We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #26 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Central Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

First stay at a Fairfield Inn. The hotel is conveniently located just off for doing business near downtown and for shopping at the plaza and FREE Parking in a secure gated lot! Free shuttle really helped in going to our meetings.

The hotel was exceptionally clean, the room was well appointed and appeared to be all new bedding, carpeting, etc. the house keeping staff kept the room clean too. We liked that the lavatory was separate from the shower and stool. Great shower too. The lighting was a little less than we like but that's the new "green" bulbs all the hotels are going too :( Room had a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc all provided. We also had a chair and ottoman. Our room was on the third floor facing the parking lot so we had some noise before we went to sleep but nothing that kept us awake or woke us :) The heat/air conditioning unit worked perfect! The only negative was the s l o w internet :( but not a deal breaker for us.

Continental breakfast was the normal fare of muffins, biscuits & gravy, hot oatmeal, cold cereal, juices, fresh fruit, coffee and tea. Fresh iced tea with lemons were a welcome treat every day all day and into the night! The front desk staff was wonderful, locals that knew the town they live in, and could offer best routes, recommendations, etc. Don't let this place fool you, it's a hidden gem and we'd stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    61
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
25
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Honestly, it was an inexpensive room during a late-booking for a conference I was attending. What I got, though, was a surprisingly high level of hospitality (even for Kansas City it was high!) and value. Given its location, I anticipated paying for taxis to get down to the conference and over to restaurants. Nope: they offered a shuttle to wherever I was going, and then were happy (yes, HAPPY!) to come pick me up when I was done. All I had to do is ask.
The room was as good, if not better, than most Marriot rooms I've stayed in; certainly better than Sheraton ones: spacious, clean, well-laid out. Oh! And did I mention the breakfast that was included with the room price (cereal, sausage, eggs, breads and bagels, fruit, yogurt, juice, etc.)? My only suggested alteration would be for the hotel to switch to more organic/less toxic cleaning products, as the smells were my only unpleasant experience (consider using a citris-oil based product perhaps?). I would book there again in a heartbeat, even if rooms were available elsewhere. Nicely done Fairfield.

Room Tip: I faced the main street, which wasn't bad, though I suspect other rooms would be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel was convenient as a home base for visiting Crown Center, LEGO Discovery Center, and Sea Life Aquarium. Had the weather been nicer we could have walked. It's also about midway between downtown and Country Club plaza. There aren't a lot of frills here, though they do have a small pool and exercise room. It was budget friendly and comfortable; I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This motel was clean and in a good location, close to downtown and close to the plaza. The staff were friendly and the pool area was small but nice; the water was a good temperature for swimming. The breakfast was the usual with cereal, waffles, yogurt, bagels, muffins SB and G, fruit, etc. The beds were comfy and the rooms were nice. Appreciated having a fridge and microwave in the room.The free parking was an added plus. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Everything turned out WONDERFUL! From the staff to the room, expectations were definitely meet. I think i just found my new hotel spot in KCMO. The only problems I had was the inability to use side entrance key card and hotel shuttle was backed so close to the side entrance no one could get in or out of entrance because sidewalk was blocked and we had to walk all the way around. A small inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holton, Kansas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had stayed at the Residence Inn several months ago and enjoyed it...however in looking at their price for our recent stay they were $30 more than Fairfield Inn. I think for the class Fairfield Inn beats out the Residence Inn. The bed, room, parking and cleanliness are equal but all in all Fairfield was just a little nicer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Can easily recommend this hotel to everyone. They had a security man walking the parking lot as I came into the area so very late at night. He introduced himself, showed ID, and walked me back to the hotel entrance. The staff was so personable, even the new shift in the morning. The hotel was so very clean as was our room. I stayed at 3 Fairfield Inns as I traveled from NWOhio to Colorado and back and couldn't have been more pleased. Breakfast was pleasant, checkout a snap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill

Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill Hotel Kansas City
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill Hotel
Fairfield Inn Kansas City
Fairfield Kansas City
Kansas City Fairfield
Kansas City Fairfield Inn
Address: 3001 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.