We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8551 East Blue Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64133   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #55 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
California, Mo
2 reviews
“Wow of a time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this location for a business conference for my spouse and a mini vacation for me. The room was a large single with king bed and the room was very quiet at night. The room had a mini fridge, microwave and flat screen tv. .The desk staff were some of the nicest people we have ever dealt with and very accomodating in suggesting places for dinner and things for me to see while my spouse was busy. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our Holiday Inn Express. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we "wowed" you. Our new team is very exciting and thrilled to be of service to all of our guests. Come back and see us very soon! - Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
30
12
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KANSAS
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed for 1 night at this location for a visit to the zoo and Childrens Mercy hospital. The room was a 2 queen room in the basement level and was HUGE! It had a mini fridge and flat screen tv and since it was on the lower level it was very quiet at night.The front desk staff were some of the nicest people we have ever dealt with at any hotel and very accomodating. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity of providing your accommodation needs.
Your positive review assures us we have made a good effort to ensure our guests are comfortable and have great experience in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I picked this property based on my past experience with Holiday Inn Express. Management did not tell us that there had been break ins the night before. We found out when leaving that our window had been broken out and all property stolen out of vehicle. Desk Clerk tried to help, but manager apparently told him to ignore us. They did not help us in anyway. Leaving us on parking lot for 6 hours in rain. Promised help, but manager went through side door and left, ignoring our request for help cleaning up glass in vehicle. No offer of food or water in the 6 hours. There were no places close by that we could walk to for drinks or food. Customers checking in gave us something to drink. Very bad experience!! Truck next to us broken into. Told that night clerk heard car alarm going off, but apparently decided to do nothing about it!! Couple from Oklahoma told us what to do. They were broken into the night before!!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Nancy083012,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am very disappointed to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I would like to address your concerns in further details and have sent you a private message to obtain more information regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

On our first night here, our car and the car next to us had windows busted out and luggage stolen. While the hotel staff was very helpful in helping us clean up glass and report the vandalism, no offer was made to comp our second night. The second night we stayed, 2 other cars in the lot were vandalized and valuables were stolen. Hotel staff admitted there was a problem and this had happened before, but no mention was made of that at check in. We felt they could have done more as far as giving us money off our room rate, offering priority points for our loss, etc. but none was forthcoming. It cost us $300.00 to repair our car, so all in all, a very expensive stay. Won't go back again for lack of security or concern with guest security.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Debby I,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Checked in late night only to dicover huge spider web in the corner of the room. After further inspection found a couple more in other parts of the room. Due to late check in we did not change rooms. When I explained the situation to the manager, her explaination was it had been very hoy & dry. Which I guess means the housekeepers do not clean when it's hot & dry. The toliet also ran alll the time unless you jiggled the handle. The manger agreed to give me 30 % off my room and credit me with 3,000 priority point. However after following up discovered she only credited me with 2,000 points. Avoid this hotel at all cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Kelma,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springboro, oh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We booked this room through Priceline and got an excellent price. The hotel was large and well maintained. Check in was quick and easy and our room was clean and updated. They had a restaurant and a coffee-ice cream shop on the premises. The lobby was modern and comfortable for sitting and relaxing with a free paper. A waterpark was connected to the hotel and the families we saw seemed to enjoy this option. We had no noise complaints once in the room for the night and everything was in good working order. My husband is a light sleeper and appreciated the darkening shades mounted in the windows that blocked the bright morning sun. The breakfast was your standard fare with scrambled eggs and sausages. They had a waffle station and provided fresh strawberries and whipped cream to go with. It was a very nice experience for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are grateful that we have sufficed your standard after having second thought during your check in. We look forward to your next visit in our Hotel soon. Your reviews are of utmost importance to us and we aim to provide nothing less but the best experience for all our guests as you all deserve to have high quality of services for giving us your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a new hotel and the quality of the rooms, public areas, etc is just fine. But the management should stay in a hotel once in a while to look at things from the guests' point of view. To summarize, we were there on August 1, 2012 when a city water main broke and the hotel lost water. Keep in mind it was during one of those 100 degree days. This happened during the day, so in the evening, overnight, and even through noon the next day there still was no water. The hotel did not offer bottled water, hand sanitizer, or even extended pool hours to cool down. They just shrugged it off and said it wasn't their fault. Depending on when you checked out, you may have gotten it free, but I held on one more night. So when I did check out, the lady at the desk shunned responsibility and was indifferent about our uncomfortable stay. Note: If you ever become a hotel manager, please empathize with your guests.

Room Tip: The 2-queen suite was quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear fishfarmer96,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the lack of water during your stay. We did indeed have a problem that took quite some time to completely repair. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Address: 8551 East Blue Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Kansas City, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex! We are conveniently located near the Kansas City Sports complex, home of the Chiefs and Royals. Chill out in downtown Kansas City just a short drive from our front door. With our world class service and many Kansas City restaurants and attractions just moments from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Kansas City! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms, 32 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests Attractions: Kauffman Stadium, home to the Kansas City Royals and Arrowhead Stadium, home to the Kansas City Chiefs. Businesses: GE Energy, Unilever Best Foods, Time Warner, Bayer Corporation, Ford Motor Company, & Cerner Corporation. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Kansas City Sports Complex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.