We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Columbia, MO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

We stayed here with some friends for a birthday weekend. I have stayed at various hotels on/near the Plaza, and would say this is definitely a great choice. The location is within a block of shopping, just up from Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (go here if you have the chance!!). The staff was VERY friendly, and check-in was quick and hassle-free. Rooms are nice; not a 4 star property, but very clean and modern furnishings...king bed with desk and chair/ottoman. Bathroom had shower only--glass doors and great shower head. Bath amenities were good, too. Free cont. breakfast in the AM; not a ton to choose from, but it was good. Lobby area is very comfortable and attractively decorated. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, price, free parking, service
  • Disliked — NA
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    143
    33
    17
    6
See reviews for
110
90
19
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

This was our first stay at this property, and we will definitely make this hotel our first pick for future visits to Kansas City. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well equipped with desk space and wi-fi. The bathrooms have very large walk in showers that are great. The beds and linens are comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Compared to other properties on the Plaza this hotel is much nicer than most, and it is a bargain in price. It is located on the west end of the Plaza making walking to great dining and shopping possible. Parking at the hotel is plentiful and spacious, also. We would definitely recommend this property for both leisure and business stays in Kansas City.

  • Liked — The quality of the facilities, i.e. spacious, updated, clean rooms, hallways, lobby.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

I was in Kansas City on business. I arrived at midnight, yet they were friendly and helpful and gave me a room that met all my requirements (at most hotels I end up having to change rooms because they overlook that I want a non-smoking room without an adjoining door). They had some nice toiletries available for free at the front desk (toothpaste, comb) and more for sale in case you forgot something. Nice to have it at the front desk since many sundry shops don't stay open late.

Room was quiet, clean, and the bed was VERY comfortable. The sheets smelled like they were subtlely treated with some nice aromatherapy product. Bathroom was standard but very clean. The help-yourself free breakfast buffet in the morning was incredible---abundant choices of cereals, breads (toast, bagels, English muffins, Danish), eggs, sausage, coffee, juice. And because it was self-help, there was no waiting around for a check---I could just eat and take off for my meeting. I would highly recommend this hotel----it is really geared toward the business traveler (no-nonsense, clean, comfortable, efficient). I didn't get a chance to visit the Country Club Plaza unfortunately, but it looked close enough to walk. There is a 24-hour Walgreens about a 5-minute drive away ($8 each way by taxi).

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

Altho I travel to KC regularly on business, I had not stayed at the Hampton Inn on the Plaza.
My company booked the room - king size bed, non-smoking.
The room was beautiful. 9th floor, good size kitchen, living room with TV, bedroom separated from the living room by french doors, large bedroom and bath. The room was very clean, the furniture in good condition, nice quality linens and spa-worthy toiletries.

Free internet, better-than-average work out area, more than adequate breakfast, and very friendly staff make this the best deal in the Plaza area. And don't forget, you can walk to the fartherest end of the Plaza in less than 10 minutes. If you are staying in KC for work or pleasure, this is the best location. You can shop in your spare time, see a movie, enjoy sitting at a sidewalk cafe, or enjoying the finest in dining experiences.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — I did not dislike anything about the hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — You can get into the gym 24/7
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2006

I travel all the time on business, and the Hampton Inn & Suites was the best hotel I've stayed at in a long time! The complimentary breakfast and parking were great perks, and the staff was wonderful. Hotel seemed very clean too!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2006

I stayed one night. New or newly renovated. Just one block up from the west end of the Plaza. Free parking.
Did not try pool or breakfast, but they were available. Room in perfect condition. Did not have a tub, only a shower. First time I have seen that in US. But, shower was big.

I will stay there on my next trip to Kansas City.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukee, Iowa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2005

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend away the first weekend in December (2-4). The staff was very friendly and helpful and I think we were checked in in less than 2 minutes. The free breakfast is a nice inclusion, lots of cereals and at least one hot item as well. Parking in an underground garage is also included, which was very nice.

When we arrived we were originally given a room on the first floor right next to some conference rooms. I called and asked to be moved and was told there were no more king rooms available. We decided it was worth having a double and after switching rooms we ended up in a king anyway. The room switch also took only about 5 minutes.

The hotel is at the far end of Country Club Plaza but still easy walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. Please note, however, it is at the top of a rather large hill. It was not a problem for us, but if you are traveling with anyone that may have mobility concerns the hill would be a problem.

Over all a really great hotel for the price. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#9 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza in Kansas City, you’re staying with friends. Our Place is yours, whether you’re here for business, a show or shopping on the Country Club Plaza. We love having you here®. And we prove it to you every day.Everybody needs their space. At Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza we have lots of it, from a traditional room to a spacious suite with your own kitchenette.Have a great night sleep in our cozy beds. Cloud Nine, the Hampton bed experience, a plush comforter, soft sheets and your choice of cushy pillows.Add complimentary hi-speed internet, a complimentary hot breakfast and complimentary parking and the day just keeps getting better.Just a short walk from Kansas City’s finest shopping, dining and entertainment. Don’t forget we have recently expanded our meeting space accommodating groups up to 300 guests. Plus you can earn Hilton HHonors points and airline miles with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Country Club Plaza
Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Hampton Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.