We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport to your Saves list
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11100 N. Ambassador Drive, I-29 & 112th Street Exit #12, Kansas City, MO 64153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The staff was so helpful and friendly. They were ready and smiling pre-dawn to take me and my family to KCI. The location makes it a perfect place to stay before an early flight or after a late arrival.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and sharing them for all to see. Our shuttle starts at 4:30am each morning taking our guests to the airport. We have great shuttle drivers that are always on time.

Please stay with us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    44
    12
    12
    7
See reviews for
60
27
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed there over the past weekend for a baseball tourney. We were one of 3 teams staying here. The rooms were clean, average size. The pool is tiny and the hot tub had a funny yellow color to it.
The staff was incredibly rude and unaccommodating. We asked if we could use the breakfast area for ordering pizza Saturday night and we were told no. We then asked if we could rent the meeting room that was sitting empty. The gal at the front desk said "we will not rent to a baseball team." ?? Then we asked if they could turn the tv channel in the lobby to the game and she said "no, the manager does not want people congregating in the lobby, such as you are doing now." Really??? What is the point of partnering with the people putting the tournament on but not providing ANY space for the team to hang out together?
The other thing we could not figure out is why they wouldn't put our team all together in the same general area. We blocked the rooms at the same time, wouldn't it make sense to have everyone together, not spread across the hotel?
The shower was COLD in the morning. We were told that was because the hotel was full. We have stayed at other hotels that have been full and that was not an issue.
Coffee was horrid.
We will not stay again. Which is disappointing as we stay at Choice hotels all the time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I would like to respond to your comments, we had three baseball teams in the hotel during this time, the hotel has several double bed rooms and "most" are together, but some are throughout the hotel. When we have to use these rooms for large groups, some guests have to be on other floors.

The meeting room was not available due to it being painted. Also there were materials laid out or we would have rented it out to your group.

The lobby is not to be utilized as a place to gather and drink alcohol. There are other guests checking into the hotel as well. The front desk associate did offer a list of several nearby sports bars for you
to choose from if you wanted to go that route.

Yes, we did have a couple of boilers that did act up under the high-demand morning and could not keep up with hot water needs. We had service people at the hotel by 10:00am and the problem resolved by 11:00am the same day. (Saturday)

We thank you for your comments, but please do not let this reflect on Choice Hotels, Inc. As like most hotel companies, hotels are franchised ownership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

You cannot beat the quality of this hotel for the price you pay. The room was fairly clean with plenty of room. We stayed here for one night before our flight out the next morning. If you are a light sleeper beware of the interstate noise. The breakfast was more than we expected. It was the perfect start to our vacation. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our shuttle to the airport is a great service we provide to our guests at no charge. (4:30am-11:00pm) We are appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Son and family flew in to the Kansas City Airport. Rather than have a 2-hour, late night drive, we booked two rooms at this hotel. Checked in, early. The hotel shuttled my wife and I to the airport to meet the son's plane. Then, the shuttle picked all 7 of us up and returned us to the hotel... promptly. The desk staff went out of their way to please. HUGE continental breakfast. Clean rooms. Excellent experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and for you taking the time to share your experience with this site for all to see. I will share your kind comments with my staff.

Thank you and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

2nd snow storm left me here. everyone was great except Tausha. She was very rude & wasn't going to let me keep my 2nd night (even though i had already reserved it) until another desk clerk intervened. The morning shuttle driver Phil was excellent. he not only got to work but drivers exceedingly well in very bad weather. Breakfast was very good with a large selection. The parking had all the snow scraped away very nicely so I had little to move myself. the water pressure was a little low. All said I would stay here again.

Room Tip: higher floors are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It was a very trying time for all of us as we recieved so much snow over the those two days and the hotel was 100% full.

We had many guests that had reservations for just one night but did not know if they should check out or if their flight was going to be cancelled again and want to stay another night. We also had arriving guests with confirmed reservations that those rooms were assigned to. That is why we did not allow any late check outs so those rooms could be serviced for them.

We are happy you were pleased with the other aspects of the hotel. Please try us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed during the 2nd snow storm in Feb. Went to the front desk to ask for blanket Tausha was very rude, wouldn't help, another young lady took the time to help,The next morning Tausha informed me that I hadn't booked a room for the night (which I had booked 2 night) she was not a pleasant person. The shuttle driver, was pleasant and friendly. The breakfast was great blueberry muffins, coffee, make your own waffles, they had a good variety for breakfast. The location is close to were I work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are sorry for the confusion during your stay with us and the request for a blanket. With the room type you had, the extra blanket for the sofa fold-out bed, is found on the top shelf in the closet. We don't make the bed with the blanket on, because it is bulky and hard to fold the bed back up.

The reservation you had for the second night was made through a third-party site and in another person's name. However, we did find it and we were able to have you for a second night. It was a very trying time during the huge snow storm that lasted for a few days and shut
the airport down for a day and a half.

Thank you for your business and your review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had some airline issues and opted to stay at this little gem while they were resolved. We didn't have a reservation and checked in as walk-ins with no problems whatsoever. The front-desk clerk was so friendly and truly made us feel like he valued our business. Our room was VERY clean. It smelled good, it was clean and had no signs of any pests.
Breakfast was tastey and there are all kinds of places that deliver right to your room. The front desk had an assortment of menus.
The only bad thing I can say is there was no ice machine on the 2nd floor. It may be one now, who knows but it wasnt worth making a fuss about. It was just a simple walk to the 1st floor.
I will definitely be staying at this hotel again when in the area. Wonderful relaxing hotel for an excellent bargain!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I will share them with the entire staff.

During your visit we had a huge snow storm, 13 inches of snow! Very challenging, but we all got through it, thanks to my hardworking staff that made it in to work over those three days.

Hope to see you again soon, minus the snow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport

Address: 11100 N. Ambassador Drive, I-29 & 112th Street Exit #12, Kansas City, MO 64153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for both business and leisure travelers alike, the Comfort Inn Kansas City / Airport hotel is two miles from the Kansas City International Airport and offers free airport transportation for its guests with advanced notice. (5:00am-11:00pm)Popular attractions minutes from your guestroom door include:Sprint Arena & Power & Light DistrictDowntown Kansas City - Convention CenterArrowhead(KC Chiefs) Kauffman(Royals) StadiumsWorlds of Fun and Oceans of Fun theme parks Sea Life Aquarium & LEGOLAND Discovery Center Park UniversityAs a guests of Comfort Inn, you will enjoy features like:A 100% Smoke Free hotel.Small Meeting Room. (Call hotel for availabiity)Free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access Business & Fitness Center.Saltwater indoor heated pool and hot tub Free local and long distance calls.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at our Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs,sausage, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffles in two flavors!All spacious guest rooms are furnished with 32-inch flat-screen, LCD televisions, coffee makers with free coffee, curved shower rods, hair dryers, spacious work desks, voice mail, irons, ironing boards. Guest laundry facilities are located on the premises and dry-cleaning service,(same day) Mon-Fri.The Comfort Inn Kansas City / Airport hotel offers warm, inviting and affordable accommodations close to all the best Kansas City has to offer. When you are looking for friendly service, countless features and a great location, make us your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.