We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8551 East Blue Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64133   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Bristow, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

On our first night here, our car and the car next to us had windows busted out and luggage stolen. While the hotel staff was very helpful in helping us clean up glass and report the vandalism, no offer was made to comp our second night. The second night we stayed, 2 other cars in the lot were vandalized and valuables were stolen. Hotel staff admitted there was a problem and this had happened before, but no mention was made of that at check in. We felt they could have done more as far as giving us money off our room rate, offering priority points for our loss, etc. but none was forthcoming. It cost us $300.00 to repair our car, so all in all, a very expensive stay. Won't go back again for lack of security or concern with guest security.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Debby I,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
31
13
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Checked in late night only to dicover huge spider web in the corner of the room. After further inspection found a couple more in other parts of the room. Due to late check in we did not change rooms. When I explained the situation to the manager, her explaination was it had been very hoy & dry. Which I guess means the housekeepers do not clean when it's hot & dry. The toliet also ran alll the time unless you jiggled the handle. The manger agreed to give me 30 % off my room and credit me with 3,000 priority point. However after following up discovered she only credited me with 2,000 points. Avoid this hotel at all cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Kelma,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springboro, oh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We booked this room through Priceline and got an excellent price. The hotel was large and well maintained. Check in was quick and easy and our room was clean and updated. They had a restaurant and a coffee-ice cream shop on the premises. The lobby was modern and comfortable for sitting and relaxing with a free paper. A waterpark was connected to the hotel and the families we saw seemed to enjoy this option. We had no noise complaints once in the room for the night and everything was in good working order. My husband is a light sleeper and appreciated the darkening shades mounted in the windows that blocked the bright morning sun. The breakfast was your standard fare with scrambled eggs and sausages. They had a waffle station and provided fresh strawberries and whipped cream to go with. It was a very nice experience for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are grateful that we have sufficed your standard after having second thought during your check in. We look forward to your next visit in our Hotel soon. Your reviews are of utmost importance to us and we aim to provide nothing less but the best experience for all our guests as you all deserve to have high quality of services for giving us your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a new hotel and the quality of the rooms, public areas, etc is just fine. But the management should stay in a hotel once in a while to look at things from the guests' point of view. To summarize, we were there on August 1, 2012 when a city water main broke and the hotel lost water. Keep in mind it was during one of those 100 degree days. This happened during the day, so in the evening, overnight, and even through noon the next day there still was no water. The hotel did not offer bottled water, hand sanitizer, or even extended pool hours to cool down. They just shrugged it off and said it wasn't their fault. Depending on when you checked out, you may have gotten it free, but I held on one more night. So when I did check out, the lady at the desk shunned responsibility and was indifferent about our uncomfortable stay. Note: If you ever become a hotel manager, please empathize with your guests.

Room Tip: The 2-queen suite was quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear fishfarmer96,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the lack of water during your stay. We did indeed have a problem that took quite some time to completely repair. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I chose this place as it was close to Kauffman Stadium and it certainly was a quick trip. The service however might keep me from choosing it again. The afternoon clerk seemed overwhelmed at everything and was quite short at nearly every request. I excused it the 1st day due to the fact that they had a large busload of people that had arrived shortly before I did. But the next day it was more of the same thing. I was placed in the basement and getting connectivity to any kind of signal for the internet was spotty. It felt like a dungeon down there. The breakfast was fairly good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear stevieyz19,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments regarding the internet service and the front desk are very troubling. I'm very sorry that happened but it is not the norm. Rest assured these will certainly be looked into.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. We hope that you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

As we checked in, the front desk person seemed helpful enough, but once we received our keys and we attempted to find our room we realized he didn't give us any direction as to where our room was. We noticed 031 was the room number. We figured that must be on the main level, it was not. We went back to the front desk and asked where our room was. He said "oh yeah, I forgot to tell you, your room is in the basement." Basement? Really? So as we made our way into our room, we were overwhelmed with a strong mildew smell and a very dark unfriendly ambiance. Surprisingly, this is a handicap room too, is this where they designate their handicapped guests? Unacceptable! We were too tired to see about getting a different room. We crawled in to bed to the sound of plastic crinkling...must have been a water proof mattress cover...for what? We both took showers in the morning and much to our surprise found that the shower flooded the bathroom. Hence, the overwhelming mildew smell? We complained to the front desk and she informed me that "they were aware of the problem and that's just how that room is", with no offer to refund or compensate us for this horrible experience. She even had the nerve to ask me if we were interested in signing up for their Gold Member program for future deals...I plainly responded "not after this experience".

Be forewarned, if you get a basement room, try to change it as quickly as possible. Our room was no where near worth the $150, plus tax we paid for it. I am usually the last person to complain, but this was quite the horrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear jformobutler,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. Please accept my sincerest apology for the overall issues you had during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details regarding your experience. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Bugs and live roaches. When night clerk contacted management, management did nothing to help, offered no discounts, another room or anything. The night clerk however, was very helpful, came to the room and examined and confirmed our complaint about cleanliness and the bugs. He personally had no way to help us. He did not have access to a vacuum, bug spray or anything else. He had to contact management who was not present on the hotel site and was given no help. When the night clerk offered a different room, it too was filthy.

No luggage carts on the premises at check-in. Night clerk said they must all be in use. There were none at check-out either. It was difficult to move luggage and keep track of senior citizens.

Ground floor rooms are basement rooms - not lobby level rooms. We had two senior citizens in our group who had a tough time with keeping up.

Poor management. Could see the next morning when cleaning personnel showed up for work why the place was in such a state of uncleanness. Their concern was their free breakfast. The lady that worked in the breakfast room did a super job of keeping food prepared, but the staff was like vultures.

Apparently this particular HI Express does not value its customers - only its paid staff. I have had better value at a nearby Red Roof Inn.

Room Tip: If you want a ground floor room - specify lobby level, otherwise you will end up in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear JimR2012,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property. I'm deeply sorry for the overall experience you had during your stay. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and comfortable accommodations. For that reason, your comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. I have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details regarding your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Address: 8551 East Blue Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Kansas City, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex! We are conveniently located near the Kansas City Sports complex, home of the Chiefs and Royals. Chill out in downtown Kansas City just a short drive from our front door. With our world class service and many Kansas City restaurants and attractions just moments from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Kansas City! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms, 32 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests Attractions: Kauffman Stadium, home to the Kansas City Royals and Arrowhead Stadium, home to the Kansas City Chiefs. Businesses: GE Energy, Unilever Best Foods, Time Warner, Bayer Corporation, Ford Motor Company, & Cerner Corporation. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Kansas City Sports Complex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.