We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Loved the Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our one bedroom suite was the perfect choice to spread ourselves out and have people over during the 4 days we stayed here. The location was ideal for us - being about a block from our relatives and close to the restaurants and shopping in the Plaza District. It is a very safe and easy area to walk around. Our suite was spotless and housekeeping was always attended to in a timely fashion. Front desk staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. Our one request was dealt with immediately.
There were 2 concerns I had about the hotel that prevented me from giving my review 5 stars. We found it very hard to maintain a comfortable temperature using the air-conditioning in the room. Instead of maintaining a set temperature, there seemed to be a continuous hot-cold cycle which contributed to disturbed sleeps because of waking up from being too hot or too cold.
My other concern was the flow of traffic at breakfast whether on the weekend when it was very busy with families or on weekdays when there were more adults. The food area is small with little room between sections to move about. I worried about getting jostled about and spilling hot coffee on someone or having it spilt on me.
All in all a great hotel with two concerns I hope the establishment will address.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    133
    31
    14
    5
See reviews for
99
84
18
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
swan lake mb canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Spacious rooms, usual Hilton high standards. Close to everything in the plaza, easy walking and safe area. Massive rooms.

Staff were great. On check-in my wallet fell out of my car outside the entrance. Within 30 seconds was stolen by a woman (non-guest) in a car outside. Staff member Muni and a local taxi driver alerted me immediately and got security( Randy ) who pulled up the security camera footage, caught the whole thing on camera and confronted the thief. The wallet miraculously appeared in a bush ( minus $100 ) but I did get all my cards etc back.

BIG thanks to Muni and Randy for their help.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

When I made reservations for just one night, I only asked for a room with 2 queen beds. Imagine my surprise when we got to our room and opened the door. We were given a 2 room queen suite. The room was as big as a good sized apartment. One room had a mini kitchen with full size fridge, microwave, sink and dish washer along with a sofa area with large screen tv and cushioned chairs.

The 2nd room had 2 queen beds with desk and another large screen tv. Bathroom was of the divided type. The shower and toilet were behind the bathroom door while on the outside near the beds was the sink. Only downside of that was that the first person up in the morning usually woke the others up while using the sink.

Parking was free and undercover. You used your room key to enter the garage but none was needed exiting. The first level exited to one street and if you went down to the bottom level, you exited out a different street. All levels were serviced by an elevator that took you to the hotel lobby.

Staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. They even served cookies to us during checkin.

The hotel area in question does seem safe but a little rough around the edges. The lot across the street from the hotel was having the large brick townhomes demolished while we were there. I'm assuming something else will be constructed shortly afterwards. We were easily able to walk to the center of country club plaza from the hotel but walking back was a little more difficult since the hotel is on a steep hill.

Overall, if your goal is to see the Plaza, this hotel is the best deal for the price.

Room Tip: A higher room may give you a view of the Plaza area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walters, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My family stayed a week at the Hampton and booked the 2 queens suite with kitchen. It was great to have the size of 2 hotel rooms, one room had a small kitchen and living area and the other room had 2 queen beds and bathroom. Hotel was clean and close to Country Club Plaza shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This Hampton Inn & Suites is relatively new, approximately 4-5 years old. It is well taken care of-the rooms here neat and tidy. The bathroom was easy for two people to get around in.

The complimentary breakfast was very good. Cheese and egg omelets one with crisp bacon one morning and scrambled eggs with ham the next. A coffee bar was fully stocked all day. Seating areas for breakfast were excellent.

The staff had to be one of the friendliest, outgoing I've seen in a hotel in a long time-this includes everybody who worked there.

The location, of course, is great. Located one block north of the far west end of the Country Club Plaza, dining and shops are only one block away.However, this part of KC north of the Plaza can be quite hilly. From the hotel to 47th Street, the Plaza's 'main drag', Summit Avenue is quite steep. It could be difficult to walk for the elderly or handicapped.

Since the hotel is close to both the Southwest Trafficway as well as Main Street, it won't take too much time to get to KC's the other two attractions- the Crown Center Complex and the Power & Light District downtown. Plus, the Nelson Art Gallery is just close by as well as the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

A great spot to stay in KC- for sure!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This Hampton Inn was convenient to Country Club Plaza, just a mere 5 minute walk to the shops and restaurants. The hotel has a parking garage with a convenient elevator to the hotel lobby. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our room did not have a refrigerator and I am unsure whether that is standard for all the rooms or just our room. The hotel was clean and well maintained. We would stay there again if we returned to area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at the Plaza so we could take a cab to the Royals game. The front desk manager told us it would be about $25-30 for a cab one way and he was right. It was great not to deal with parking and walking. We then went out after the game on the plaza. The same manager recommended Tomfooleries and it was great. The breakfast was good but lots of people. The two downfalls were they didn't charge our credit card for our room but charged our friend's and the walls were thin. The charges were figured out a day later. The beds and pillows were comfortable. So much- I looked to see what brand. We will probably stay there and go to a game again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza in Kansas City, you’re staying with friends. Our Place is yours, whether you’re here for business, a show or shopping on the Country Club Plaza. We love having you here®. And we prove it to you every day.Everybody needs their space. At Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza we have lots of it, from a traditional room to a spacious suite with your own kitchenette.Have a great night sleep in our cozy beds. Cloud Nine, the Hampton bed experience, a plush comforter, soft sheets and your choice of cushy pillows.Add complimentary hi-speed internet, a complimentary hot breakfast and complimentary parking and the day just keeps getting better.Just a short walk from Kansas City’s finest shopping, dining and entertainment. Don’t forget we have recently expanded our meeting space accommodating groups up to 300 guests. Plus you can earn Hilton HHonors points and airline miles with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Hampton Inn And Suites Country Club Plaza
Hampton Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.