We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in the Plaza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Trento
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel in the Plaza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is good and centrally located in Plaza at the top of an hill. The room I had was good, spacious and clean as well as also the bathroom. The personell at the reception is friendly and they gave me information on how to reach some part of the city and also to have some cab booked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    142
    33
    17
    6
See reviews for
108
90
19
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Only draw back is double beds are too small for family travel. Great breakfast and loved the convenience to walk to restaurants and shopping. Cozy down comforters and pillows. Noise was not an issue because we were upgraded to a suite and were on the end of the hall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I like Hampton Inns in general because the beds are usually the same at every hotel and very comfortable. I also like that I can grab some breakfast in the morning. My experience at this Hampton Inn was that the beds were awful. My husband and I tossed and turned all night on the lumpy bed. The other reviews cover the noise issues pretty thoroughly and are not exaggerated at all. We also received an unsolicited wake-up call at 6:30 am, which normally would have really ticked me off but since we were already awake from discomfort, it was just as well, I guess. Consequently, we were able to get to the National Archives right after they opened that Saturday morning. The breakfast did not disappoint and the parking was nice. You do have to take one elevator from the garage to the lobby, then another from the lobby to the upper floors. There was renovation going on in the lobby while we were there, so perhaps that will improve things. The location was very nice and convenient to lots of great dining, bars, and shopping. It was an easy trip to get downtown from there. The location just couldn't compensate for the fact that I couldn't sleep in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The walls are so thin I could hear the person in the next room passing gas while using the toilet. There is also no in-room fridge to keep the leftovers from the excellent restaurants in the Plaza. If sleep and privacy aren't important to you, the staff is very helpful (except for the vocal housekeeping staff that communicates by yelling in the hallways long before checkout time) and the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location - within walking distance to all the wonderful Plaza destinations. I also appreciated the underground parking garage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I found the service to be truly fantastic. The staff was very helpful and eager to please. The location was close to everything we wanted to see in Kansas City, namely, country club plaza and westport. I would recommend this place as a lovely hotel for visitors of Kansas City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I first booked this property three years ago for a large group of 25 rooms. Everyone in our party was extremely happy with their rooms and the comfortable beds. The complimentary breakfast area was large enough to handle our group of 70 without running out of space or food. I’ve returned with similar groups twice since then with the same results. I’ve also used the meeting room with AV equipment and catering. The room was spacious and the set-up staff was very accommodating. The Group Sales staff has always been professional, helpful and worked to get a competitive rate. The catering menu doesn’t mention it, but the sandwiches come from Panera. The quality and quantity of food was good, but it was served in Panera boxes.
Since the stay with the group went so well, I booked the Hampton for a “Girlfriend Getaway”. We had a one bedroom (two-bed) suite with a small kitchen that was really similar to a Residence Inn. It worked really well for my group of five, but the fold-out bed was really uncomfortable. Consider asking for a roll-away bed rather than using the fold-out if you’re an adult. The desk staff did a great job of helping my friends figure out a couple of places everyone would like for dinner.
I stayed there with family in January 2013 and they were very happy with the room, breakfast and location too. I really appreciate the fact that I don’t need to worry about the type or location of the room and that’s why I keep booking it for work, family and friends.
I’ve never used the fitness center or pool. Nobody in any of the groups I’ve taken there have mentioned using them, so I can’t comment on those amenities.
The wi-fi is free, location is very close to the plaza, the parking ramp is free and attached to the hotel. Be aware that if you’re walking to the plaza, it’s about a block of a fairly steep hill to the hotel. If you’re travelling with people that aren’t pretty fit, or if it’s hot or icy, the last block up to the lobby might be a challenge.

Room Tip: I've stayed on several different floors on either side of the property. They've all been qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for four nights last week while on a business trip. We arrived early but were able to check in immediately. Staff was friendly and efficient. The room was very clean and comfortable. The exericse room had everything I needed for that afternoon sweat. I did not use the pool but it did look inviting. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked. They served a variety of items so if you left hungry it was because you didn't eat. Coffee and tea were available around the clock. The hotel itself is within walking distance to several restaurants, shopping and other venues. We finished up a day early and had no problems with checkout. I would definitely stay here again if I do business in the area.

The only suggestion I would make is putting some sort of non-slip strips in the showers. The shower floor can get slippery with soap and this would make it safer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#9 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza in Kansas City, you’re staying with friends. Our Place is yours, whether you’re here for business, a show or shopping on the Country Club Plaza. We love having you here®. And we prove it to you every day.Everybody needs their space. At Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza we have lots of it, from a traditional room to a spacious suite with your own kitchenette.Have a great night sleep in our cozy beds. Cloud Nine, the Hampton bed experience, a plush comforter, soft sheets and your choice of cushy pillows.Add complimentary hi-speed internet, a complimentary hot breakfast and complimentary parking and the day just keeps getting better.Just a short walk from Kansas City’s finest shopping, dining and entertainment. Don’t forget we have recently expanded our meeting space accommodating groups up to 300 guests. Plus you can earn Hilton HHonors points and airline miles with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Country Club Plaza
Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Hampton Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City-Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.