We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Reunion Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8551 East Blue Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64133   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #55 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Class Reunion Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Friendly helpful staff. Issue with Priority Club at check in. Front desk clerk helped resolve issue.
Nice clean room, bath and common areas. Ice machine on our floor and hot tub not working. Upon departure, the front desk clerk helped get our luggage to and into our vehicle all while making pleasant conversation. Quiet room. Slept well. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express. I am glad that we were able to overcome the Priority Club challenge, we certainly value our members. We hope that you enjoyed your class reunion and invite you to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
30
12
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
College Park, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised at the 30 sec friendly check-in. The room was clean, smelled fresh, and the bed was firm, but comfortable. Breakfast was very adequate and free! Will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express. It is our pleasure to assist you and we certainly look forward to seeing you during your next Kansas City visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed last weekend for the Colts/Chiefs game. Even wearing our blue and white, we received a warm welcome. Minus a lack of hot water in the showers of both rooms, the rooms were great, the staff (especially at the bar) was awesome. Breakfast buffet was a great way to start the day. Although we decided to walk it, there is even a free shuttle for guests Arrowhead Stadium.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in Kansas City and at out hotel. Come back again and wear your Blue and White anytime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monett, Missouri
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Everything was right on this visit. My first, but certainly not my last. 100% consistent attitude from the staff, from manager to custodial. Everyone speaks to you as if you were there every week.
Breakfast was all fresh and well stocked, room conditions were excellent (sometimes, on 2-3 night stays, quality can slip, but not here!), and location was good for this particular trip. Give this HIE a shot. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are thrilled that you chose our Holiday Inn Express. Our goal is to provide the best in customer service and I am so glad that we exceeded your expectations. The entire staff takes pride in our hotel and strives to make each of our guests feel at home and welcomed. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had the 2 queen bed suite, which had a ton of space. The mini fridge and microwave was useful. The pool was heated but very disappointed that the hot tub was out of commission. If you have someone staying above you, the ceiling does not have much of a sound barrier. The front desk staff was very helpful. Overall would stay again at this property.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express. We are so glad that you stayed with us and we apologize for the inconvenience of the hot tub. We hope to have this corrected in the near future and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As so often is the case, this was a quick one night stay while traveling on a family vacation. Arrived about 1 am, was gone by 9 am. The hotel was typical of the good things you find at an HIE. Our room was a large double queen, which is what we prefer since we travel with a teen son. Two quirks about the room. First, there was a desk and chair but no easy chair or couch to sit on. So if there are two people sitting in the room, one is on the bed. The second was the toilet was positioned very close to the vanity, effective restricting access to half of it. Neither of these are important for a one night stay, but hey I noticed, you decide.
The breakfast was OK. My wife said the biscuits were a little cold and un-appetizing. Outside of that it was a typical HIE breakfast, which works for me because I am a yogurt and oatmeal kind of guy. And ONE cinnamon roll!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with our Holiday Inn Express. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. The cinnamon rolls are delicious aren't they? Please come back and see us, and maybe it will be a two cinnamon roll visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Mo
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this location for a business conference for my spouse and a mini vacation for me. The room was a large single with king bed and the room was very quiet at night. The room had a mini fridge, microwave and flat screen tv. .The desk staff were some of the nicest people we have ever dealt with and very accomodating in suggesting places for dinner and things for me to see while my spouse was busy. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our Holiday Inn Express. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we "wowed" you. Our new team is very exciting and thrilled to be of service to all of our guests. Come back and see us very soon! - Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Address: 8551 East Blue Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Kansas City, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex! We are conveniently located near the Kansas City Sports complex, home of the Chiefs and Royals. Chill out in downtown Kansas City just a short drive from our front door. With our world class service and many Kansas City restaurants and attractions just moments from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Kansas City! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms, 32 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests Attractions: Kauffman Stadium, home to the Kansas City Royals and Arrowhead Stadium, home to the Kansas City Chiefs. Businesses: GE Energy, Unilever Best Foods, Time Warner, Bayer Corporation, Ford Motor Company, & Cerner Corporation. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Kansas City Sports Complex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.