We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice place with nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was a pleasant experience. The rooms were clean and fresh and the hotel lobby was really nice. They also had a very good breakfast with lots of options.

The staff was very nice and in particular Claude was very helpful, he even drove their shuttle bus which they us to get people around town - a nice bonus!

highly recommended for friends, families , couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    70
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
29
17
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NE Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Fairfield Inns are consistently and predictably clean, safe, comfortable and a good value. Breakfast buffet includes eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, OJ, fresh brewed coffee, fresh fruit, bagels, and a variety of bread. The rooms are clean, the showers great, staff are friendly, overall a good value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I’ve stayed at many Fairfields, but this one felt a little odd. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but the rooms were very small, the furniture felt cheaper than at other locations, and the neighborhood seemed sketchy after dark. Even the security guard was creepy! The building seemed new, but in need of remodeling already…However, the price was good, parking was free, and the staff was friendly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We took my two grands from St. Louis to KC by train for the fun of it. Found this Hotel was fairly close to Union station and made Reservations. It was perfect. Everyone was delightful. Found out they had a shuttle that will take you around town within, I believe, 5 miles. They picked us up at the train station, brought us back to Crown Center for dinner and picked us up again. Wow what service!! They don't shuttle on Sunday but that was fine, they got us a cab and it was cheap. Had great suggestions for food for the kids and things to do in the area. Room was very nice, microwave and fridge. Air conditioner was very good. Beds very comfortable.Breakfast was good, Scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, waffles and fresh fruit and all sorts of yogurts and breads, all delicious. Pool is small but clean and good for the kids. Hot tub clean and nice.

Clean and comfy, reasonabley priced , Perfect!! Staff excells at their jobs.

Room Tip: Call ahead to check on shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the west
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is not the most impressive Marriott but it was convenient to our business interests. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were small but clean. Avoid the rooms by the exercise facilities. The early exercisers can make a lot of noise at 5:30 am. The free breakfast was a plus and better than many other places. All in all it was a good value for our needs.

Room Tip: Stay away from the exercise room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I booked at this hotel because it is a Marriott property. I was not impressed. The staff is very friendly, you will get a free breakfast and the parking is free (those are the only positive things I can say). My room was tiny. The bed took up nearly the whole room. The air temperature in my room was about 85 degrees when I opened the door upon arrival. It was hot and stuffy. The air conditioner would only work about 15 minutes at a time before shutting itself off. This made it impossible to get any sleep. The elevators, common areas and hallways are dim and stale. I don't believe this property has ever been updated. This hotel is not worth the $119/night I paid. It reminded me of an old Days Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

First stay at a Fairfield Inn. The hotel is conveniently located just off for doing business near downtown and for shopping at the plaza and FREE Parking in a secure gated lot! Free shuttle really helped in going to our meetings.

The hotel was exceptionally clean, the room was well appointed and appeared to be all new bedding, carpeting, etc. the house keeping staff kept the room clean too. We liked that the lavatory was separate from the shower and stool. Great shower too. The lighting was a little less than we like but that's the new "green" bulbs all the hotels are going too :( Room had a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc all provided. We also had a chair and ottoman. Our room was on the third floor facing the parking lot so we had some noise before we went to sleep but nothing that kept us awake or woke us :) The heat/air conditioning unit worked perfect! The only negative was the s l o w internet :( but not a deal breaker for us.

Continental breakfast was the normal fare of muffins, biscuits & gravy, hot oatmeal, cold cereal, juices, fresh fruit, coffee and tea. Fresh iced tea with lemons were a welcome treat every day all day and into the night! The front desk staff was wonderful, locals that knew the town they live in, and could offer best routes, recommendations, etc. Don't let this place fool you, it's a hidden gem and we'd stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill

Address: 3001 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#20 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill Hotel Kansas City
Fairfield Kansas City
Kansas City Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.