We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best HIE, but still good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8551 East Blue Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64133   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not the best HIE, but still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Staff was awesome! Room was big, though not as big as other Expresses I've stayed at (the only non-bed seating in our double queen was a desk chair...). Despite being next to the ice machine, we didn't hear it all night (that was a shocker because I know people were using it -- we could hear them going down the hall).

Downside: located on one side of a divided highway, so it was impossible to get to from one direction without doing a turnaround (not like the extra two minutes were that crucial, but still...). Nothing exciting is that close, the tub could have used some new enamel, and the toilet seat was one of those broken ones that slides to the side when you use it, but... for being the "worst" Express I've stayed in, it was still far beyond other hotels in the price range.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear Radioactive_piano,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced trying to navigate the roads and the room conditions.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    25
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
31
13
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Had a king - room was roomy, larger than expected. Area quiet and large parking lot. Breakfast room large with many tables and complimentary breakfast was, like wow. Eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, a variety of pastries (more than the usual few), etc. Only downer was orange colored water for orange juice. The cranberry and apple juices were fine. Location was fine for us as we were attending a family funeral that was only a few miles away. Be forewarned - if you are not familiar with KC-Raytown area, there is a Blue Ridge Parkway, Blue Ridge Cut-off and Blue Ridge Blvd. They are 3 separate streets and the GPS was as confused as we were as it said "location on your left" and it wasn't. The Blue Ridge we needed was maybe a mile away, but it was to our left.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking your time in giving us your wonderful review about our hotel. We appreciate your review and bringing to our attention the details we needed to make more improvements. We assure you that your comments are valuable to us as we use them as reference as we evaluate the areas in our Hotel that require further consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Nice clean rooms. Good breakfast. Great pool and hot tub. Only complaint is we were here on business trip and we have tools and we were told that it looks hideous and we should move it to the back. We thought it was very rude and for that I would not stay here again. Now I would like to say it was no one that works the front desk thay were amazing! It was some creppy man that was rude.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Your reviews are important to us and we definitely give utmost attention to our guests’ concerns. I sincerely apologize for not having to provide you the best customer service. We assure you that instances such as this are promptly evaluated and addressed accordingly. It is unfortunate indeed that we have not sufficed to your exacting standard; nevertheless, we hope to have another opportunity of providing your accommodation requirement in the future as we shall ensure your comfortable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

TIP: My Garmin was able to locate the property when I entered 8551 Blue Pky. No other spelling variation on that address worked. You’ll want help finding this place as it’s located on a curve in a hilly region.

Check-in was quick and friendly, and I was given room 305. That room is relatively spacious with two queen beds and a sitting area with a couch and two chairs. The off-brand flat-screen TV works OK. There is an unusual mattress cover underneath the sheets that bunched up with any sort of movement. Otherwise the room was tasteful and up-to-date. Overall OK, but not a standout when compared to other Express properties.

Unfortunately I observed what several others have already mentioned. The furnishings and decorations might be up-to-date, but the building craftsmanship is sloppy and detracts from the overall effect. Even though fairly new, rug seams are separating, tiles are cracked, caulk and paint are smeared on surfaces, noise seems to transmit way too much, the parking lot is chopped up and mostly sloping and the backyard is a mess. It’s disappointing to see things that shouldn’t be.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We certainly appreciate the kind words that you have for our staffs. Thank you very much for drawing your attention to these problems. Rest assured that we will look into this matter so we can address these issues right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed the night with a large group of people for one night and picked this to be close to the stadium for the Cubs Royals game. Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly just not too helpful. Our group had made reservations months ahead and they had messed up our reservations and not given us enough rooms to start off with the week before when we called to add another room. They did end up accomodating all of us inthe end but was quite a chore to get this to happen. Our rooms were clean but for a family of 5 they gave us a King Suite, which would have been fine if it had other furniture like a pull out sofa. Would have amde for a tight fit xcept anotehr party in our group had a large room with 2 queens and swapped out iwth us. Tht was luxury until 5:00 when the people in teh fitness center "right above" started in on the treadmill, probably not a great place for a room underneath. Walls are indeed very paper thin adn we could hear the entire converaation next door in our room. Also thought it was strnage that though we had made our reservations so far out that we were all over the hotel nd not at all in a group anywhere near each other. Breakfast was good and other then that issues with the hotel were small, tazi service was less desirable as we tried to get taxis to the game (as the stadium is in no way 2.2 miles as the website states more over 4 miles). One of teh 6 taxis order showed so we eneded up having to drive to the game.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Your reviews are important to us and we definitely give utmost attention to our guests’ concerns. I sincerely apologize for not having to provide you the best customer service. We assure you that instances such as this are promptly evaluated and addressed accordingly. It is unfortunate indeed that we have not sufficed to your exacting standard; nevertheless, we hope to have another opportunity of providing your accommodation requirement in the future as we shall ensure your comfortable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This hotel is truly wonderful! We searched everywhere for a hotel with a Jacuzzi in-room for our first anniversary and this was the only hotel we could find! We were hesitant to spend such an important occasion in a Holiday Inn Express--but there was no need! The room was spacious, clean and well-styled.The tub was an actual Jacuzzi, not just a jetted tub.

They had exceptional service, as well. We mentioned that it was our anniversary and they left a beautiful orchid, a card, and a bottle of champagne. It was a wonderful experience and we were definitely be back!

Room Tip: For a room w/Jacuzzi, request when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Checked in here while passing through town. My expectations were high knowing it was a new hotel. Wrong. The walls were paper thin, the area seemed kind of sketchy, and the work in the rooms was shotty. I didn't feel very safe and it was hard to find good nearby.

They didn't seem to have the standard Holiday Inn Ex breakfast and while good, I had to ask the breakfast attendant to identify what was offered.

Would pass this one up the next time through.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Address: 8551 East Blue Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Kansas City, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex! We are conveniently located near the Kansas City Sports complex, home of the Chiefs and Royals. Chill out in downtown Kansas City just a short drive from our front door. With our world class service and many Kansas City restaurants and attractions just moments from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Kansas City! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms, 32 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests Attractions: Kauffman Stadium, home to the Kansas City Royals and Arrowhead Stadium, home to the Kansas City Chiefs. Businesses: GE Energy, Unilever Best Foods, Time Warner, Bayer Corporation, Ford Motor Company, & Cerner Corporation. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Kansas City Sports Complex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.