We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and fantastic location for walking to restaurants and shops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and fantastic location for walking to restaurants and shops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Only draw back is double beds are too small for family travel. Great breakfast and loved the convenience to walk to restaurants and shopping. Cozy down comforters and pillows. Noise was not an issue because we were upgraded to a suite and were on the end of the hall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    175
    48
    22
    7
See reviews for
142
111
25
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I like Hampton Inns in general because the beds are usually the same at every hotel and very comfortable. I also like that I can grab some breakfast in the morning. My experience at this Hampton Inn was that the beds were awful. My husband and I tossed and turned all night on the lumpy bed. The other reviews cover the noise issues pretty thoroughly and are not exaggerated at all. We also received an unsolicited wake-up call at 6:30 am, which normally would have really ticked me off but since we were already awake from discomfort, it was just as well, I guess. Consequently, we were able to get to the National Archives right after they opened that Saturday morning. The breakfast did not disappoint and the parking was nice. You do have to take one elevator from the garage to the lobby, then another from the lobby to the upper floors. There was renovation going on in the lobby while we were there, so perhaps that will improve things. The location was very nice and convenient to lots of great dining, bars, and shopping. It was an easy trip to get downtown from there. The location just couldn't compensate for the fact that I couldn't sleep in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The walls are so thin I could hear the person in the next room passing gas while using the toilet. There is also no in-room fridge to keep the leftovers from the excellent restaurants in the Plaza. If sleep and privacy aren't important to you, the staff is very helpful (except for the vocal housekeeping staff that communicates by yelling in the hallways long before checkout time) and the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location - within walking distance to all the wonderful Plaza destinations. I also appreciated the underground parking garage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I found the service to be truly fantastic. The staff was very helpful and eager to please. The location was close to everything we wanted to see in Kansas City, namely, country club plaza and westport. I would recommend this place as a lovely hotel for visitors of Kansas City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSM
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I first booked this property three years ago for a large group of 25 rooms. Everyone in our party was extremely happy with their rooms and the comfortable beds. The complimentary breakfast area was large enough to handle our group of 70 without running out of space or food. I’ve returned with similar groups twice since then with the same results. I’ve also used the meeting room with AV equipment and catering. The room was spacious and the set-up staff was very accommodating. The Group Sales staff has always been professional, helpful and worked to get a competitive rate. The catering menu doesn’t mention it, but the sandwiches come from Panera. The quality and quantity of food was good, but it was served in Panera boxes.
Since the stay with the group went so well, I booked the Hampton for a “Girlfriend Getaway”. We had a one bedroom (two-bed) suite with a small kitchen that was really similar to a Residence Inn. It worked really well for my group of five, but the fold-out bed was really uncomfortable. Consider asking for a roll-away bed rather than using the fold-out if you’re an adult. The desk staff did a great job of helping my friends figure out a couple of places everyone would like for dinner.
I stayed there with family in January 2013 and they were very happy with the room, breakfast and location too. I really appreciate the fact that I don’t need to worry about the type or location of the room and that’s why I keep booking it for work, family and friends.
I’ve never used the fitness center or pool. Nobody in any of the groups I’ve taken there have mentioned using them, so I can’t comment on those amenities.
The wi-fi is free, location is very close to the plaza, the parking ramp is free and attached to the hotel. Be aware that if you’re walking to the plaza, it’s about a block of a fairly steep hill to the hotel. If you’re travelling with people that aren’t pretty fit, or if it’s hot or icy, the last block up to the lobby might be a challenge.

Room Tip: I've stayed on several different floors on either side of the property. They've all been qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for four nights last week while on a business trip. We arrived early but were able to check in immediately. Staff was friendly and efficient. The room was very clean and comfortable. The exericse room had everything I needed for that afternoon sweat. I did not use the pool but it did look inviting. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked. They served a variety of items so if you left hungry it was because you didn't eat. Coffee and tea were available around the clock. The hotel itself is within walking distance to several restaurants, shopping and other venues. We finished up a day early and had no problems with checkout. I would definitely stay here again if I do business in the area.

The only suggestion I would make is putting some sort of non-slip strips in the showers. The shower floor can get slippery with soap and this would make it safer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Awesome location, great place to stay on the Plaza! Nice and convenient parking garage, awesome HOT breakfast, and close to anything you would want to go do! I always love staying at Hampton Inns and this one is just another one on the list of great ones!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
3.0 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#9 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, located in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri on the Country Club Plaza. The Plaza is a beautiful historic destination offering a prime location for shopping and dining. The Plaza has European feel featuring Spanish architecture, fountains, and meandering walkways. You will find small boutiques as well as national chains. Enjoy local Kansas attractions such as the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Crown Center, Starlight Theatre, Sprint Center, Performing Arts Center, and the Power & Light District. Our Kansas City hotel provides all of the amenities you expect while traveling including little extras such as complimentary electric vehicle charging stations. Stay connected with our free WiFi access provided throughout the hotel, including our meeting rooms. Start each day of your stay with Hampton's free hot breakfast or grab an On the Run Breakfast Bag on your way out. Get a great workout in our fitness center, and unwind in our large, heated indoor pool. Join us in the lobby of our Kansas City hotel for our complimentary Evening Reception* offered Monday through Thursday. Parking is easy with us, and complimentary, in our private garage and outdoor parking lot suitable to accommodate buses. If you need to host a business meeting or social gathering, our Kansas City hotel offers 5,000 sq. Ft. Of space in seven meeting rooms, designed to accommodate up to 250 attendees. We offer full meeting services including A/V and catering. Let our professional sales staff make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Hampton Inn And Suites Country Club Plaza
Hampton Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.