We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel to consider when going to KC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A hotel to consider when going to KC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This Hampton Inn & Suites is relatively new, approximately 4-5 years old. It is well taken care of-the rooms here neat and tidy. The bathroom was easy for two people to get around in.

The complimentary breakfast was very good. Cheese and egg omelets one with crisp bacon one morning and scrambled eggs with ham the next. A coffee bar was fully stocked all day. Seating areas for breakfast were excellent.

The staff had to be one of the friendliest, outgoing I've seen in a hotel in a long time-this includes everybody who worked there.

The location, of course, is great. Located one block north of the far west end of the Country Club Plaza, dining and shops are only one block away.However, this part of KC north of the Plaza can be quite hilly. From the hotel to 47th Street, the Plaza's 'main drag', Summit Avenue is quite steep. It could be difficult to walk for the elderly or handicapped.

Since the hotel is close to both the Southwest Trafficway as well as Main Street, it won't take too much time to get to KC's the other two attractions- the Crown Center Complex and the Power & Light District downtown. Plus, the Nelson Art Gallery is just close by as well as the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

A great spot to stay in KC- for sure!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    156
    41
    21
    7
See reviews for
128
103
21
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This Hampton Inn was convenient to Country Club Plaza, just a mere 5 minute walk to the shops and restaurants. The hotel has a parking garage with a convenient elevator to the hotel lobby. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our room did not have a refrigerator and I am unsure whether that is standard for all the rooms or just our room. The hotel was clean and well maintained. We would stay there again if we returned to area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at the Plaza so we could take a cab to the Royals game. The front desk manager told us it would be about $25-30 for a cab one way and he was right. It was great not to deal with parking and walking. We then went out after the game on the plaza. The same manager recommended Tomfooleries and it was great. The breakfast was good but lots of people. The two downfalls were they didn't charge our credit card for our room but charged our friend's and the walls were thin. The charges were figured out a day later. The beds and pillows were comfortable. So much- I looked to see what brand. We will probably stay there and go to a game again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My family and I just got back from Kansas City, and we were pleased with our choice of hotels. This Hampton Inn was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Sandra was especially kind and courteous, and the staff made us feel at ease. Our room (a suite) was clean and spacious. We had a 7th floor view of the Plaza which was nice, especially at night. My kids and I enjoyed the indoor pool which was well tended and clean. There was an outdoor terrace with lounge chairs that was accessible from the pool area offering a nice area to dry off after the swim and there was a clean exercise facility connected to the pool area as well. Breakfast buffet was amazing. Parking garage offered three levels and was accessible with room key. We were a few blocks away from the Plaza and walked to the restaurants and shops. Make note, the Hotel is on a steep hill (Summit St), so if you have trouble walking, be aware of this. If we get back to KC, I'd definitely stay here again. Great location and getting around the city was not a problem. Thanks again to the staff for making our stay memorable and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband decided to surprise me with a spur of the moment trip with our family and he booked this hotel (after reading tripadvisor of course lol), and O my goodness this hotel was absolutely beautiful from start to finish. The housekeeping staff does a great job with keeping this property nice and clean. The indoor pool and view was just breath taking and so relaxing all of my children just LOVED the pool!!! Tom the manager was a delight (I see why he is the manager :)). He checked us into our room with a good rate explained everything to us and has a great personality and is very, very, very professional. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Missouri.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I like Hampton Inns because they are succeeding to maintain a very consistent quality across most hotels in the chain.
The location of the hotel is excellent ... a short walking distance to Country Club Plaza with its shops and restaurants.
The room was reasonably sized, very clean with everything in perfect working condition. There is a large underground parking garage with plenty of space.
Everything else is a typical Hampton Inn:
- free WiFi with a decent speed
- nice and friendly staff
- OK breakfast ... not better or worse compared with other Hamptons but we would prefer more choices.
It was not the first time we stayed in this hotel and it has never disappointed us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great hotel. Staff is excellent. Breakfast room and front desk staff EXCElLENT!! Room was very clean with a few exceptions. Room was not serviced by housekeeping one day. Seems like a fluke. They tried to clean the room at 8am and 10am but we were sleep and they didn't bother to come back. We were out until 1am the night before and on vacation. Management immediately addressed the issue. Hotel is in a great location but seemed a bit overpriced at $200 per night. I am sure the holiday and location were factors. Hotel had rear parking for our oversized vehicle. Overall a great hotel and a good stay. Family loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#9 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, located in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri on the Country Club Plaza. The Plaza is a beautiful historic destination offering a prime location for shopping and dining. The Plaza has European feel featuring Spanish architecture, fountains, and meandering walkways. You will find small boutiques as well as national chains. Enjoy local Kansas attractions such as the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Crown Center, Starlight Theatre, Sprint Center, Performing Arts Center, and the Power & Light District. Our Kansas City hotel provides all of the amenities you expect while traveling including little extras such as complimentary electric vehicle charging stations. Stay connected with our free WiFi access provided throughout the hotel, including our meeting rooms. Start each day of your stay with Hampton's free hot breakfast or grab an On the Run Breakfast Bag on your way out. Get a great workout in our fitness center, and unwind in our large, heated indoor pool. Join us in the lobby of our Kansas City hotel for our complimentary Evening Reception* offered Monday through Thursday. Parking is easy with us, and complimentary, in our private garage and outdoor parking lot suitable to accommodate buses. If you need to host a business meeting or social gathering, our Kansas City hotel offers 5,000 sq. Ft. Of space in seven meeting rooms, designed to accommodate up to 250 attendees. We offer full meeting services including A/V and catering. Let our professional sales staff make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Hampton Inn And Suites Country Club Plaza
Hampton Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.