We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Zoo!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kansas City Zoo

Kansas City Zoo
6800 Zoo Dr., Kansas City, MO 64132
816-595-1234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 82 Attractions in Kansas City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You need at least a day to explore this expansive zoo that features a 95-acre African environment where more than 400 animals roam.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Zoo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've taken my family to the Kansas City zoo many times! This zoo is one of the largest in the mid-west, allowing their animals more room to roam then most city zoos, so be prepared to do a lot of walking. They do not have as many buildings as Omaha's Henry-Doorly Zoo or the St. Louis Zoo, so visitors will be out in the weather. Fortunately, there is quite a bit for young children to do including a few different playgrounds, a merry-go-round, a train, and more! There are also clean family-style restrooms located in a few different areas throughout the zoo. Plus, the zoo is currently working on adding a pinguin exhibit! There are several places throughout the zoo to purchase a sandwich, fries, non-alcoholic drinks, etc. There is also a suspension bridge in the 'Africa' part of the zoo that is one of my daughter's favorite attractions, as we get it swaying as we cross it! I recommend this zoo to anyone who loves seeing animals and has younger children. There's probably not as much to do for teens...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    181
    80
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good zoo, but so spread out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Kansas City Zoo is a great local attraction, with free parking and fairly cheap ticket prices to get in...however, the "extras" within the park certainly can add up, such as tram rides, etc. The zoo is nice and well kept, but SO spread out. Africa is very disappointing becuase most of the animals are so far away you can't see them. You don't get to see the giraffes or zebras up close, and the location where the apes are is a far walk away from the other areas of Africa - and it's not a loop - you have to walk all the way back to get to the rest.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
“KC Zoo Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I hadn't been to the KC Zoo for many years. They have a relatively small number of animals even when they are out. I went on 4/1/13 and it was a waste of time and money. The Wichita (KS) Zoo has twice as many animals in a much more modern environment and is laid out far better.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knob Noster, Missouri
1 review
“Be prepared to walk and not see many very animals”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

St. Louis Zoo is wayyyy better than the KC Zoo. Be prepared to walk a ton and barely see any animals. A lot of the animals are stuffed into tiny places together. I do not even see the point of being open all year around when barely any animals are out even in March when it is warm. It is some what cheap to get in, but with the STL Zoo some places to park are free and others you pay I think $10 per car. The animals there are in bigger enclosures and there are ton more to look at like alligators, crocodiles, snakes, spiders, insects,various monkeys, and more. I feel like who ever decided to make the KC Zoo plans did not think at all nor did they know what to do with all of that space. You have to think will kids and parents with cranky, tired, children actually want to walk all of the zoo? The opening and closing of the zoo is worthless as well since it takes basically a full day to view the entire place. The Zoo closes at 4pm until its May thru July or something and then the weekends are opened till 5pm. And they open around 9 - 9:30am. If you have been only to the KC Zoo then you'll probably think it's "excellent", but view other zoos like the STL or the one in Springfield.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merriam, Kansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This zoo is very pretty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very pretty zoo. Huge areas for the animals. Very clean. Be prepared to walk. It is very spread out or plan to ride the train.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kansas City Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Kansas City Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kansas City Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.