We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7600 NW 97th Terrace, Kansas City, MO 64153 (Formerly "AmeriSuites")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Movie Package
Ranked #10 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Henderson, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed 2 nights on the end of our spring break. We were going to stay at the Country Club Plaza, but decided to stay here because of the lower rates. I am glad we did. It was very close to Zona Rosa and not very far from the Plaza. The front desk staff was very nice. There was a baseball tournament in town and upon check-in were asked if we were part of that group. When we said we were not, we were given a room on the first floor away from the teams of kids. Front desk clerk Tia gave us ideas of things to do on Saturday morning. The complimentary breakfast was the nicest "continental" breakfast I have had at a hotel and breakfast staff was very friendly - especially Sami who was always smiling. On both days we noticed Evan, the manager who was always wearing a suit, working many different jobs - at the front desk, carrying towels to a room, bussing dishes, etc. The room was large with a semi-separate sitting area, a desk, a wet bar area. The bedroom side had 2 double beds, a closet, vanity/sink. The exercise room was well-equipped and open (w/key access) 24 hours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    66
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
62
36
24
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Breakfast was very good. They had yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, egg sausage sandwiches, milk & cereal, various fruit juices, toast, etc. There were different places to sit in the lobby. Area was clean and they kept it stocked well.

Beds were basic firm mattresses; but not pillow top. Beds were double size, not queen or king.

Room was clean.

We like the room layout in how the toilet & shower were in separate room from the bathroom sink; so someone could get ready at the sink while someone else was in the shower.

Refrigerator was a small dorm size; adequate.

Exercise room had enough equipment to get a decent workout.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Place at the front-end of our spring break trip taking advantage of their Park and Fly program. We had a flight at 8:30 in the morning so drove to KC the night before. The property is nice, clean and easy to get to. Close to the airport. They had a bar which was nice for a beer or two after spending 3 hours on the road. Breakfast the next morning was decent. Overall, the accomodations were very nice. Since it was spring break time, the hotel was very crowded and busy. Before we left our home town, I called the hotel and reserved our spot on the shuttle to the airport. I highly recommend calling ahead as the shuttle may be full for the time slot you want when you arrive. Plus, the shuttle only runs every half hour. Also, when you arrive back at the airport, you may be waiting a half hour or so to get picked up and taken back to the hotel to retrieve your car. You are told to call them only after you have your luggage. Overall, we were pleased with the hotel and the Park and Fly program at this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This Hyatt Place is in a convenient location right off the highway surrounded by many other hotels and some restaurants. The check-in process was seamless and the room was nice and clean. This was only my 2nd stay at a Hyatt Place as I had previously stayed at one in NJ. I didn't know that they were all exactly the same, but sure enough the room was identical to the Hyatt Place I stayed at in NJ. Plenty of room to spread out if you are traveling by yourself or as a couple, but might be a tight squeeze if you had a family of 4 in the room.

I am not a big fan of the breakfast, but it was free so I can't complain too much. I did have a $10 food credit included with my rate and tried one of their cookies which were delicious heated up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed there overnight to catch flight out of KC. They have a Park and Fly option you can purchase with your room. Nice feature, but they over booked the shuttle. We had to line up our own transportation to the airport. Ask the front desk if they could reinburse us for the cost of the shuttle, since we paid for the complete package. They said they would need check with management and call us back. Never have heard back from them.
As far as the room goes, it was very nice and clean. Check in was a breeze. Staff was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here one night because of a rock/gem show in the area. The location was perfect for us- close to the airport and the highway, but the rooms were quiet. Immaculate hotel- room, lobby, breakfast area all sparkling clean. We had a 2 bed room and there was also a sitting area with a fold out, wet bar counter and desk (just like what is pictured on the hotel website). I believe the 2 bed room has more space looking at reader photos. There was a coffee pot and fridge (no microwave). Many outlets to plug in chargers, laptops, etc without having to crawl on the floor or move furniture.

There are a few restaurants close by (walking distance) and a stairway leads down the hillside from the hotel parking lot to the Waffle House parking so no need to walk down the street or bushwack down the hill. You can also get beverages and snacks at the lobby if you don't want to go out.

Breakfast was wonderful - one of the best 'included' breakfasts we have encountered. Hot and cold items, fresh and restocked continually. It was great to have real dishes and not eat off of styrofoam with plasticware. The set up of tables around the lobby area/breakfast nook make it more restaurant/home like than a cafeteria. Easy to have a conversation or read the paper without distractions. Everyone we met on staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great location off/near the interstate. The room was immaculate and cozy, and looked exactly like the hotel pictures provided on the site. Great for business travelers. They offered first-run movies in the room for a small cost, which we took advantage of. It was great not having to leave your room to watch a newer movie. Small office area is downstairs with a printer or two that we were able to use without any issues. Wi-Fi connection worked well in the room and was easy to use. Breakfast was great and offered a good variety. My husband and I stayed here with our son for one night. It would have been nice to relax by the indoor pool or hot tub, which they did not have, so we were a bit disappointed. Please note that there are two double beds in the rooms, and we are used to queen size beds. Close to restaurants (Cracker Barrel is a block away) and shopping is close-by at the next exit. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport

Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport Hotel
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport Hotel Kansas City
Hyatt Place Kansas City
Hyatt Kansas City
Kansas City Hyatt
Address: 7600 NW 97th Terrace, Kansas City, MO 64153 (Formerly "AmeriSuites")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#10 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.