We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience every time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
DSM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great experience every time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I first booked this property three years ago for a large group of 25 rooms. Everyone in our party was extremely happy with their rooms and the comfortable beds. The complimentary breakfast area was large enough to handle our group of 70 without running out of space or food. I’ve returned with similar groups twice since then with the same results. I’ve also used the meeting room with AV equipment and catering. The room was spacious and the set-up staff was very accommodating. The Group Sales staff has always been professional, helpful and worked to get a competitive rate. The catering menu doesn’t mention it, but the sandwiches come from Panera. The quality and quantity of food was good, but it was served in Panera boxes.
Since the stay with the group went so well, I booked the Hampton for a “Girlfriend Getaway”. We had a one bedroom (two-bed) suite with a small kitchen that was really similar to a Residence Inn. It worked really well for my group of five, but the fold-out bed was really uncomfortable. Consider asking for a roll-away bed rather than using the fold-out if you’re an adult. The desk staff did a great job of helping my friends figure out a couple of places everyone would like for dinner.
I stayed there with family in January 2013 and they were very happy with the room, breakfast and location too. I really appreciate the fact that I don’t need to worry about the type or location of the room and that’s why I keep booking it for work, family and friends.
I’ve never used the fitness center or pool. Nobody in any of the groups I’ve taken there have mentioned using them, so I can’t comment on those amenities.
The wi-fi is free, location is very close to the plaza, the parking ramp is free and attached to the hotel. Be aware that if you’re walking to the plaza, it’s about a block of a fairly steep hill to the hotel. If you’re travelling with people that aren’t pretty fit, or if it’s hot or icy, the last block up to the lobby might be a challenge.

Room Tip: I've stayed on several different floors on either side of the property. They've all been qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    143
    36
    18
    6
See reviews for
116
94
19
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, TN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for four nights last week while on a business trip. We arrived early but were able to check in immediately. Staff was friendly and efficient. The room was very clean and comfortable. The exericse room had everything I needed for that afternoon sweat. I did not use the pool but it did look inviting. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked. They served a variety of items so if you left hungry it was because you didn't eat. Coffee and tea were available around the clock. The hotel itself is within walking distance to several restaurants, shopping and other venues. We finished up a day early and had no problems with checkout. I would definitely stay here again if I do business in the area.

The only suggestion I would make is putting some sort of non-slip strips in the showers. The shower floor can get slippery with soap and this would make it safer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Awesome location, great place to stay on the Plaza! Nice and convenient parking garage, awesome HOT breakfast, and close to anything you would want to go do! I always love staying at Hampton Inns and this one is just another one on the list of great ones!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Staying for business and using the meeting facilities. The entire staff was welcoming and accommodating. Love having a parking garage so you don't have to scrape windows of ice or snow. Enjoyed their meeting facilities. Room were clean and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiwasse, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed Saturday night while visiting the Nelson-Atkins Art Museum. The Hampton Inn stay was perfect. It is within walking distance to the museum and the Country Club Plaza. Free parking in covered garage. We stayed in regular King room. It was comfortable and clean. Previous reviews mention noise but we did not experience any issues. Yes, you may hear other guests as they pass your door, but we only heard that once and we had just returned after an evening out as well. We could on occasion hear toilets flush, but not a problem after going to bed. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of options. Front desk staff helpful and friendly. We plan a return trip in April and this is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIncoln
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Everything you need in the hotel and within walking distance. Nice coffee bar and breakfast area. Decent workout center and swim area. Spotless Suites have fridge, microwave and comfy bed. The ONLY complaint is the enviro-green toilets which you have to flush twice to get anything to go down.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, null, Netherlands Antilles
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very good hotel for Business and in the Plaza area for going out to dinner by foot. Breakfast is poor but rooms are clean. Overall feels comfortable, clean and safe. During stay there was some constructing in the lobby area. This was warned in advance so no problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 Summit Street, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#9 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, located in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri on the Country Club Plaza. The Plaza is a beautiful historic destination offering a prime location for shopping and dining. The Plaza has European feel featuring Spanish architecture, fountains, and meandering walkways. You will find small boutiques as well as national chains. Enjoy local Kansas attractions such as the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Crown Center, Starlight Theatre, Sprint Center, Performing Arts Center, and the Power & Light District. Our Kansas City hotel provides all of the amenities you expect while traveling including little extras such as complimentary electric vehicle charging stations. Stay connected with our free WiFi access provided throughout the hotel, including our meeting rooms. Start each day of your stay with Hampton's free hot breakfast or grab an On the Run Breakfast Bag on your way out. Get a great workout in our fitness center, and unwind in our large, heated indoor pool. Join us in the lobby of our Kansas City hotel for our complimentary Evening Reception* offered Monday through Thursday. Parking is easy with us, and complimentary, in our private garage and outdoor parking lot suitable to accommodate buses. If you need to host a business meeting or social gathering, our Kansas City hotel offers 5,000 sq. Ft. Of space in seven meeting rooms, designed to accommodate up to 250 attendees. We offer full meeting services including A/V and catering. Let our professional sales staff make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Country Club Plaza
Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Hampton Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.