We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, the Bad, and the noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #31 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Good, the Bad, and the noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here 1 night for a medical trip to Children's Mercy. Location was good for that, but wouldn't be comfortable there if alone. Selected hotel for the extra space in a two-room suite at a reasonable price. First, the good: room had lots of space and was clean. The bad: Noisy! Our room faced the back of the hotel and there was constant noise. We had it all- planes, trains, trucks and sirens! Not only was it hard to go to sleep, I was awakened more than once during the night. Also, the hotel was not very busy and they still put us in a room right by the elevator so we got to listen to that too. Never have understood that choice by a hotel. For a bonus, we had an arguing couple on the other side of the extra room wall. Yikes. The TV's also go in the bad category for some type of reception issue. After being on one channel for a time they would start cutting out and having static. You could change the channel and it would go away, but come back after a while.

The breakfast was ok but understocked. There didn't seem to be anyone in charge of keeping it clean or stocked, so items were out. Staff was not rude but not nice either.

Overall, clean room with good space for the price, but can't recommend because of the noise issues and indifferent service.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    76
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
32
18
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Celina, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Everything went great! The breakfast was excellent, the standard room was spacious enough for two adults and two children, and the persons at the front desk went above and beyond to see to our needs. We were shuttled to the convention center and our drivers were super nice and professional.

Room Tip: Our room was just standard on the third floor. It was quiet and we had not disturbances (and we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Really not much to say, it's an economy motel/hotel. Has everything you need. Room was clean, bed was comfy, front desk was friendly. I left my jacket behind and they kept it for me in Lost and Found. I'd stay here again if I was coming back on business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel before. It's in a so-so neighborhood, but convenient to many parts of town and the freeways. Standard Fairfield Inn: clean, efficient convenient. Front desk and breakfast area staff are very pleasant. I always stick to cold cereal at these buffets. Free wifi worked fine,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Selected this hotel because some girlfriends and myself were planning on going to the haunted houses and then to the Power & Light District. The room was spacious, we had a corner room, so I think it had a little more room because of that. There appeared to be 2 different wedding parties staying there, and they were quite busy, but, had no problems checking in, or finding parking. The hotel had a shuttle, and Claude, one of the shuttle drivers, took us where we needed to go. He was wonderful!! Everyone was friendly and helpful and it was a great experience!

Room Tip: Room had a fridge and microwave, which was helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Service at the front desk was excellent. Free breakfast was good - yogurt, fruit, cereal, waffles, etc. They have 24 hour tea/hot chocolate/coffee in the lobby which is nice. I forgot my phone charger and called downstairs - they didn't have an extra but they printed me off a map of where the closest AT&T store was, which was very helpful. Also, they have a FREE shuttle that will take you to the plaza or anywhere else near the hotel. I was there on a crazy busy week for KC and since the shuttle was taking a while, they offered to give me a voucher for a free cab ride to where I needed to go and back. Parking is free and internet is free, which is a plus.
Rooms were nice - nothing special.
I will 100% stay here on business (or even for pleasure) again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville TN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a nice hotel with reasonable rates very close to the World War I museum and Union Station. Room was large and clean and well appointed. When I stayed there, they were very busy with at least two wedding parties and yet they were handling it well. Beds were comfy.

There was an issue with my billing when it came through on my credit card bill and to their credit, they fixed it immediately with one phone call. Handled it very well.

Would definately recommend this to friends and will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill

Address: 3001 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64108
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#25 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill Hotel Kansas City
Fairfield Kansas City
Kansas City Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.