in Kansas City while traveling thru Missouri. The Hampton was a really great location in the city. We chose it because of the location/price and pool. We had a car so could drive downtown, but the MAX bus to downtown is close by and the bus to the Royals game is a block away. The pool, as with other Hamptons, is freezing cold and useless so I would not choose this hotel is you need that daily swim. The parking is free and really convenient, located under the hotel. Hotel is located right off of 47th street /Country Club plaza. We walked to all of the Country Club plaza fountains and restaurants. A stop at the CC plaza tourist info center proved not only fruitful but very pleasant. The staff there was more than helpful. A warning: the hotel is located up the hill so if you have health problems you might find this hotel a tough place to walk home to.
The rooms are really clean and comfortable - better than most hotels; the staff was professional. The free breakfast was a money saver- not gourmet cuisine by any means but gets you going. The happy hour at night is a nice touch and internet access is a breeze.
We would stay again given the value. The breakfast and parking are definitely money savers. I have stayed at Hyatt Crown Center which was nice but would chose Hampton over any Crown Center hotels due to the location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cold pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

We stayed here with some friends for a birthday weekend. I have stayed at various hotels on/near the Plaza, and would say this is definitely a great choice. The location is within a block of shopping, just up from Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (go here if you have the chance!!). The staff was VERY friendly, and check-in was quick and hassle-free. Rooms are nice; not a 4 star property, but very clean and modern furnishings...king bed with desk and chair/ottoman. Bathroom had shower only--glass doors and great shower head. Bath amenities were good, too. Free cont. breakfast in the AM; not a ton to choose from, but it was good. Lobby area is very comfortable and attractively decorated. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, price, free parking, service
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

This was our first stay at this property, and we will definitely make this hotel our first pick for future visits to Kansas City. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well equipped with desk space and wi-fi. The bathrooms have very large walk in showers that are great. The beds and linens are comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Compared to other properties on the Plaza this hotel is much nicer than most, and it is a bargain in price. It is located on the west end of the Plaza making walking to great dining and shopping possible. Parking at the hotel is plentiful and spacious, also. We would definitely recommend this property for both leisure and business stays in Kansas City.

  • Liked — The quality of the facilities, i.e. spacious, updated, clean rooms, hallways, lobby.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

I was in Kansas City on business. I arrived at midnight, yet they were friendly and helpful and gave me a room that met all my requirements (at most hotels I end up having to change rooms because they overlook that I want a non-smoking room without an adjoining door). They had some nice toiletries available for free at the front desk (toothpaste, comb) and more for sale in case you forgot something. Nice to have it at the front desk since many sundry shops don't stay open late.

Room was quiet, clean, and the bed was VERY comfortable. The sheets smelled like they were subtlely treated with some nice aromatherapy product. Bathroom was standard but very clean. The help-yourself free breakfast buffet in the morning was incredible---abundant choices of cereals, breads (toast, bagels, English muffins, Danish), eggs, sausage, coffee, juice. And because it was self-help, there was no waiting around for a check---I could just eat and take off for my meeting. I would highly recommend this hotel----it is really geared toward the business traveler (no-nonsense, clean, comfortable, efficient). I didn't get a chance to visit the Country Club Plaza unfortunately, but it looked close enough to walk. There is a 24-hour Walgreens about a 5-minute drive away ($8 each way by taxi).

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

Altho I travel to KC regularly on business, I had not stayed at the Hampton Inn on the Plaza.
My company booked the room - king size bed, non-smoking.
The room was beautiful. 9th floor, good size kitchen, living room with TV, bedroom separated from the living room by french doors, large bedroom and bath. The room was very clean, the furniture in good condition, nice quality linens and spa-worthy toiletries.

Free internet, better-than-average work out area, more than adequate breakfast, and very friendly staff make this the best deal in the Plaza area. And don't forget, you can walk to the fartherest end of the Plaza in less than 10 minutes. If you are staying in KC for work or pleasure, this is the best location. You can shop in your spare time, see a movie, enjoy sitting at a sidewalk cafe, or enjoying the finest in dining experiences.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — I did not dislike anything about the hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — You can get into the gym 24/7
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#9 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, located in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri on the Country Club Plaza. The Plaza is a beautiful historic destination offering a prime location for shopping and dining. The Plaza has European feel featuring Spanish architecture, fountains, and meandering walkways. You will find small boutiques as well as national chains. Enjoy local Kansas attractions such as the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Crown Center, Starlight Theatre, Sprint Center, Performing Arts Center, and the Power & Light District. Our Kansas City hotel provides all of the amenities you expect while traveling including little extras such as complimentary electric vehicle charging stations. Stay connected with our free WiFi access provided throughout the hotel, including our meeting rooms. Start each day of your stay with Hampton's free hot breakfast or grab an On the Run Breakfast Bag on your way out. Get a great workout in our fitness center, and unwind in our large, heated indoor pool. Join us in the lobby of our Kansas City hotel for our complimentary Evening Reception* offered Monday through Thursday. Parking is easy with us, and complimentary, in our private garage and outdoor parking lot suitable to accommodate buses. If you need to host a business meeting or social gathering, our Kansas City hotel offers 5,000 sq. Ft. Of space in seven meeting rooms, designed to accommodate up to 250 attendees. We offer full meeting services including A/V and catering. Let our professional sales staff make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Country Club Plaza
Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Hampton Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.